Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

I have struggled to find a birth control that works for me without making me overly hormonal and Nikki is the first one out of at least 6 different medications that worked for me. I do get break through bleeding if I miss a pill, but it's gone within a day. Overall, I have very positive things to say about this.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I have taken the generic form of Yaz (gianvi) for 7 years. I knew when my period would start and end to the day. I never had bad cramping, acne, or huge mood swings. I was given Nikki this month because my pharmacy switched providers. I'm had my cycle for 2.5 weeks and am still spotting. I'm dizzy some days and have acne all of the sudden. I feel like this BC is effecting every part of me and I wa...

Shared reviews and ratings

Lily | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2024
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication send me to E.R. vomiting, make me bleeding for more than 18 days, low hemoglobin and belly pain. This medication is not good at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control wasn’t bad at first but now i am absolutely miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
124 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everything was fine, I took this obviously to prevent pregnancy but also to regulate my period since it was so irregular before. my doctor told me i would have light to no periods and i was pretty happy about that. i first start bleeding like a month after starting and it was pretty heavy for around 12 days + 3 or 4 spotting after that. i assumed it was just my body adjusting, but then i got my period again like 2 weeks later and same thing. Spotting for around 4 days, heavy for 4 and spotting some more. Is it even worth the inconvenience, honestly????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

During the first week of using this type of ocp , I had very bad nausea but resolved within 3-5 days. After, I noticed my sex drive went from 10-0 real quick I was very uninterested & I couldn’t lube my ownself. Even my boyfriend noticed. Not only it made me very unpleasant not wanting sex,but my mood was so off too. I would have times where i would feel like i hated everyone around me & there will be other times where i would want to cry & breakdown. It completely messed with my hormones, so I decided to stop taking this hopefully i try a different type of pill soon. Just don’t take this pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shea M | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/8/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on this for almost 2 years and have never regretted anything like this. i was so numb and couldn't feel anything. i was acting out and felt like i was going crazy. my periods were light and short but that's the only positive for me. i ended up gaining weight and my appetite was so high. i'm not saying this is the experience everyone will have, but i don't recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2024
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While everyone’s experience is different, I’ve had a rather good experience on this pill. I had breakthrough bleeding all through the first 3 months( which can happen with a lot of BCs) but it’s dramatically helped my PMDD and mental health. My periods are lighter and I experience less mood swings around that time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rgiv | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/25/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve taken Nikki for ~2 years now. Before I even started my period I had cyclical migraines that synced with my menstrual cycle once it started, it became a PMS monthly occurrence. Then the acne started and my dermatologist and pediatrician recommend taking YAZ- and then NIKKI which is essentially YAZ just generic version. At first my migraines fixed themselves with the pill after a month. However my migraines have only worsened for the past 6 months. With them being so severe I can’t get out of bed or function most of the time with other pain and headache medications, I’ve found myself completely upset. That, and my frequency of migraines is so bad I can barley do what I love for that danger week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mely | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am new to birth control and I’ve heard very mixed reviews about them overall. I started taking Nikki for about less than a month and I’m halfway in and I feel like I’m dying inside. I wake up crying with anxiety, I feel like my heart is about to explode from my chest, I feel very tired and depressed. I would never EVER recommend this to ANYONE. I’m also young and have a hormonal imbalance (which is why I was put on it) but never again will I put my body through this suffering. Please for the love of God do not take this birth control unless you want to feel like you’re going insane and your worthless. Getting off of it as we speak.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peyton | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/14/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got switched from a different bc pill because my acne was awful. Within a couple months my acne cleared and I only have a couple pimples before my “period”. My mood swings improved compared to the other bc I was on. I have lost weight on this surprisingly. The only negatives I would say is the bleeding when taking the inactive pills is a week long and similar to my normal period. It can still be heavy and still have some cramping. But it is an improvement from a normal period. Also this does decrease sex drive a little bit, but I still get in the mood just not as often. I don’t stay “dry” like I’ve read other reviewers say so it doesn’t bother me much. You definitely have to stick to this to see the wanted results. Also I’m not pregnant so that’s a plus. I’ve been on this bc for one year Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honey | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/29/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About a month or two in I felt like I was having heart palpitations. No one could figure out why at random my heart would do that so I was put on nerve pills. Finally my mother does some research and told me about Nikki birth control. I contacted my dr and she said it was safe for me to stop. So I stopped taking my BC in September. From mid October thru December I was having estrogen withdrawals and hot flashes . Since January the constant hot flashes have stopped, however a week before and the week during my cycle I have hot flashes. I never had them before and I’m only 27 years old. I dropped her as a dr because her method of fixing this wasn’t my ideal. I can go on hormonal replacement therapy which 50% of the time can cause cancer or I can just suffer thru. I’m almost a year in and I’m still pushing thru. Please do not take Nikki BC. It’s not healthy an I wished I never started it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/25/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was gaining weight on my old birth control, so my doctor switched me over to Nikki. I continued to gain weight, just in different areas (I started gaining more weight in my thighs) and I can no longer fit into any of my shorts. I consistently worked out and continue to fast to no avail. I keep gaining weight. My anxiety has skyrocketed and I experienced a high increase in my depression and dangerous thoughts since starting this birth control. Furthermore, I have had experienced extreme mood swings like none that I have experienced before. All in all, this was not a great birth control experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amelia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/5/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am with others on here when I say that reading these bad reviews was like a breathe of fresh air. I have been on Nikki for four years now (started to regulate periods) and while the first two years were fine, it has been HORRIBLE since. As others said: paranoia, no sex drive, cannot get wet, migraines, feeling dizzy, severe mood swings and angriness, feeling like i hate everyone, always tired, etc. There is so much more. As I stated, I started this to regulate my periods. It is no longer effective for that either as I have been on my period for two weeks straight now while I have been taking the pink pills every night. Please avoid this birth control for you or your patient!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lily | Patient
5/18/2023
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this pill for 3 years bc of acne. Never once had anxiety in my life and started to get it, even giving presentations at school would give me panic attacks when before I LOVED public speaking. I never thought it could be my BC causing it until people started talking about BC affecting mental health. Got of BC and feel amazing. No anxiety or head fog. Cant believe I lived like that for 3 years just to help acne!! Ladies, if you are getting BC for JUST acne please don’t do it- don’t mark hormonal issues with this awful pill. There are ways to clear acne without getting on a hormone altering drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ariana M | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the worst birth control I’ve ever been on. Usually I don’t have negative side effects with any medication but this one I definitely did. I started this pill and started having daily migraines which I’ve never had in my life. Along with the migraines I noticed it to be extremely dry down there at all times/I could not get aroused which may not be a problem for all but it is for me. I got off this pill ASAP

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused me to be extremely dry EVERYWHERE. also worsened my mood swings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fthemkids | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/6/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mean, I'm not pregnant so that's the only positive outcome of using this pill. Before starting, I had mild acne with the one time a month cystic pimple. Now I have multiple cystic blemishes at all times, as well as my face looking the worst it ever has. First starting, I had morning sickness and extreme fatigue. I did gain some weight which I appreciated. I had breakthrough bleeding for 3 weeks after starting. If I take my pill an hour late, I will be bleeding for a day or two after. Cramps are so painful and bleeding is very heavy for me now. 3 months into it I get bad headaches that last a day if not 2. I'm extremely emotional and that's unusual for me. I cry easily, get so upset and can't let it go even if it's over nothing. I feel depressed, when there's nothing in my life that is not right. I am still having fatigue, and depression has made me lose the weight I originally gained. On top of depression, I don't get as wet as I used to, lower sex drive, I just feel upset all the time and wanting to go to bed. And it's causing fights with my boyfriend. If you already have high estrogen, I wouldn't recommend taking this. I'm only taking it because I ordered it off of a birth control app and this was my only option. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first, I had a REALLY hard time on this medication. I had horrible breakouts (and cystic acne which I haven’t had in yrs) and cried all the time for no reason. I wanted to quit before the 3 month adjustment period was up. Then I read the reviews and it seemed like everyone who quit before 3-5 months were writing the negative reviews. I decided to wait it out and it was worth it. I do occasionally get a blemish or two, but I feel in control of my emotions now after 5 months. Give it those 3-5 months to adjust if you have bad symptoms like me. It’s hard but it will likely be worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nikki | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost done with week 3 of Nikki. I am 30 and have had severe acne since I was 12. For the first time in my life I am starting to feel confident about my face. I can’t even believe how amazing my face looks after just 3 weeks. It’s pretty much been like magic for me as nothing has ever worked for my acne. My only complaint is I have had bad cramps every day since starting. I do believe it will subside as my body adjusts. Try it for acne. If you have a bad experience then stop taking it. But it is truly worth the try. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I started with Blisovi. I was severely depressed it was to the point of wanting to commit suicide. So I switched to Nikki. Both pills stopped my migraines which is why I started. With Nikki, I did not have a period or migraines (yay!). However, I have to write a review on this because I went mad. Just like the other reviews, it was cathartic for me to read these because I thought I was losing my mind. I have had ridiculous anger, meltdowns, spontaneous crying, and even sociopathic thoughts. I’ve lost all sex drive and interest in life. My suicidal thoughts came back full swing. I’m a very laidback people loving person before and after Nikki. The danger this did to my mental health was worse than my weekly migraines and that’s saying something. Don’t knock it till you try it, but please please please don’t let yourself get as low as I did. Self regulate and journal. If the pill gets you to the point of wanting to kill yourself or if you’re severely depressed PLEASE switch or get off it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claire | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/8/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Nikki about 2 years ago. They way it cleared up my cystic acne so fast was unbelievable. I was on it for about a year and I started to have break through bleeding for days. I would never miss a pill as it became part of my nightly routine. I went off of it and now I am back in it 2 years later because of my acne. It cleared it right up but now about a year into it again, I am bleeding again. I am satisfied about how it cleared my acne so well, but I was told by my doctor they I have to much hormones that they don’t forget the full effect of the birth control. Overall I was very satisfied! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More