Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this medication almost year ago for endometriosis. In the beginning it was awful, I had the side effects. From bloating to weight gain and my moods were all over the place. I kept taking it as it's my last option to prevent more surgeries and I'm glad I did. After a few months the side effects went away and my moods are back to normal. I know you read some bad reviews but if you c...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My doctor gave me this to stop my heavy bleeding as my blood count was way down. Since taking it (since early-2008), I have turned into an old man; my skin and hair have become thin, greasy scalp and shrinking breasts. Yuck. Now my doctor says I have fibroids on my uterus and wants me to have a hysterectomy. I wish I could have my periods back and just take iron pills. If I stop taking the pi...

Shared reviews and ratings

Amy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/21/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this med a little over a year now. I have gained so much weight, it definitely has prevented preganncy because I have NO sex drive, my hair is dry and brittle. I'm prone to blood clots so Taking a different type of birth control is not an option for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C | 19-24 | Female | Patient
11/29/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this pill for 3 months after taking a combination pill (sprintec). I switched due to it causing migraines. Only thing ai’ve liked about this pill so far is that it has taken away my migraines. I haven’t had a normal period since and I’ve read on this everywhere and has asked so many questions. Idk if I’m pregnant or not half the time (ik it sounds bad) but it’s the truth.. With Sprintec I’d have a normal period, about the same time every month, and I knew how my body would react. I want to go back but nervous because I might be going from a hormone-only pill to a combination… I’d rather have migraines each month than take this birth control any longer!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a horrible experience using this pills. Worst acne ever that I didn’t experience before. The reason I took this pill because of my heavy bleeding which I feel is not normal and so I went to my 1st OB and she told me to take this pill. 1st month was okay then by 2nd month it get worst. It prolonged my period, of before my period lasted a week this time it lasted 3months and horrible bleeding to the point that I have to get up by 4am because my bleeding won’t stop. And I felt so dizzy and can’t function well. I was in Emergency due to blood loss. My iron level is too low as well. So my experience on this pill is very very bad. It’s a No No for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hate MiniPill | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/1/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible Experience on the mini pill bleeding everyday for first 8 weeks. I felt like I was going crazy by month 3. Depression worsened. Anxiety times ten. No sleep up for days. Quick weight gain. I looked pregnant for 4 months. Crying spells with increased pessimistic intrusive thoughts. I wanted help with pmdd. The mini pill fights against antidepressants. Your miserable the whole time until you stop. The brain fog will lift. Good luck women we go through hell on earth don't give up! Trust what you are feeling!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sela | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on sprintec .35mg for over 5 years then suddenly my periods started acting weird I started bleeding every 2 weeks I thought I was pregnant at first I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with my body so my OBGYN Put me on 5MG of this medication I thought this was a strong dosage but she said it was because I had a lack of Progesterone. When I first read all of the side effects and reviews I did not want to take this medication! I have Lupus and my rheumatologist recommended it and said it would help a lot My period stopped as soon as I started it and I still haven’t had one or any spotting my breast were very tender for the first 2 weeks my moods seem neutral there have been random days where I seem more down than usual. I have noticed a lot of hair loss but i am also on so many other medications due to my Lupus so I can’t say this medication is what is causing it. I do feel like my body odor has gotten stronger since using this im not sure if anyone else has had this issue?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
10/2/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm so upset. I had to switch to this after being on the combination pill for nearly 15 years. I asked my OBGYN if there were any side effects I should be aware of...she said no, even though it's so clear to me now from spending hours on the internet reading reviews that hair loss is. This company should at least have to put it on the warning label. I know there are worse problems but I would have just gone off all pills if I had known I was going to lose my hair.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
30 yr old endo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/21/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with endo and started on .35mg norethindrone for over a year now because my insurance didn't cover Slynd (drospirenone) which I'd loved despite serious breakthrough bleeding that would last for weeks.. well lo and behold I still breakthrough in between periods but not for 3 sometimes 4 weeks straight like on Slynd. Periods are lighter, weight gain around 15lbs after a year in, no acne, migraines aren't any worse than before but they happen, PMS/mood fluctuations are way better than off the pill, and so is the debillitating endo pain. My advice is to take it same time daily (don't be late or you will get breakthrough bleeding) and stay ahead of the weight gain (change your diet, be more active, etc.) and you'll be fine. Only reason why I wanted to stay on Slynd was because there was less risk of clotting, debeloping high cholesterol but after a year on .35mg norethindrone I can say my bad cholesterol has actually dropped in spite of the weight gain, and never had any weird chest pain. Can't say what side effects a higher dosage might give someone...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cassie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got pregnant on this birth control after taking it for 2 months straight and also using a plan b pill for our *ONE* slip up. What are the odds that the ONE time I really needed it to work, my birth control AND the plan b wouldn't work. I also was not ovulating at the time. I have 2 kids, my youngest is only 5 months old. I didn't want any more kids, at the very least not for another 3 years. I'm so upset.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexandria | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on this in April to help with migraines I would get when on my period. Took 3 months and my migraines were gone. It was awesome. But I noticed I started to feel nauseous each and every day. It was awful. I would take tums thinking it was indigestion. It helped somewhat but then it started to get worse and I would get bad heartburn. I took Prilosec OTC and that helped but again that’s only meant to be taken for 14 days and see a dr if longer. So I stopped the the awful pain was back. I tried to start the dose over again and it just wasn’t cutting it. I would wake up from bad heartburn, have bad gas pain. Finally contacted my dr and set up an appt. I’d honestly rather have migraines over this. I will also state I did have weight gain, bloating, excessive sweating, acne on my face, chest and back. I did have my period stop immediately upon starting but the third and fourth month I had a week of light spotting with heavy painful cramps. Hoping to switch back to my old birth control. I was taking Tri-Sprintec. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dawn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for 44 days. I am 45 years old and in pre-menopause. I was put on the birth control to regulate my periods. The first month was kind of rough as I bled most of the time. The second month The bleeding, pretty much went away, and I haven’t had one since. I also experienced a little bit of acne in the first month, and that cleared up as well during month two.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/21/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this birth control for almost 11 months now, the first few months were great - I had no side effects and it was doing its job. Now, although it’s kept me from getting pregnant, I’ve noticed a severe change in my mood. I’ve become more anxious and depressed in a way that sometimes keeps me from doing normal activities. Most recently, (past 3 months or so) I’ve noticed significant hair loss. I’ve been putting off seeing and obgyn but after seeing chunks of hair come out in the shower I think it’s time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DSL | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I understand every body and person is different so please consult your GYN always. I was put on this form of birth control after taking a 2 year break from the combination pill I was on for 14 years. For my own safety I decided to get back on birth control although Im not a fan I decided its best this phase in my life. I was told I needed to take this due to my age and my high cholesterol (genetic) - what an absolute nightmare it has been for me. On the combination pill I had pretty much zero side effects previously, with this pill I have not stopped spotting or bleeding for almost 3 months, which as you can imagine has drove me a bit stir crazy and has my partner concerned. Also i find myself crying wayyy more than normal, and have gained some noticeable weight (I'm tiny only 5ft tall) even though I workout regularly and have not changed my diet at all after starting this. After some discussions with my provider she tried putting me on another form of this prog only pill and I still have the same results! So we discussed again and when I finish this pack I am going back to my combination pill, hopefully back to a more predictable cycle and sanity! Always consult and continue to talk to your provider, what works for 1 person doesnt work for the other. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/24/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are considering taking this for heavy periods and are concerned by the reviews, please consider that the people this is working for probably aren’t out posting. I started on it after having periods that ended with an er visit due to uncontrolled bleeding. I have been taking this for two years with no breaks. I have no periods and I am no longer held hostage by a menstrual cycle filled with horrible cramps and extremely heavy bleeding. It is not a forever answer as I approach menopause and may opt for a hysterectomy but it gave me back my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shema | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/28/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Definitely did the job but the weight gain was crazy. I gained about 20 lbs in 6 months while working out. Other than that, no side effects .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gabrielle | 25-34 | Female | Patient
5/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this February 12th and have done nothing but bleed and spot since then. Doctor wants me to stay on it for another few months to give it 6 months. So far experience has been awful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I just recently had to switch from estrogen pill to the Mylan northedrone .35mg and honestly it’s been so much better I still get bloated but overall I feel brand new, but my only problem is I haven’t had my period at all I’ve only been on it for a month but I use to have regular periods now I don’t have one? Please help if you can.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peachums | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/1/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 21 years old. I was originally on Levlen ED for the past 5 years and switched to Norimin in the past year. I was depressed, anxious, moody, and volatile when I was on Levlen. The pros were that I had massive boobs thanks to Levlen, but the mental issues which came with it became glaringly detrimental to my well-being. My doctor recommended I try Norimin to gain my sense of self again and so I did. Fast forward 7 months and I am still depressed but no longer an anxiety-ridden, moody, and turbulent b-i-t-c-h. It's safe to say that Norimin is healthy for one's well-being. However, a con of Norimin is that it has completely deflated my boobs, and I've gone down a couple of cup sizes. I'd love to find a pill that doesn't completely derail my mental state but also provides me with great cleavage. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
snowyaz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Mylan Norethindrone 0.35 in late Oct 2022 after a 13 year hiatus from birth control. The 1st week was great, I had no side effects at all. Then week 2 started and I bled EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. between Nov 2022 thru Mar 2023 when I finally stopped taking it - 5 MONTHS STRAIGHT. They say it's just your body adjusting and can take 3-6 months. But to actually bleed every single day for FIVE months? And it's not like it was just light spotting. It was a period twice a month and then light bleeding every single day in between. The bloating was also constant, as was the acne that I had never had before in my entire life, I even broke out on my chest, back, shoulders. Also, I steadily weighed 130 lbs before I started the pill as I do personal training 3-4x week and eat clean. When I stopped taking the pill, my weight was up to 145 lbs. The culprit? This pill gave me INSANE sugar cravings. Totally my fault for caving to the cravings, but I mention it because the cravings were really strong and very frequent. Oh when I got my next period after stopping this pill, I had the worst cramps I've ever experienced, I was so much pain I couldn't even stand up straight and felt nauseous. Final note - it was super annoying trying to remember to take it at the same exact time every day (you HAVE to take it at the same exact time every day. And when I say exact - I mean exact, otherwise you just bleed more. Also if greater than 3 hours you have to use a backup method of BC because the effectiveness is significantly reduced past that time period). I typically managed by setting an alarm on my phone, but it really sucked when I traveled from the West coast to the East coast for vacation and had to deal with the 3 hour time difference for taking my pill in the morning. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this birth control back in December so I have been on it for I believe 4 months now. I haven’t taken birth control since high school so about 10 years and I was in for an awakening with this. I kept track of how I was feeling and symptoms every day. I have had horrible mood swings, completing feel like I “lost” myself. I’ve gained weight, my skin is clear and I am spotting or bleeding damn near every day and I’m used to a “regular” period before getting on this. My boyfriend even voiced his concerns as he noticed all the physical and mental changes I have gone through and mentally it has taken a toll on our relationship. I think I’m going to stop taking it bc I can’t take it anymore! If anyone else is going through this, know you are not alone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was bad experience for me. Not everyone will experience in the same way. It was very wicky and evil. I had cramps that came and went. Some were less and other time more with camps. 2 days after I finished, I became sick with major pains of camps that felt like nonstop labor. It so bad I almost had to call 911. The pain lessens after 4 hours and the next 24 hour I had blood clod. The doctor gave this to me because I was going on month & half nonstop period, and I am in my 50's. So yes, they were trying to stop it. It did stop, for how long, not sure or if it stops completely. So, this medicine is not for everybody. Would I do it all over again? No. Do your research. Ask questions in what to expect and such. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More