Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

41 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication for approximately 6 weeks. I have tried several other cholesterol meds but nothing worked and I had extreme joint pain while on the other meds. After one month, my cholesterol dropped from 260 to 140. My tri dropped from 390 to 240. My dr also had me take 5000 units of Vitamin D one week prior to starting the Livalo and continuing for two weeks after I started th...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I haven't used it long enough to really voice my experience as of yet.

Shared reviews and ratings

Christine | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2023
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking it for several weeks. I couldn’t take Simvastatin or atorvastatin bc of muscle pain or fatigue. Under pitavastatin (Livalo) I feel great. Just some heart palpitations in the morning but nothing bad. No joint or muscle pain! No fatigue but I sleep better than before! For me it works great and hope it will for you too. And that this well-being lasts!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LKC | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having severe side effects from Lipitor (extreme arthritis pain in my back and hips) this was suggested as an alternative at over $300! My co-pay, from Medicare was $45. What happened to the $25 pay? (Not covered by Medicare. Seriously?) Livalo's side effects have sky rocketed my already high blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faust | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst stating I have used. It quickly messed up my immune system. I became very sick on this drug and constantly felt exhausted, sick, and depressed. There was absolutely no joy of living while on it. I would never take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Livalo is my 5th statin! The first month did not notice any side effects but at about 8 weeks started feeling not "like myself", unfortunately did not relate it to this medication. I underwent hip arthroscopy and labrum repair. Subsequently developed pulmonary emboli both lungs and very elevated AST and ALT. Hospitalist thought this was from the statin medication and advised not taking it again. My internist feels like it is the statin that caused the elevated liver enzymes and probably contributed to the emboli. But no way to really know. (All my labs were normal prior to starting Livalo). My thought is to stay away from this very expensive medication. I am 64 yrs old and feel like I am 100! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alison | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a type 2 diabetic who was not on medication prior to taking cholesterol meds. When prescribed cholesterol meds ( pravastatin and then livalo) my AC1 shot up to a 7.2 from a 6.6. I ended up on metformin. I experienced a brain fog that concerned me, swelling in my feet and serious abdominal pain. I went off statins for 3 months and brought my AC1 down immediately. I will never take statins again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WhatCouldPossib | 65-74 | Male | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme weakness e.g. statin induced myopathy. Feels like Livalo sucked my soul and energy out of my body and makes for an ultra-depression condition. Super expensive even with Medicare and Medigap Prescription Insurance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Short term results were good. My cholesterol dropped 30 points in four months, but as a runner, the leg pain and weakness makes this drug not a long term fix. I’d rather change my diet drastically than struggle this much to workout.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amah | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My history with statins is long, complicated & not good - rashes, itching, leg pain, etc. Livalo has given me muscle aches & depression since this is not how I feel when not taking it. Going off it in the hope that I'll feel like myself again. These statins work for some people but many of us cannot tolerate them. Will take my chances with diet & other improvements.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RTs64 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for two months and I am having mental breakdowns, angry and anxious. Pains in my calves and a ringing in my ear. Ian scared to go anywhere.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ella | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can not take anything with a statin in it. This was supposed to be for people like me who can't handle statins. This has a low dose of statins in it. I took it for 1 month. I felt like I was 90 years old. Every joint and muscle ached severely. My vision was blurred and I got dizzy spells. I had to walk with someone holding my arm so I wouldn't fall. I had difficulty even lifting my foot up to a street curb and needed help. My entire body was racked with pain. I gave up on it after 1 month. The day I stopped taking it, the pain lessened. By day 2 off of it, I could get out of bed on my own and by day 3 off of it, the pain went away. It took about 2 weeks off of it before my vision started to clear up and get better. This was about the worst experience I have had with a med. The side effects were even worse than when I took a full statin med like Lipitor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/17/2019
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried just about every statin and I was miserable. Body aches. Malaise. Limb pain. It was nuts. FINALLY after 6 years of trying this ad that statin, my PA decided...let's try LIVALO. At first I fought it...thinking, NO NO NO! I don't want to feel like manure again! She convinced me and put me on the low dose of 2mg nightly. WELL...been on it for over a year without ANY issues. Very happy with it! BTW...my levels are "AWESOME" ... according to my PA! :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2019
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Statin intolerant. Put on Livalo and experienced heart palpitations so bad to the point I went to the ER thinking I was having a heart attack. Stopped taking livalo and was put on generic zetia which did not lower cholesterol. Was put back on Livalo and experienced the same strong heart palpitations. I saved myself $2,200 and didn't go to the ER again and waited over an hour for the heart palpitations to go away. Stopped taking livalo again and now waiting to see what the dr will put me on next. :/Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorraine | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/6/2019
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking Livalo-my Triglyceride Level and Cholesterol (bad) Level have decreased. I took several different cholesterol drugs prior with poor results and many side effects. I have not experienced any muscular or joint pain, headaches, or other effects. I also take Fenofibrate with Livalo. I have experienced an elevation in my Liver Enzymes - I have stopped taking any Tylenol. The enzyme level is coming down. So, I am not sure yet (if there is a connection to Livalo or Fenofibrate) to elevated enzymes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MSS | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking several other statins that gave me severe body aches... Livalo did not have that side effect. BUT it did have a worse side effect and was curious if anyone else had had the same experience. After taking Livalo for only a month I found myself in an ANXIOUS state most of the time with DEPRESSION mixed in. Very short of temper... just simply not feeling like myself. I have stopped taking and the symptoms have reduced. I am a 53 year old male

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bryn | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2018
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only been taking Livalo for 3 weeks and am having horrible side effects. My hair is falling out, scalp/skin itching, leg cramps. But worst of all is I have gotten where I forget words, and speech is slurring at times. Have taken about every statin drug and all have different side effects but this is the most scary. Stopped taking today!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Going blind | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/28/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Livalo for a month and a half,then stopped taking it. It has given me very blurry vision,I was at 20/20 before taking this. I can't even see well enough to drive anymore. I'm hoping this goes away soon. I also have SEVERE cramping in my calves and hands. I could live with the cramping,but not the blurred vision.Hating life right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RLO | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/1/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I turned 50, I needed to be placed on a statin drug... even after I had tried to lessen cholesterol in my diet choices. Doctor told me that this often happens with age. (Who wants to have a heart attack, right?) First, I was on simvastatin...but after a few years my "numbers" were wrong for my liver. So, my doctor put me on Livalo (pitavastatin). I had a dramatic improvement with additional benefits according to my blood work. I did not have any side effects. I take the 2mg/daily. Livalo is more expensive than Simvastatin. While on work insurance I paid 25 then 18 dollars per 30 caps with the coupon that I got from Livalo (otherwise cost would have been 50 for 30 caps). Now, that I am on Medicare, I pay 36/month for 30 caps. Statins can be tricky. work with your physician to find the right one. Best of luck and good health to you! You're worth it !!! :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took this med for 2 months and stopped because i have to urnate more often & my left kidney hurt. I have not had a blood test yet so effectiveness is unknowned really.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/24/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since taking livalo I have had horrible side effects. I hurt all over so much that I feel like an old woman. I have body aches, headaches, nausea, weakness, mood swings, muscle cramps and I wake up several times a night. I finally spoke to my doctor and he said to stop taking it. He said the benefits are not worth the side effects I'm having. I just want to feel like myself again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fireflies | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/2/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Livalo for 4 years. A couple of years ago I began complaining about bad foot and leg cramps. Mostly up my shin and the outside muscle running from ankle to knee. My doctor didn't seem concerned or relate it to the Livalo, so I kept taking my daily 2mg. In the last year the cramps have become severe and debilitating. I've cried and screamed in pain, scaring my husband. I took myself off the Livalo and the cramps have become less intense and less frequent. While the drug has lowered my cholesterol, it most certainly has not inprove my quality of life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More