Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I have now been on this med. 3+ mos. I have not had any AF what so ever. I think this drug is GREAT! Sometimes I will have some stomach issues, but that's minor. I also take Digoxin, and Toprol Xl. I'm exercising, treadmill, weights, etc. basicly living a normal life. No alcohol or caffeine. I keep updating this site as time passes for the good of others who are in the same boat.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I just recently had to have more heart stents put in.

Shared reviews and ratings

#OK | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to prevent afib episodes as well or better than Flecanide; more side effects; particularly irritable bowel/constipation; frequent stools and persistent intermittent nausea that was present during first two weeks; than went away and came back in month 6 along with joint and muscle issues and mild fatigue....taking half dose twice a day with meals plus small dose of Cardizem at night...all in all a bit of a challenge to take due to side effects; but intended effect is good and I will stay on it and live with side effects as long as it prevents afib...blood tests are normal so far after 6 months of use.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lcwalker | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By day 3 I had diarrhea, light flutters, felt worn out and like I was in a fog. No energy. Also you have to take with food and I wasn't told this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/17/2022
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paroxysmal AF since 1970's, took beta blockers, Metoporol. Last year went into Afib and didn't stop, had to get the jolt. Cardiologist put me on Multaq, controlled the AFib, no episodes while on it. Had an ablation in Oct. 2021, stopped Multaq after 12 weeks as per protocol. Started having AFib again, ablation was a bust. I wanted off Multaq because of the side effects, had a dry cough, wheezing sometimes, slight rash and itching and some gastric distress, classic allergic reaction. It was very effective at controlling my AFib. Now I'm back on a cocktail of drugs trying stop the AFib episodes, and needless to say very discouraged. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aunt mitzie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Rythmol for years for Afib the Doctor stopped it because it was no longer effective. Instead I tried Multaq. But it did not help. In fact my fatigue, shortness of breath and ankle swelling got worse. Even with Cardioversion my heart is still in Afib. Since have already tried most of the rythym control drugs, I may have to consider ablation though I am hesitant to do so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/2/2020
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Multaq for 1 year. I have not had a recurrence of a-fib so it has worked. You have to eat a meal when you take this drug, so that is an inconvenience & makes it harder to take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WH | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2019
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has been effective in preventing intermittent A-Fib and tachycardia due to atrial flutter when taken in combination with a low dose of Metroprolol. Replaces Flecanaide/Metoprolol which quit working after about a year. I have had to cut statin dose in half, don't know how that will affect serum cholesterol. Only side effect has been a metallic taste in mouth between meals.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2018
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had side effects in the beginning now hardly notice. Does increase hunger pangs. Have to watch or will gain weight. But do not know what I will do when my money runs out very, very, very expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ppierceg | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/30/2018
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had afib for 5 yrs- was on amiodarone which worked but was always worried about possible side effects, so was switched to Multaq about 2 yrs ago. It's worked well with just a couple breakthrough afib episodes. However, I am now having a lot of vision problems and I'm wondering if they might be related to Multaq and/or Amiodarone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike F. | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/18/2018
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No drug is perfect but this drug gave me my life back. I have a mechanical heart valve and also have AFIB. Prior to having an ablation and taking this drug I had lost quality of life. Although I often have fatigue I am still able to work, exercise and live my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joeym45 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/12/2018
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had two ablations, first one was not effective, never really worked. The second worked only after being put on Multaq. As far as I know, I've been ablation free for over three years. Wish I could stop taking Multaq as it is too expensive, however it's keeping me out of AFIB. Because of that I requested to be taken off of blood thinners and was able to do so. Also, I have never had any side effects. This drug has been wonderful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/10/2017
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

placed on for 90 days and had to be cardioverted x2. Tried exercising and put me back into afib. Terrible diarrhea! twice day dosing and 5 dollars a pill! Too expensive for my taste

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
petras | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2017
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on multaq, 2x/day, for about 8 months to treat paroxysmal afib..so far not one afib episode that I'm aware of..only side effect is occasional metallic taste in my mouth..I will be going on medicare part D this year so checking formulary for this expensive drug will be priority..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barb | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2016
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Electrophysiologists prescribed this after a mini maze, 4 cardioversions, and an abliation did not keep in rhythm. At first it made me very nauseas (could not even stand smell of food) That lasted 4 days. Hope this works for me. Not much else left. When I go into afib I end up in CHF.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skay2u | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 3 days as directed with meals. Had every symptom, but rash. Simular to stomac flu. Bloating, distrnded, gassy. Ran to toilet 24/7 from both ends. Weak and dehydrated. Sadly, i think it kept me in rythum. Had to stop or die

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
erda | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2016
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have experienced diarrhea daily - sometimes severe - and am exhausted most of the time. Am a tennis player, but have had to quit because of shortness of breath and fatigue. Have also gained about 15 pounds in 5 months. Does not seem to be making a difference in a-fib episodes, which occur sporadically. So will try ablation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
3/17/2016
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have den on it for almost a year and had no side effects. would preferred it to be in capsule

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana0324 | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/10/2016
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Multaq 400 mg twice a day along with aspirin for my Afib, for almost a year. At first it was hard on my stomach, but after a few days it was easier. Since I am on this medication, I don't feel the dizziness, shortness of breath, tachycardia like before the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PAF | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Multaq 400mgm twice a day for 3 years. I don't get the AF episodes that I used to. Seems to help. Side effects are diarrhea ( manageable when I take Metamucil), also hair loss. Too expensive though, especially if one has fallen into the Medicare prescription D doughnut hole, but will never take generic Amiodarone-much more dangerous drug than Multaq. I think it is wrong of Medicare and drug companies to not allow drug discount programs to seniors on Medicare. Medicare regulates it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/17/2015
Condition: Paroxysmal Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Multaq 400 mg only once a day. Could not take 2 a day as it made me sick. I have flutters occasionally. I'm concerned about taking Simvastatin with Multaq. I think the Simvastatin causes my flutters. I find Multaq constipating and I have gained weight. The only blood thinner I take is an aspirin 325mg once a day. Doctor wants me on Eliquis but just too dang expensive. Aspirin probably isn't a wise choice but I can afford it. Dang if I do, dang if I don't. Don't know what causes my A-fib. I have no heart problems, thank goodness for that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jmanning | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2015
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible side effects. I have been on it for one month and stopped taking it. Felt like I had the stomach flu for the whole month. So weak I could hardly make it from bedroom to bathroom at times. And went into AFib twice in the month I was on it. Was suppose to stop me from going into AFib. Off one day and feel better today than I have in a month. Also extreme itching. Even my ears itched!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More