Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I have been able to run longer and with more ease using this medication. My concerns the soreness that I experience after running and the weight that I continue to gain. I exercise on a regular basis, eat right but since I started using this medication I can't seem to control my weight which wasn't a problem before.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

i have a problem with it becuase of one of the side effects and has made things worse for me becuase now things are even harder for me to breathe and before i lied about asthma and things are really hard to breath ounce you strat useing something you didn't need

Shared reviews and ratings

Carole #1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2024
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have lifelong asthma. Last year my doctor switched me to Symbicort. I plan on switching back to Advair when I renew the prescription. It works okay but it is not better than Advair. I do not like the taste, it is bitter and harsh and gives me a scratchy throat feeling. I do not like having to rinse after each use. Most of all, I do not like the design. The counter is something out of last century. It is a dial on top that does not give you the exact count of each dose. The worst part is the front of the inhaler. There is a piece on top in front of the inhaler with the product name on it. It sticks out and if I am not careful, it pinches my upper lip when I use it. If I try to adjust the way I spray it, I end up getting the medicine on the roof of my mouth. I do not recommend this product.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/19/2024
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

...beathing problems all my life this is magic 10 years on this kids. weed smoker never tobacco

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2023
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It treated my asthma OK but I thot I was going to lose my mind. I cried easily and was extremely angry all the time. Those symptoms stopped about a day after I stopped using it. This was the second time I tried to use it and the side effects were much worse. The first time I used it for only a couple of days and stopped because I felt so agitated. The second time ( Dr.s advice) was for 10 days and I thot I was going crazy, literally! Awful. A couple of other ppl I’ve talked to have had the same trouble. If this happens to you, just recognize that it is the med and STOP!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CrowsAndRavens | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/18/2023
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Symbicort saved my life. My asthma was really bad to the point where I had to be intubated before. My asthma made it hard for me to do every day things I was prescribed different inhaled steroids but none of them worked until I was prescribed Symbicort. It changed my life now my asthma doesn’t hold me back anymore and I finally can do all of the things my asthma never let me do. Symbicort is the best thing that has ever came into my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been having a problem breathing, without looking at my past history, the doctor prescribed symbicort.My breathing improved, but after 2 weeks migraines started. I've suffered from migraines for almost 40 years, when you get one that lasts 4 days and no amount of immitrex will stop it, there is a problem. Then I looked at the side effects of symbicort, "bone loss may occur" , Well don't that beet all, as I also have osteoporosis and take Alendronate, no wonder there are medical malpractice suits all the time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/15/2023
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My breathing has improved, I rarely use my rescue inhaler while taking, however my wife and I are having trouble conceiving. We’ve been trying for well over a year, maybe two, and the ONLY thing that has changed is I started using Symbicort. We were pregnant twice before taking this drug. The internet has no info on its effects on sperm. Anyone else experiencing similar issues?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
runner | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
3/6/2023
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a very pleasant visit to ER about a month ago with a huge Asthma / Copd / pneumoamediastinum attack, couldn't breathe at all, spend 36 hours in a hospital and got prescribed montelukast and Symbicort. Since then - zero problems breathing, i work crazy hours at work, take care of my animals, i have zero side effects and feel very comfortable taking those every day - feel very comfortable and fine. Definitely cured me (for now) and then we'll see. Good thing i got great health insurance so my copay for a monthly dosage of Symbicort is zero. Planning on continuing doing the same treatment and good luck to all of you my Asthma/COPD brothers and sistersRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne S | 45-54 | Male | Patient
1/4/2023
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gave me a terrible headache, and made my throat feel funny. It also did little to curb any issues I was having. I had the worst attack of my life while on Symbicort, thankfully my doctor switched me to flovent.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/31/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used this for about 2 years now, only now feeling side effects. I had no idea why i was always feeling light headed 24/7 for the last 6 months then stopped symbicort and got better after a week or so. Not to mention how much worse it made my asthma. Also not to mention the uncontrollable tremors and twitches in every part of my body at random times. Symbicort should banned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 68 years old and have been smoking for 50 years. Never had oral thrush until I was recently prescribed Symbicort. I used it for one month and now have a severe case of thrush that will not go away! I hate Symbicort! I think my doctor did it to force me to quit smoking!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Incredulous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2022
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is a ridiculous design. I can’t believe this design made it to production!!! The biggest problem that is a glaring design fault with the inhaler is that every time, I use it it pinches the top of my top lip because of the name label section that slides down the front of the barrel. Seriously. Put the labeling on the barrel!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lekoba | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very good for me it’s the best thing ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Salil Malekar | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the most dumb contraption i have ever seen and used. Firstly whether the contraption is ready to use or no.. is very difficult to understand, secondly whether i have taken the dosage, you won’t understand and try to check the mechanism and all of a sudden you realise the doses are all gone in thin air. Since when have Swedes started adopting French methodology to make life more difficult. This product sucks biiiiig time…..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grey | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tastes DISGUSTING. Like horrible. It makes me gag 3-5 times after every use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started to work pretty good for breathing but all of a sudden my blood pressure was shooting up to 176/116.. I quit taking it for a couple days and blood pressure leveled back out...be very careful if you have hypertension

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using it for almost 2 weeks and I have to admit that it made my breathing better quite a lot, when all of a sudden, it just started to give me tremors, pain in my chest and nausea. It was really unexpected and I thought it was another medicine first, so I stopped using everything but Symbicort. Unfortunatelly it turned out that Symbicort was the reason for my symptoms so I will use something else. It is an effective medicine with terrible side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NickL. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/15/2022
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Symbicort for over 10 years for COPD. This past year I developed ectopic heartbeats. My doctor reduced my dose and my heart came back to normal. Beware of the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark Brown | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2021
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps with breathing an has increased my appetite, which I need.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From the first dose, I had severe stomach pain, vomitting, headache and nosebleed. Disturbing that no side effects listed on information sheet that comes with the drug. Very expensive drug. Going back to old meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chantilly0313 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with pneumonia and and after battling the pneumonia for about a month once I got onto the Symbicort after a week I could tell the difference in my lungs and my breathing. This drug definitely worked for me. My energy levels returned and if I didn't have to wash my mouth out every single time I used it I would have given it five stars.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More