Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

117 People found this comment helpful

I take the generic gabapentin. I've been on it for over 10 years to treat diabetic neuropathy in my feet, which used to be so bad I would literally cry. I tried soaking my feet in buckets of ice water, but naturally it had no effect. The burning, stabbing, stinging pain was unbearable, especially at night. My doctor prescribed gabapentin. For me it has been nothing short of a miracle drug. W...

Most voted negative review

89 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking 300 mg for 2 yrs. I get more relief by raising legs up on pillow with a fleece blanket on it. Now I can sleep all night.

Shared reviews and ratings

Eunice | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gabapentin has greatly helped with my nerve pain but.....I feel like a doper I am drowsy all day. Its horrible to be at work feeling like I don't know if I am coming or going. I am reaching out to my doctor to find an alternative solution.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/26/2024
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Gabapentin for severe Restless Legs Syndrome for 10 years now. I can also get the sensations in my arms and back. I take 300mg in the morning and afternoon, and 600mg at night. I still get breakthroughs from time to time, but they're not a daily occurrence anymore and my quality of life was improved. I can sleep through the night, and my partner says I don't thrash around. My side effects have always been minimal. At this point it doesn't help me fall asleep like it used to (which was nice for my occasional insomnia). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Geoff | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2024
Condition: Pain Originating From a Nerve
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been fantastic for me. Lot better than Dilantin. And for leg nerve pain or sciatica... spectacular for me also. Given to me as prescription.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deborah | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/29/2024
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using gabapebtin 300 now for 1 year and for me It has Helped me with my mobility. I was falling every day, in shower, down stairs, grocery shopping. This drug has brought back my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
1/23/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so sorry that so many of us are put on this pain meds with a ton of side effects. My doc also recommend taking it for numbness and tingling in my hands after the accident. Before trying the meds i wanted to try other options. I was highly recommend to try our Airrosti treatment. After 4-5 visits i am pain free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/17/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have peripheral neuropathy. I have been taking gabapentin capsules for about 8 months now. I take one 100mg in the morning and two 300 mg before bedtime. The pain is tolerable during the day, I'm a pharamcy tech so I'm on my feet for several hours a day. I also have osteoarthritis in my back so along with my one 100mg gabapentin I take one extra strength Tylenol and I can make it through the day. The nights are worse because I try to concentrate on falling asleep and it's hard not to concentrate on the neuropathy pain. But for the most part, it's better than not taking the gabapentin at all!! I'm thinking about trying accupuncture for the neuropathy...although it will be out of pocket cost since my insurance will only pay if I do it for my back pain...just saying!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Gabapentin for 5 days now and only started on 100mg for severe uncontrollable anxiety due to my terrible Tinnitus. It 1st seemed amazing 1st day because I wasn't used to all of a sudden not feeling my nerves so shakey. ... next day it didn't seem enough. (It actually WASN'T. .IT WAS TOO LOW) so doc upped to 100mg twice a day which really isn't enough for such high nerve anxiety. And well it isn't. I should be on more according to what they say but I know all the hype with this 50/50 drug and I'm very cautious. I'll only go to 100mg 3 times a day but domt want to go up any higher like 300mg etc etc. . So I feel only slightly better than before with 100mg twice a day. It only helps me to get up and finally be able to do a few things as opposed to being BED-RIDDEN. and maybe if I go to the 100mg 3 times a day I'll be more normalized however I feel the side effects. Of course I do.... it's a strong drug! It's an Anticonvulsant and nerve drug!!! What do I expect? And of course it's dangerous coming off! It was literally changing your NERVES . You have to taper off TINY amounts and Verrrrrrrrrry slow. Not drop 100mg. ..empty the pill if you have to more at a time during the week instead of dropping a whole pill. . Gabapentin requires TIME to ween off. Most people drop too much too quick and horrid results. Just take your time. I am still not feeling right and this TINNITUS has really changed my life and I even feel disoriented. I think the high anxiety in my head makes everything appear like a different world in way. But same place. It's really disturbing. Good luck to me I guess. I sure hope I won't have to be on Gabby long. I cant take Benzodiazipines because they can make Tinnitus worse so Gaba was chosen. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried Gabapentin for insomnia on multiple occasions in my life. Pros: - initially, this drug works very well. I can fall asleep easily and soundly sleep through the night. Cons: - I feel groggy the next day. To the point where it can be somewhat difficult to type - your fine motor skills are affected. Cognitive function also suffers. Ambine has much milder side effects. - If brings my sleep apnea back to life. I had multiple surgeries for apnea, after which I achieved a surgical cure. My wife never reported me snoring again.... except when I'm taking gabapenting. - I am not 100% sure, but it seems the tolerance builds fairly quickly. After 3 days, 300 mg dose doesn't work any more, at least doesn't work reliably. Didn't take it longer due to the side effects above. I've been taking Ambien for a few years - and it works consistently and I am not building up tolerance to it. Bottom line: you may be willing to try it - it may work for you. Unfortunately, I can't take this drug due to side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ric | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/31/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an injury at work that resulted in a neck fracture and nerve damage to both arms. Also a mild concussive injury. I was first prescribed Gabapentin to control pain for better sleep. That was six years ago. The dose was 300 mg once at night. My doctor kept increasing the dose and spreading it throughout the day until I was up to 900mg three times a day. Once I got to that dose, things turned bad. I had sudden and rapid development of cataracts requiring surgery within a year of onset. I developed sleep apnea, word loss, forgetfulness (dementia like symptoms), extreme fatigue, mouth sores, anxiety, depression, and a number of other issues. When I told my doctor about the issues I was having, he said “less than 1% of people taking this medication have any issues, so I couldn’t possibly be having them” (like it was rehearsed and practiced). He then ignored my problems and continued to talk about the benefits of the drug. I tried to quit taking it on my own but ended up have withdrawals. I am now off of this terrible medication but it took 8 months. I wouldn’t take this garbage again if my life depended on it. I know 8 people personally that have taken this medication now and not one of them have had a long lasting good experience on it. I highly doubt the clinical trials the makers site are accurate. I was only on this one medication. Nothing else. Even being off of it, I continue to have lingering issues I didn’t have before starting it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johnny | 45-54 | Male | Patient
12/2/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gabapentin works the problem is stopping The pain your body go through the black stool 3 months after stop it and it's still continues pain in the stomach blood in your stools off and on it's unbelievable still question myself was it worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gabafree | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/30/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed gabapentin for neuropathic pain in my feet. I was on 600 mg a day and honestly, it didn't work. My feet were still cold or burning and the pain was still there. It causes blurry vision, dizziness, memory loss, and brain fog. I tapered off of it (not pleasant but doable) after being on it for a year. It's been a few months since I've taken it and my vision has improved, my memory has improved, the dizziness is gone, and my hair -which would not grow - is coming back. I hate this medication and am very glad to be off it. Not only did it not work for me, but it gave me problems I didn't have before taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has helped me with nerve pain and I take it at bed time. I sleep so much better and less nerve issues during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
10/4/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took for a muscle injury that caused nerve impingement. I took 100mg 2x a day and it was very effective! It helped with sleep and anxiety too. However, when I stopped taking it I had suicidal thoughts and was the most depressed I have ever felt in my life. The depression episode was very bizarre and lasted for about 2 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eeyorgrl74 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/2/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking medication for hot flashes due to menopause. Now sleeping through the night without waking up 9 or 10 times having hot flashes. Even during the day I may only experience 1 hot flash. Quality of Life definitely better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red bird | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2023
Condition: Acute Pain Following an Operation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had abdominoplasty and given gabapentin for nerve pain. I will take 300mg 3x daily for 14 days. It’s been a blessing. Not one side effect. Thankfully.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary Margaret | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2023
Condition: Pain Originating From a Nerve
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed to treat phantom shingles pain.... pain level went from a 9 down to a 2 within 3 days, no extreme side effects. Very happy to have been out on this, my shingles were extreme and the following phantom shingles is terrible. Glad I have some relief after 10 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TERRY-ANN | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2023
Condition: Pain Originating From a Nerve
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on gabapentin now for 5 years due to my DDD(degenerative disc disease) 2 hernias', and arthrose all in lower lumber area. I take 600mg/3 days (1800mg), as well as baclofen 10mg twice daily, and tramadol 50mg twice daily. i have also started Prolotherapy injections. pain is more bearable and less frequent

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gabapentin | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/20/2023
Condition: Pain Originating From a Nerve
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medication so I can’t say just yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/11/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Gabapentin for over 10 years. I am Diabetic and last year, I broke my back. I have been having severe issues with my feet. At times, I don't feel them at all, even with pain stimuli. They always feel cold which is brutal for sleeping! I am on 400 mg 3x a day. I honestly don't think it's working for me at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelby | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2023
Condition: Pain Originating From a Nerve
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my doctor put me on this medication for chronic headaches. before hand i would take excedrin extra strength a couple times a day with little relief. i take 100mg 2x a day & now i have little to no headaches. i’ve also noticed it has helped my mood and my anxiety!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More