Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I call it my "happy ring". I am on my 4th one at the end of a year. I am 71 yrs. old and had a hysterectomy in l991. Vaginal dryness made intercourse intolerable. This solved all of my problems. I do not need to remove it during relations, and there is plenty of lubrication and no discomfort whatsoever. It is a miracle ring.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I now have breast cancer. DO NOT USE THIS DRUG.

Shared reviews and ratings

JeanB | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/31/2023
Condition: Marked Inflammation of Urethra, the Canal that leads From the Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A few years ago I kept regularly getting urinary tract symptoms, dryness and irritation around the urethra. I kept going to my gyn to get help thinking I needed to be treated for a UTI. My gyn would test for the UTI each time but I did't have one. Finally the gyn prescribed an Estring, it gave me total relief and relieved the dryness around my urethra. I didn't need it for sexual intercourse, KY Gel takes care of that. Since I've gone on Medicare it isn't covered and I would have to pay for the Estring out of pocket. It's so expensive, about $600, I can't afford it. Medicare doesn't cover it because it's considered a med to improve sexual intercourse. Well I don't need it for that at all. It really angers me that Medicare would deprive post menopausal women this medication for the successful treatment of this UTI symptom relief.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2023
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only complaint that I have is the cost. However, as long as you don't have government provided insurance, go to estring.com and get their manufacturer coupon. I only had to pay $45 with this coupon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/5/2023
Condition: Marked Inflammation of Urethra, the Canal that leads From the Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered for years with a horrible feeling of having to void. When I would use the bathroom more often than not only a few drops would come. My gyn suggested estring. It has been effective along with increasing my water intake, my only complaint would be that I am unable to insert or remove it, necessitating a trip to the doctor's office every 3 months. Why hasn't anyone redesigned this product so that older women with large abdomens would not have to travel back and forth to the doctor's office. They made tampons with applicators, why not an estring..PLEASE . Any suggestions ladies. tying dental floss on it as one lady suggested, great idea, but what can be used as a make-shift applicator???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CB | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my 3rd ring. It has cleared up the unpleasant symptoms of vaginal atrophy. The one complaint I have is getting the ring out. Putting it in is fine but I have a hard time getting the darn thing out. Is there any way of putting some kind of string to help pull it down and slip your finger in to get it out. Surely I am not the only one with this problem. No partner either so I'm on my own here.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anon2 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2023
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agreed to try it. It was too large and too rigid. Women, like men, are not all the same size or shape. Whoever designed this - probably a man - needs to go back to the drawing board and use different thinner material (more flexible) for the ring and it needs to come in different sizes. I was able to insert it into position but would go no further. I can see where it might also push out in some women. Just another contraption designed to cause harm and discomfort for women. I cannot recommend anything so hard and foreign.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Again | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/20/2023
Condition: Wasting of Tissues of the Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After menopause, had vaginal atrophy to the extent that sex was incredibly painful (think sandpaper). Lube didn't help. My GYN suggested this -- I didn't want HRT or hormone therapy, but as this is very localized estrogen I agreed to try it. I've been using it for almost two years and once again have an active sex life, which is delightful. I'm used to using a menstrual cup, so inserting it isn't a challenge. For me, it does take a while for each new ring to kick in, so to speak, and it seems more effective towards the end of its three months. As an experiment, since it's so expensive, I've left the current ring in for an extra month and have not had any problems with dryness or pain yet. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gloria | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/20/2023
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have benefited from using it and has helped me not being sore, and my sex life.I think it is challenging to put it in and take it out.I used to have my husband take it out as I couldn't but he passed recently,but my gyno,said use dental floss and tie it on it and I can do it myself and it works for me ,so try it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cintrella | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2023
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to like this. When I saw it for the first time I was dubious - it is big and hard. I tried to insert at home and it felt terrible so went to my MD to help. I wore it for a few hours hoping my body would adjust but the discomfort was so bad. Realized it was slipping and tried to force back. Read other reviews - great many benefit - seems for others theres a lot of discomfort. Not going through that. I chucked it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/21/2023
Condition: Wasting of Tissues of the Vulva
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Estring vaginal ring has been a lifesaver. It makes me feel normal again in terms of dryness and irritation. My experience with insurance however, has been dismal. My new insurance carrier Cigna + Oscar will NOT cover it, leaving me with with a $550-$700+ cost every 90 days to use this product. I can't afford that, so I went looking for an alternative source. I was able to find it at Canadian Prescription Drugstore (I'm in the U.S.). My primary care physician emailed them a prescription, and I'm able to purchase it online for $89.02 every 90 days. A huge improvement over U.S. pricing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2023
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Estring is similar to NuvaRing bc. It was easy to insert and treated my symptoms which were inflammation, dryness, atrophy, and urinary incontinence. Sexy dysfunction is noticeably less too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had my ring in for a week. Other than cramping, which may also be indicative of an incoming period, (they are irregular, about every two weeks). I found insertion easy! Bend in half and put it in, all the way to the top! I don’t feel it in there. My husband said it feels weird with intercourse but instructions say I can take it out each time, if needed. I also read that it can take 2-3 weeks to see changes so I’ll update if things go south!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
s. | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/23/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this for years and it seems to me that they vary a lot in effectiveness. One time it works for the three months, another time, an almost new one doesn't have much effectiveness on the hot flashes. Wonder about their product manufacturing and consistency. Otherwise, have no problems with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GiGi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2023
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Imagine putting a frisbee in your vagina and that's what you get with an Estring. It's very hard to insert and in my case impossible to remove. Since I've been using it, I've had cramping and itching. And now the burning is back along with urinary frequency. I can't wait to have this miniature spaceship removed. I'm glad it works for some women, but for me it's a nightmare. I don't know who designed the Estring but my guess is it wasn't a woman. On top of the high cost of the Estring, some of us will have to pay a doctor's fee to have it removed. Here's a recap for those of you on the fence. Estring is large and hard to insert. Estring is expensive and so is a visit to the doctor to have it inserted, if you can't do it yourself, and removed. That means two medical visits each time you use it on top of the high cost for the "ring." It's a bad deal all around for women and I haven't even mentioned the scary side effects. Nope! Not for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Estring worked quickly to increase vaginal moisture. I would like to continue using it, but it is very inconvenient and difficult. The manufacturer says that it is very rare for the ring to fall out. I cannot keep it in! I’ve pushed it as far back as I can, but it quickly moves back down. I have to push it back up almost every time I go to the bathroom. This is so unsanitary. The last one actually did fall out into the toilet about 2 weeks before I should have had to renew it. I renewed it anyway because I don’t know what good alternatives there are. It’s extremely expensive and obviously there are flaws in the design and in the education process for patients. Maybe it just doesn’t fit well in some patients, but why do we have to pay to find out. And what can we do to alleviate problems?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R.S. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/31/2022
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this product for years. It’s much easier than other products and relieves vaginal dryness, however in my experience, it doesn’t last the full 90 days and by about days 75-80 I need to supplement with estrace cream or vagifem. Has anyone else had this issue? I am thinking of writing to the manufacturer about this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lmm | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 9 months of using this, I had to stop. I woke up one morning with a terrible odor and after removal, it was apparent it was from the ring. I changed it as recommended, actually usually 2 weeks early. After removing it, the odor resolved. And my mood and energy levels have improved…I assumed the fatigue I was experiencing was because the patch I was using wasn’t the correct dose. Turns out Estring was making me feel terrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laurie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 52 going through premenpause still having a random periods (3 in 9 months) I have a thinning uterus wall with a collapsing bladder causing urinary incontenance. I have a morena iud to help with mild symptoms of endometriosis and was still getting very very mild random periods with No symptoms (cramping, bloating) I suffer from pretty bad hormonal migraines which has nothing to do with the mirena. My gyno suggested the estring to help with the incontenance. I’ve had the ring in for 3 months. Downfall…..took a bit to insert…yes the ring is big, yes it’s hard, yes for a day or 2 it kept popping out and I had to try reinserting it but for some reason inserting it in the shower was the key for me. I now have bad cramping and my random periods (pre menopause) are much more noticeable. No difference in my incontenance which is very disappointing. The upside….no more migraines! This was a pleasant surprise and my dr did not think it would help. No vaginal dryness, and I can leave it in during sex….I’m see my gyno in 3 months so will try another ring and discuss further with my dr. whether I should continue or not. I haven’t tried to take it out (tomorrow) but from reading all the reviews I’m really nervous about it. I have an inverted cervix apparently, so hoping it won’t be too difficult.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The ring is very hard & big !! I had a hard time getting it in & even worse trying to get it out . I have used for 2 weeks I've been sick with a Bacterial Infection ever since so it went in the garbage . I rather deal with it than to deal with the bad side effects .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Birdy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2022
Condition: Postmenopausal Urethral Atrophy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. Very easy to insert and no discomfort . I’m only 1 week in and hoping this will help with extreme painful sex and dryness. Oh what us woman have to go through:(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2022
Condition: Vaginal Inflammation due to Loss of Hormone Stimulation
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was informed that this product: Estring (estradiol vaginal ring) 2mg would be the idea proscription for my vaginal dryness and painful sex. After the pharmacy having to order it, waiting 3 days for it to come in, then having to pay*** $437.00*** due to my insurance not covering it, the GoodRX code not working, and not receiving the manufacturer coupon. I was with high hopes this was going to be worth that large amount of money. First, the size of the ring is HUGE!!! I do not understand how one HUGE size would fit all. Second, the material the ring is made from is EXTREMELY hard and it's being placed inside our drying out sensitive vaginal area.?.?.? Third, the instructions say it may slide down with constipation or straining, to just guide it back into place with your finger. How could this be sanitary if you're constantly having to push it back in? I had to remove it after 3 weeks because it began to feel like I was violated. My vagina started to throb in pain from the constant pressure, pain from the moving in and out around my vaginal opening, and it was also causing me to have urine incontinence. I am going to ask my OBGYN if there is any way this product has a refund policy. I am also going to make sure she educates her patients on the size and hardness of this product. There should be a fitting trial ring before patients are given this very EXPENSIVE prescription.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More