Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

169 People found this comment helpful

I normally never write on these things, but this medication has worked SO WELL for me, that I wanted to share, in case my comments might help someone who is undecided about Wellbutrin. I have had severe depression for about 10 years. Had been on prozac and effexor before wellbutrin. They both worked, but not even close to how the wellbutrin is helping me! I'm taking 300mg XL per day. I felt ...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

i am trying to loose weight to

Shared reviews and ratings

Julia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/15/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wellbutrin gave me energy almost immediately (Day 2) which felt amazing since my depression was making me tired and unmotivated to do anything. With the burst of energy also came loss of appetite and the inability to sleep for more than 5 hours a night. Fortunately, the loss of appetite faded after about 4 months and the inability to sleep through the night faded after about 3 weeks. The motivation and energy to do normal tasks and my work stayed. I've been taking the 300 XL every day for about 2.5 years now. I would recommend this drug to anyone. It felt like a 180 after taking this medication and I am so thankful for its existence.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wellbutrin | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Induced petit-mal seizures on a hereditary second generation epileptic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
khbyfhjgvb | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/5/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on WB at 13 after a mental breakdown. Felt like a placebo and only made my depression and anxiety worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/27/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have struggled with depression my whole life and been in and out of therapy with very little improvement. No-one ever suggested antidepressants to me as a treatment, so I struggled on feeling terrible about myself. I decided to try Wellbutrin through an online medication service and the difference is like night and day. I have never been this happy, this stable, this emotionally resilient and optimistic in my entire life. I can finally handle life's ups and downs, whereas before I was an irritable, mood-swinging mess who was self-medicating with drugs and alcohol. I've been on Wellbutrin for about a year now and I am beyond thankful I finally found something that quiets my self-critical mind and lets me enjoy my career and family. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doody73 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an acoustic neuroma (benign brain tumor) removed 13 years ago. The after effects? The right side of my face is paralyzed, my right ear hearing is gone, my right eye doesn’t close all th way and doesn’t tear properly, and there isn’t much saliva on the right side of my mouth so I have constant dry mouth. I love Wellbutrin. I’m able to get out of bed in the morning and be active all day. My only complaint is that when the doctor upped my dose to 300 I started getting this strange taste in my mouth and my mouth got so dry my tongue stuck to the roof of my mouth and I couldn’t swallow. This was way worse than my usual dry mouth, and the taste was really horrible. Has anyone had this experience? If so, how did you handle it?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Wellbutrin XL 150 about a year ago for 3 days for anxiety. I didn’t get the Insomnia, dry mouth, extra depressed, etc except I felt high for the first hour and then after the hour all the side effects went away. Well like a year later I tried Wellbutrin because my insomnia has become extreme. I took a 150 XL Wellbutrin the first time like 5pm and my anxiety completely went away and it was great. I however became very drowsy, but I don’t think it was from the Wellbutrin because I’ve been very sleep deprived from the insomnia and that night I slept 10 hours, I didn’t really feel any other side effects. This morning I took 1 150 XL around 9am and my anxiety completely went away and I didn’t feel drowsy after taking the pill, but my head definitely feels slightly dizzy and loopy. Not a good feeling at all. I’ll try half a pill tomorrow 75mg and see if it helps my Anxiety and if I have the slight dizziness/ loopy head feel side effect. If I do I’m going to need to stop the pill because I could not be able to function with this side effect long term.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for anxiety. After a month of taking it I worried that it wasn’t helping as I was still stressed. I made a follow up appointment for 2 weeks later. The next day I was in a complete rage over someone’s driving. Screaming and acting irrational. I remember pulling into a parking spot and telling my husband that I was so angry that I just wanted to die. That I literally couldn’t think of any other way to calm down other than dying. I got out of the car and got in the passenger seat. I told my husband I didn’t think it was a good idea for me to drive anymore. I never took another pill. It took that moment for me to realize that I was losing it on the medication. I was only able to recognize it because my sister had the same reaction to another anxiety medication and I was making it a point to watch for my side effects. It scares me to my core what might of happened if I had continued the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danielle Ritchie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine caused my thyroid to go from a 1 which is normal to a 6 which is hypothyroidism which made me gain 40 pounds in 3 weeks. Now I have to take thyroid medication daily to keep my thyroid under control. Don’t take this medication is causes extreme weight gain and messes with you metabolism

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for MDD. After 4 week’s of taking Wellbutrin major agitation started. I was so irritated, restless and frustrated. I was quick to get angry. I got off of it immediately. Wasn’t right for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from Major Depressive Disorder and couldn't even get out of bed and when I did I would cry multiple times a day for no apparent reason.I thought my life would never improve after dealing with my depression for about 4 months.I was prescribed Bupropion 150 mg in addition to Paxil 20 mg. The first few days were very difficult for my body getting used to the medication.I had tremors and nausea.I am now on week 3 and the side effects are still not great (insomnia, lack of appetite, dizziness/vertigo when I lay down and turn my head from right to left and constipation). However the improvement in my overall depression and mood has significantly improved.I am able to wake up and take my son to school, I've been able to go to the grocery store, appointments.I now have hope and feel a bit like my old self before the depression.I truly believe this medication saved my life!I have a long way to go and will see if by week 6 some of the side effects subside.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pedro | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is MY experience and as we all know, the result of drugs might vary among the individuals. The experience with Wellbutrin has bee terrible to me. It didn't help with my depression, and it made me feel bad. I took it for about a month, and quit. The week after, I felt like crap. I was irascible, bad mood, and didn't feel like myself. The experience was overall bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for depression, adhd, and anxiety. For all those saying anxiety increased talk to your doctor about your dose. My anxiety rocketed when I was on 150mg xr. I also couldn’t sleep. I’m now on 100mg sr and it’s a whole different ball game. Helping attention, depression, exhaustion, intrusive thoughts, triggers… and, since these were such huge stressors in my life, it’s also helping anxiety. Game changer. Wish I’d started 15 years ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2023
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn't even make it to day 2. Racing heart, rage, headache, buzzing in ears, insomnia. I can't do it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male |
3/1/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first review I’ve ever written and I’ve take several SSRIs on and off over the last 14 years. Prozac, Celexa, Abilify and maybe one or 2 others that I can’t remember because they did nothing and I went off them within a few months. I will say I did take name brand Wellbutrin back in 2007. I don’t remember feeling much different mentally or physically, but I did at the time lose 20-30 lbs, however after a few months, the prescription all of a sudden was some crazy price. I want to say over $200 a month so I stopped. This time though, having only been on it for about 9 days, a week at 150 and now 300 for a few days, I felt something yesterday that I hadn’t felt in a very long time…. Happy! I can’t explain it. It feels weird because I haven’t felt this in so long. I know it’s super early, but I’ve had 2 days in a row of feeling something I haven’t felt in so many years. It almost feels like a huge weight has been lifted off of me. I didn’t realize how depressed I had become until I felt what I felt a couple days ago. I’m not going to say life changer yet, but I will definitely say that if this feeling continues. I have energy again, music sounds better, I’m smiling and not just for appearances. Had some bad insomnia last night and that kinda was a negative, but no other side effects. Appetite is subdued and I have no urge to drink of smoke weed, which I had been doing almost nightly for a couple years (alcohol longer). I didn’t want to review this early, but I want to share my initial experience. I really hope it continues. I’m taking generic 300xl, but seems to be working great. I’m kinda sitting here in awe and thinking to myself, “man, I was even more depressed than I thought”. This feels so much different. I think when I took it in 2007 I wasn’t as depressed so I didn’t feel much other than the weight loss. A lot of things have happened in my life since 2007 (both parents dying, divorce, etc) that had brought me to a very low place where I was barely surviving. I really hope this feeling lasts because it’s not that I feel like me again, I feel like a new, better version of me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jef G. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Bupropion 150 mg SR about 6 years now for my depression and it works really well for my depression. I was an alcoholic and I thankfully stopped drinking and I find that Bupropion helps to take any cravings that I used to get. I'm lucky in that I rarely get any side effects from medications so I've had no negative effects. I would definitely recommend it for depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Welpbutrin | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2023
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi there, I took Wellbutrin 75 sr to treat ADHD and depression. I had a hard time adjusting to this drug. It made me feel stabilized at first, but then a but hypomanic and then later quite paranoid. I know this isn’t common so don’t worry if you’re on more. I have friends this works wonders for. I think my anxiety got in the way of me ability to benefit from this medication, though exercise helped a bit. I wish it could have worked for me but unfortunately the side effects were concerning to my dr and hard to live with because I went from feeling functional to feeling crazy in a way I never have before Wellbutrin. Glad it’s over, went back to feeling like myself after a few days. Still unmotivated and depressed though :/ Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jermairl | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this to take with Lexapro. I've noticed extreme loss of appetite to the point where I ate under 500 cal per day. While on Wellbutrin, I feel like a zombie. Like Zoloft x100. It technically worked in the sense that I couldn't feel sad because I couldn't feel anything. I was not very fun at parties to say the least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ant | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been taking thease medications for over a week now im 14 years old have lots of anxitey after a few days of taking. intrusive thoughts about harming family making me more anxious heart racing feels like. shaking im also taking this with hydrozine 3 times a day i take the wellbutrin once in the morning am i the only one. going to see the doctor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let’s start by saying that, I’ve dealt with my PTSD for about 9 years. I never took anything for it. Just tried to take the natural way out due to being afraid of side effects along with the opinions of other people. I am on day 4 of Wellbutrin and it might be to early to say, but I literally just want to cry tears of joy because this is so unreal. I actually feel grounded, like I am presently here. Not floating away in my thoughts somewhere or needing to be on my phone 24/8 to keep my mind from not wanting to deal with negative emotions. I definitely do still have some intrusive thoughts here and there, but they don’t hurt anymore and I am able to just brush it off within minutes. I don’t dwell on negative thoughts anymore. I haven’t really hit the energy part of it yet, but fair to say I’ve been more energized and motivated than usual. Waking up at 6am and in bed by 8-9pm. I wish I would’ve found or gave this medication a chance a LONG time ago instead of wasting so much time in a fog, horrible memory, angry/irritable all the time because I was always exhausted from all my thoughts. But they say everything is a learning curve and I’m here to tell you to PLEASE give this medication a chance. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trisha | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been dealing with serious health issues and have just felt overloaded emotionally. Have never taken an antidepressant before. My MD started me on Wellbutrin 75mg. After three weeks I'm coping better with a more positive attitude and ability to cope. Back to energy and ability to cope. It has been a lifesaver for me. I would encourage people to give it a try before stopping the drug as it took 8 weeks for me to feel the full benefit of Wellbutrin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More