Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

51 People found this comment helpful

BP running consistantly at least 150/100, hot flashes (perimenapause), SOB, nervous, heart palpitations interfering with sleep, Hyper or exhausted, no in-between. Was placed on two different anti-depressants and HCTZ, had allergic reactions to all. Smart physician suggested clonidine and I now have BP of 120/80 or lower, no more palpatations, hot flashes greatly decreased, and I'am able to relax. ...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

DO NOT GIVE YOUR CHILD THIS DRUG. My mother took me off this med when I was prescribed for ADD because i was experiencing muscle twitches in my jaw. I almost experience mental retardation if it weren't for her taking me off of it.

Shared reviews and ratings

Alex | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken clonidine 0.1 as needed when my blood pressure spikes over 160 but lately I was prescribed clonidine 0.1 3 times a day due to the BP going very high while on cancer treatment and hormonal changes. Everything was fine until I noticed a change in the pills to a rougher texture generic clonidine, I started experiencing stomach pain and consistent titinnus and a clogged tight ear, nasal discharge, I stopped taking it for a few days abs symptoms disappeared, I started it again and symptoms are back, it is a shame because it is very good in controlling BP. This us a generic clonidine I will try the original if the doctor prescribes it. Anyone else has these symptoms? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephanie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for blood pressure but after about a week I started getting horrible headaches I thought it was allergy or sinus relate but the worse headaches ever and chest tightness and discomfort and then it would go away and come back... I felt horrible on it....stopping it today after I read it can cause headaches and chest discomfort. But it did lower my bp. going back to HCTZ for blood pressure so I dont have this headache and keep eating whole food plant based and get off all meds --im done with high blood pressure. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made me very ill! It didn’t lower my blood pressure much, & by noon it would be back up. This medicine gave me chills, sweats, nausea, blurred vision, dizziness, lack of sleep bc I would shake & it was very uncomfortable!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike C | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recently prescribed 0.1mg of Clonidine for anxiety along with Trazadone (for anxiety, depression, sleep). I remain on Venlafaxine which I have been taking for numerous years. My biggest complaint with Clonidine is that I've experienced multiple instances of blurred vision over the initial 6 days of treatment. I would love to hear from other people who have experienced this same side effect, and whether their body eventually adjusted to the Clonidine over time and the symptom subsided. I have the option to use Clonidine only when necessary. My last dose was 24 hours ago and I had a great morning for 2 plus hours, but now I'm feeling the beginnings of some side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Clonidine...Can equal: The Liver Called Hepatitis A Blockage Of The Bile Duct That Resulting In High Bilirubin Levels Acute Inflammation Of The Pancreas Well, I have a sensitive system to drugs. This one seemed to work but then 2 months into it, was having pain and a lot more nausea from it, Clonidine has made me feel like throwing up since day 1 along with not sleeping well, worse dry eyes and mouth, but would get pains in the upper abdomen and feel really sick. Thought it was from taking Naproxen for the arthritis when the clouds get real bad, but I only take this when needed, so I stopped taking Naproxen or even Excedrin Extra Strength for my migraines. Got bloodwork done late february and the bilirubin level was slightly elevated. I was like, hmmmm, the last time this happened it was from taking valerain root to help with pain and it elevated the bilirubin slightly. So stopped taking that, did a cleansing of liver and the level came back down to normal. Well, yesterday I ended up in the ER from the pain and nausea being so bad, this gets worse and worse, as well as throwing up. It feels like I'm backing up. There are now 2 elevated bilirubin levels. So, I'm stuck because I have to wean off of this and when I try to take it, this litterally makes me vomit. The doctors will tell you Clonidine doesn't do this, but it will. This is a rare side effect of Clonidine: Inflammation Of The Liver Called Hepatitis A Blockage Of The Bile Duct That Resulting In High Bilirubin Levels Acute Inflammation Of The Pancreas So, I researched just to back up when the doctor says, no it does not do this. https://www.webmd.com/drugs/2/drug-2228/clonidine-chlorthalidone-oral/details and https://www.pdr.net/Mobile/Pages/drug-summary/Kapvay-clonidine-hydrochloride-2283#:~:text=If%20it%20is%20necessary%20to,dosage%20reduction%20every%203%20days) Unreal! I will never take this again! And like saying, I'm a bad canidate for meds and have bad reactions. Hope I don't suffer the withdrawl of stroke, heart attack or whatever else since this won't even stay down now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hamp | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: Extremely High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given you me in ER. Have used .1 twice daily for 5 years. Excellent BP control. Also controls bad dreams. Only side effect is must always continue to take regularly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on the pills 0.1 low dose which gave me dry mouth, headache, faint. My Dr switched me to the patch 0.1 mg a week. No side effects and it keeps my blood pressure down. Love it! Great blood pressure medication. I’m so glad I’m on the patch No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Max | 7-12 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was prescribed this 0.1 mg for insomnia and nightmares and i can say it works well. i had a bit of dizziness the first week or so but it went away after that. its honestly one of the greatest meds for insomnia, i dont think ive ever been able to sleep this well or even get tired this fast so it's amazing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dayna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall the medication is great for lowering blood pressure, I've been taking this medication for about 4 years, I initially started out very tired and lethargic on the medication, then as my body adjusted it got a little better for a short time, the last two years have been horrible, exhausted all the time, short of breath. I found a new Doctor who ran a full range blood test and I found my A1c was 7.2, yep Diabetic. I was prescribed metformin and within days had loads of energy, I looked up the effects of the two drugs together and what I found was various studies and something I was not expecting. It was found that Clonidine raised sugar in the blood by 108% in the non diabetic group and lowering of Insulin production, this seemed to be the case in many studies but did not give me a range I could understand. This is now a new major concern that I suspect I will need to try and figure out somehow myself, I get a feeling I will be foo fooed by doctors who's primary concerns are fixing the symptoms, not the causes Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
insomina | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have normal blood pressure. I was prescribed this medicine to help me sleep, .1mg Dr. said I can also take for some anxiety during the day.. I was surprised to read all the negative "side effects". The only negative I can say is that it makes my mouth very dry while I sleep. IT works excellent for helping me go to sleep as I have a chronic insomnia problem.It works for about 4 hours, if necessary If I wake up in the middle of the night , Ill take another .1 tablet. Please note my dosage is pretty low compared to what other people are taking Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brendalee | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Excessive Sweating
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I was detoxing from using zipoclone., I had excessive sweating and anxiety. This medication works ok for the sweating and I feel a little calmer. I have to say the constipation and wieght gain are horrible, along with the blurred vision and tiredness. I normally wiegh 133 lbs at 5'6 but after a week and a half I'm at 141..it's terrible..I'm stopping now and gonna just tough out the sweats. Good luck to you all that are on this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caley | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave this medicine a shot because I was stopping a relatively low dose of painkillers I had been prescribed for an injury and I had mildly high blood pressure and thought it would be helpful. Initially it seemed to help for about three days. After that side effects started mounting. First came constipation. Shortly after that a dull pain started in my abdomen. The pain got so bad and was accompanied by a feeling of fullness so bad that I could barely eat food. The fullness got so intense it started to affect my breathing which had become shallow. Then came the heart palpitations which made me stop taking it. My blood pressure rose from 120/70 to 165/95 and the side affects continued for a couple weeks coming in waves. additional side effects of withdrawal from clonidine like hot flashes, headaches and redness in the face and hands started as I stopped the clonidine. I was only taking .1 milligram split in two doses morning and night. After a couple weeks it got better. Once I was better I decided to give it another shot only taking .025 doses twice a day. Within three days the side effects started coming back. That told me it was definitely the medicine. Here I am a week later. Mostly better. Still stomach pain, headaches, hot flashes. Haven’t had a bowel movement in three days. If the doctor prescribes you this get a second opinion. It really was only approved by the fda for emergency hypertension in the 60’s. Who knows if this stuff would even pass fda approval if they tried to get it thru now. I would be careful about going off label with this. Even at low doses this can have toxic effects on some people. My experience mirrors many of the other bad experiences I have seen on this review board. I am not the kind of person that writes reviews on medication but felt compelled to issue this warning. DONT WAIT FOR THE SIDE EFFECTS TO GET BAD! What you are feeling can last a week or two after you quit. This has been the worst medication experience of my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/15/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed .03 mg of clonidine three times a day and I would get up to walk and fall asleep or faint and fall down. three sets of black eyes in a little over a month I would s i t on a bench and fall right off because I fainted. I found out I was totally over prescribed the doctor assistant not even read my chart almost all of the medicine I was taking call Chad effects of dizziness. So please everybody watch your dosage. I had no idea what was going on because when I took it in the hospital I was completely in bed. Her name was dr. Assistant Martha Drake so please be awareRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CO | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/22/2021
Condition: Symptoms from Stopping Treatment with Opioid Drugs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was on this for withdrawal and also high blood pressure. He would fall asleep mid sentence, eyes rolling back. It really freaked me out. One night he was confused and blood pressure dropped too low. He had vivid frightening Night terrors. Perhaps this drug helped him initially but as he recovered and no longer needed it for withdrawal, it only started to make his situation worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AL24 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking it as an emaergency med for my spiking BP I alsoTake Irbesartan (Avapro generic) 150 2 x daily I have dropped the Amalodopine and stated taking .1 clonodine in the eve daily I feel better It also helps me sleep and My cardiologist siad it was ok. .2 ha a much greater affect and I willonly take that in a BP emergency to lower my extremely high spikes (which no doctirs can figure out)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OK Momma | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

wow, this is an absolutely terrible medication. Or should I call it poison? If you like severe blurred vision then this medication is for you. If you like having your blood pressure spiked and barely dropped your normal level, this medication is for you. If you’d like not being and able to take a crap, This medication is for you. This medication is pure poison for your body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PatriciaAnne | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Clonidine made me very ill and my blood pressure went up instead of down. I took it for three weeks. It was addictive and hard to quit. My side effects were dreadful. My hair got thin and felt like straw. I had a terrible taste in my mouth and I had insomnia. I also got vertigo. I have never experienced this before and it scared me to death. I was exhausted all the time. My side effects are almost gone now but it was a very scary experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2019
Condition: Excessive Sweating
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like that it helps with excessive sweating, but I haven't felt the same. I have been having realistic nightmares,my hair falling out more than usual,and I have been having peeing trouble since starting this drug. I either am having to pee constantly o or I feel like I can't clear out my bladder. Or other times all of a sudden I have to go and I sometimes feel like I can't hold it til I get to a bathroom. I have been tired and my legs feel like heavy lead trying get around I have to sit, because I'm tired. I have been sleeping late in morning and still want to stay in bed for more sleep.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Swallows14PillsAtOnce | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2019
Condition: Excessive Sweating
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication did exactly what I needed it to do. Amen. I decided to read the warnings at a later date because I'm smart like that. The list of drugs that might end bad if mixed, I take the whole list, daily as a cocktail in one swallow including Clonidine. I also smoke legal marijuana everyday. I never once got dizzy, felt drowsy, or got some added hours of extra sleep. How is it possible? Listen to what your doctor and pharmacist tells you. My doctor told me taking this medication with all my other pills will be fine. No issues. He was 100% correct. Had I have researched this medication before taking it, I probably wouldn't have even bothered with it. Online warnings with the detailed info behind your prescriptions are only listed to cover their butts from being sued. Basically, these warnings could be for 1 out of 100,000 people for all we know. It's much better to avoid researching your medication online, unless absolutely necessary and last resort. For most people, it is easy to mentally create negative effects due to simply reading all the bad stuff. Thus damaging your medications true intent. Instead, visit a hospital, doctor, or walk into your local pharmacy if health care isn't free. They will all help you. Doctors usually know their medications. They are usually way smarter than you and I. If you have a bad Doctor, simply get a new one. A good doctor will tell you what you need to know before giving you a prescription, and the pharmacist should touch base with these things as well. Don't let the warnings of this medication listed online scare you away from its awesomeness. TRUST YOUR DOCTOR. CLONIDINE IS GOOD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Swallows14PillsAtOnce | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2019
Condition: Excessive Sweating
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication did exactly what I needed it to do. Amen. I decided to read the warnings at a later date because I'm smart like that. The list of drugs that might end bad if mixed, I take the whole list, daily as a cocktail in one swallow including Clonidine. I also smoke legal marijuana everyday. I never once got dizzy, felt drowsy, or got some added hours of extra sleep. How is it possible? Listen to what your doctor and pharmacist tells you. My doctor told me taking this medication with all my other pills will be fine. No issues. He was 100% correct. Had I have researched this medication before taking it, I probably wouldn't have even bothered with it. Online warnings with the detailed info behind your prescriptions are only listed to cover their butts from being sued. Basically, these warnings could be for 1 out of 100,000 people for all we know. It's much better to avoid researching your medication online, unless absolutely necessary and last resort. For most people, it is easy to mentally create negative effects due to simply reading all the bad stuff. Thus damaging your medications true intent. Instead, visit a hospital, doctor, or walk into your local pharmacy if health care isn't free. They will all help you. Doctors usually know their medications. They are usually way smarter than you and I. If you have a bad Doctor, simply get a new one. A good doctor will tell you what you need to know before giving you a prescription, and the pharmacist should touch base with these things as well. Don't let the warnings of this medication listed online scare you away from its awesomeness. TRUST YOUR DOCTOR. CLONIDINE IS GOOD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More