Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I am 35 years old. I have been on the Climara TD patch for over 1 month now, because I had a total abdominal hysterectomy due to endometriosis. I haven’t had any problems with menopausal symptoms, and I am very satisfied with this patch. As far as the patch staying on, I apply medical tape on it to help it stay on. I’d rather improvise to get what I need than to go without the medication. Hop...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I started this patch a month ago after a hysterectomy. It works on my symptoms but I can tell when it is almost time to replace the patch because I get terrible migraines and when I put on a new patch I am REALLY jittery and have panic attacks. It moves around on my skin even though I try not to disturb it and water makes it come off often. If you decide on this patch you might try those clear sti...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/6/2024
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Vivelle dot & switching to Climara: Climara patches are bulky & has given me a skin reaction. Not sure if its the adhesive or the estrogen or both. I don’t have a reaction with the Vivelle plus, it is a very thin small clear patch. The only reason I switched to Climara is cost but will be switching back to Vivelle due to skin reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TB | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2024
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The patch did help my night sweats a bit but they were getting better on their own about two months prior to going on the patch so I can't say that it was the patch. I did have spotting between periods for about the first two-three months. It helped me sleep a little longer (an additional hour and half-two hours compared to the prior four-five hours a night). I did feel less anxious on the HRT patch as well. However, it was a real pain to put on because it was hard to get the backing off of the second side to press down, causing it to bubble up and not adhere flatly. As a result, I had to pretty much waste a few patches trying again, and these patches aren't cheap. Also, after five months of use, I noticed my hair was falling out dramatically when washing and styling. The list of side effects does say that a "Less serious and common side effect" is hair loss. Needless to say, I'm going to wean myself off it because I like my hair. The weaning process is also nebulous The meds should come with these instructions, and the advice I was given for "spacing it out" by an office RN in my gyno's office was so vague, and then she said something about cutting parts off gradually, but "that's not evidence-based." The makers of Climara-Pro should hand doctors' offices the weaning process based on evidence. But oh wait--they don't want you to stop taking it because that's more money for them.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | Caregiver
10/18/2023
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have no side effects, no osteoporosis, good energy, no moodiness,feel happy and positive, im 77 never want to give up using them yes, still have the period Not a big deal, dont have hair growing on face eaither.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UPSET PATIENT | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2023
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to this patch temporary as my regular patch is on back order. The patches DO NOT stick at all they fall off after the first day. I have gone through the entire month supply in 1 week. They are expensive and I can't afford to replace/change it so often. Thank God this is temporary for me or else I would be broke.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olyme | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/3/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on the Climara Pro patch for 8 years now. For those who are saying it doesn't stay on, I recommend purchasing a roll of 4 inch wide Hypafix cloth surgical tape. After applying your patch, cut a piece of tape that is larger than the patch on every side, and apply it over the patch so that it seals to your skin all around the patch. It takes some care not to let the Hypafix wrinkle. Once you get the hang of this method your patch will stay on all week through repeated wetting and sweating.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patchless | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The patch works great if you can get the backing off. It is always a struggle and today I ripped two patches and never got the backing off, finally on the third one, the plastic for the backing was stiffer and this time I was able to peel away the patch. This is a problem. I really want to keep using this product, but if I waste 50% of my prescription because the product is defective, I will have to find another source. Menopause is rough enough that applying the patch should not be so stressful and difficult. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bethie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 6 weeks hot flashes totally gone, however my period has returned more than I had before….. waiting to hear back from doctor to see if this is normal. Not sure if it’s worth it for Periods again ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/11/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this patch at lowest dosage when I was about 50. I had brain fog and was a little 'emotional' No sweats, no trouble sleeping etc. I had a hysterectomy at 52. I am now 73 and still use this wonderful medication. I have a mammogram every year. I am slim, fit, energetic, walk 6 kilometers a day. Sleep really well despite having cared for my dear husband with Parkinsons for 17 years. My bones are excellent too So I have nothing but praise for Chlimara I live in a sub tropical city and while I may get the occasional 'hot spot' under the patch, it has never fallen off. By the way, Americans appear to be ripped off well and truly. Under our Medicare system - available to ALL - I pay $15 for a months supply. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rea | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2022
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started with these patches 4 days ago and I’m doubtful because the patch has already come off twice and not sticking very well today. 4 patches through my insurance would have been $200. With the Bayer Savings Card it was $150. For that price staying on your skin should be a non issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SueAgnula | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Definitely has lowered my anxiety and decreased hot flashes- for the max five days that it works. I like the better cardiovascular profile of a patch, but the anxiety (which originally wasn't bothering me as much as the hot flashes) is a little horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/5/2021
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had smoe trouble with the patch not sticking, but solved the problem by cleaning with alcohol then drying and warming the area with a hair drier. I stick it to my upper arm, that is the only place it will stay on when working out, showering, etc. it has been a total game changer for me. I had every menopausal symptom in the book - bad - and it got me almost completely back to normal after a few days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
5/9/2020
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot keep the patches on. After 4 days, the patch falls off. I have gone through the entire month supply in 2.5 weeks. Cannot afford to replace it this often. My symptoms are much better, but have to find something that stays on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HRC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/15/2020
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a complete hysterectomy about 15 years ago. I was immediately prescribed the Climara patch. I have never had the menopausal side effects, except when I fail to replace the patch timely. My suggestion is to ALWAYS wipe the application area with an alcohol wipe, allow the area to dry a few seconds, then apply your patch. It will easily remain stuck to you for 7 full days. Irregardless of pools, jacuzzi, sauna, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2019
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been in the pool 3 times this summer and 3 patches gone! I have been on many patches for many years, so don't tell me how to apply it. This is the worst by far, but sadly it works. Very expensive so I will never refill this because of them coming off every time I swim or workout.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2019
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although the hormone works good I get huge red welts where the patch is so bad it itches and stays red and scabbed die a week! I have to stop using. I used for a while but after this last round I am done (it also doesnâ??t stay on )

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flash-less in Vancouver | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/26/2019
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had my ovaries removed 25 years ago and was first on premarin pills, then switched to .025 climara patch. wonderful. i have tried to wean myself, so i cut the patch in half and apply it weekly....it helps my hot flashes and i can't live without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ria | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2018
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello, I am taking .025mg of the Brand Climara. It is pricey, it is definitely worth it. All smiles. I had moderate hot flashes at night and had a hard time staying asleep. Now I have been on the brand name patch for two days. I waited 5 weeks after my sugery to put the patch on because I wanted to be all natural with no type of med. Anyways, Im on the Climara.025mg patch and I put it on the top of my buttocks. I will rotate to my lower abdomen next week. I will roate for three weeks, then go off the patch for one week basically to try and mimic my natural cycle wich i dont have due to surgery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Provocateur | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: Post-Menopausal Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came across these after much research as to what I thought would be best for myself for my menopausal circumstances, which are dire. These Climara patches have made so much difference now with less dryness in the ladies area, as well as feeling more calm and relaxed, but I did not realise how effective they were until I stopped using them for a week, all the previous symptoms came back with a vengeance. Iâ??ll be interested in hearing from anybody who uses these patches continuously rather than just for three weeks and then a break for a week, which is what I have been doing, meaning is it safe to use them all the way through because the break is driving me barmy. Thank you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CDM | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/23/2016
Condition: Low Estrogen After Operation to Remove Ovaries
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used for 15 years. Works great! For those that have problems keeping it on try washing that area with a non oil soap like ivory and make sure to dry area before applying. I found this has helped greatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brittany | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2015
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an athletic person who sweats regularly and takes hottubs and baths regularly. I can only keep this patch on for 3-5 days and it comes right off which is frustrating. Otherwise, it's helped many of my symptoms except my sleep quality is not good and I am a little irritable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More