Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I get frequent upper respiratory infections and when my coughing interupts my sleep this is the only medicine that is effective at stopping the cough and allows me to rest. It starts working in like 15 minutes and allows for a cough-free night. I would suggest taking it during the day for the first time so you know how you will react to it. You MUST take it with at least one full glass of water or...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Have sinusitis and bronchitis...Tessalon works fairly well for about 4 hrs except it does nothing for my drippy nose and mucous in my throat. After 4 hours (when I take at night) the effectiveness is gone, and I am still wide awake. I wish it would make me drowsy, but it does not! I get to sleep around 3 a.m. I won't be taking it again.

Shared reviews and ratings

Feeling better | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2024
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have sinusitis induced cough that settled into my bronchial tubes within days. Been coughing, wheezing and shortness of breath by the end of the second week. Hospitalized the past 3 days. Breathing treatments continue at home and I take this medication 3 times a day. Without it, I cough terribly and can’t rest. Thank God they gave this to me and since chronic bronchitis is common for me, I am asking my Dr why this hasn’t been given to me before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MidwestMama | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for the first time for pneumonia. This does not work as well as a codeine cough syrup. It honestly did very little for my cough until I maxed the dose at 200mg and that's just so much when combined with all the other OTC meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
It's Alright | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been prescribed this to handle a cough I was managing for about a month. Only given a week's supply to try out. When it kicks it, it does the job well enough but doesn't prevent the cough completely. My big issue is that these things don't seem to last for very long! Feels like it only works for 3 hours for me! Will definitely be moving onto something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy S. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had this several times for pneumonia. I swear by it! They really help my cough and I have no other side effects. For me it's a miracle drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blah | 45-54 | Male | Patient
11/29/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worthless.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BL | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These really work for me. Stops coughing during the nite and I get a good nights sleep. It doesn’t work for everyone but does for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have covid and was prescribed this for a cough. I think it must have treated the cough well, because after suffering from it for 2 weeks, suddenly my cough was much better within an hour of taking it. However, having taken 3 doses now (yesterday afternoon, last night, and this morning), I can also say pretty confidently that it caused urgent diarrhea two out of three times I took it. After my afternoon and morning pills, approx 4 hours later after each, I had to suddenly go to the restroom. Probably the only reason it didn't happen over night was that I'd already pooed out everything right before taking the evening dose (though I did take it with half a granola bar, which was all I could handle after that). It didn't cause any nausea, but the discomfort (and inability to fully absorb liquids, which I need to get better!) made me decide to stop taking it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/2/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cough didn’t stop!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy R. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made no difference with my cough on several different occasions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drs always seem to prescribe this for cough management but I can’t understand why. They are useless. They don’t work! Use Mucinex over the counter as it actually does help control cough & has an expectorant to help loosen phlegm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for a lingering cough after the worst cold of my life. Not Covid but expected to last 3 weeks start to finish. I am on day 12. I am taking 200mg pearls 3x daily. I feel them begin working in about 15 min. I can't say that they make me sleepy, but if I lie down I fall asleep quickly and wake 2-4 hours later in the same exact position. I have been having trouble sleeping, so maybe this is catch up sleep, but it is welcome refreshing sleep. It does suppress my cough and I can roll over and sleep more hours. But once I sit up, the drainage and coughing resume for awhile. I took these many times over the years and thought they were worthless. Perhaps it's because I've aged (69 now) or because I'm retired and don't have to run around for others. But they are just what I need this time. Strange that Medicare won't cover them. $150 @ Walgreens for a 10 day supply. But Good Rx brought the price down to $39. Good medication for me, for this virus.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
4/5/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has done absolutely nothing to suppress my cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jmq0317 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pointless drug. I have a sinusitis-induced cough, and they prescribed this to me. Has literally 0 impact on the cough. From a google search, it seems like this is commonly known to be ineffective for coughs so I have no idea why they're still prescribing this to people. Would give it 0 stars if I could.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2023
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got prescribed these as a ‘prescription strength cough suppressant’ and it has done absolutely nothing for cough. My OTC meds were working much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coughing Cough | 45-54 | Female | Patient
12/28/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been coughing for 3 weeks from RSV and now diagnosed with pneumonia so my doc gave me these worthless placebo pearls.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Megs | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used these for a dry cough I’ve been dealing with. They absolutely helped with the horrible hacking and I finally have some relief. These worked wonders for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LibKat | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get prolonged coughing fits whenever I get a cold. This medicine calms things down almost immediately and any coughing I do tends to be productive in clearing my lungs and throat. It works much better for me than codeine cough syrup. From many of the reviews, it seems that if it works it REALLY works or it is a bust and is no help. Note that this medication only helps with coughing, not other cold symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for several days and have not noticed any improvement in my cough. Unfortunately it just doesn't work for me like it does for some.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bdz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does absolutely nothing for me except cost money. Dr won't rx anything else. I'll just drink liquor, it works a little! I've taken these on at least 3 different prescriptions over the years. They do not work and I'm not buying them again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gloria | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2022
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It prescribed 11/10/22 for covid cough, and took it last night for the first time. It helped quite a bit for several hours. Will try it again tonight. The best cough suppressant I've ever used was hydrocodone syrup when I had whooping cough years ago, and coughed my brains out for 4 months before I was correctly diagnosed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More