Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

49 People found this comment helpful

I, too, use Dramamine for insomnia. Having narcolepsy, your circadian rhythm makes it difficult to find the right medication to keep you asleep through the night and have you wake up 8 hrs later without feeling hungover (or cuddling a cheese log or worse - thank you, Ambien). Dramamine seems to be the only medication that works consistently. I take two of the generics I get from Walmart for nex...

Most voted negative review

23 People found this comment helpful

young people are using this drug to get high and halucinate

Shared reviews and ratings

K | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2023
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great but u better take it when ur supposed to or you’ll get sick in rough seas like I did. Ginger candy was the only thing that brought me out of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken dramamine for 20 years for a sleep. At first it was just 1 pill an hour before I went to bed. 8 years later I had to bump it to 2 pills and take it 2 hours before I go to bed. Occasionally 2 isn't getting it done and I have to add an extra dramamine or Tylenol for it be effective till I get my sleep pattern reset. I am so thankful for an inexpensive and effective way to rest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
W1lma | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2022
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I rely on the less drowsy formula of Dramamine. Directions for use are eediculoua. The trick is to have it in your system at least 6 hours before theorion sickness causing activity; so I take it at least 6 hours before a flight. Since it's effective for 24 hours I figure in at least 3 hours after my flight lands, and take it 24 hours before that. So if there is a delay in the flight I'm covered and since I take it so early I feel level and not ruining my trip by waiting for the 24 hours to wear off. Ex: Boston to LA. 6 hr flight. Depart 9 am. Arrive 3 pm BOSTON TIME. + 4 = 7 pm BOSTON TIME (go with your body time not the time change). So I take it at 7 pm THE DAY BEFORE. The less drowsy formula allows me to wake up for flights and think straight. Works great for me. Only had to take 1 to go from Boston to Alaska! 12 hr trip. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lawrence Burger | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only take as an absolute last resort as the side effects are not worth it. I Took it on a boat on the Thames May 2023. Easy to chew and swallow like having a candy. But completely knocked me out all of the next day. I’m 6 foot 2 male normally with loads of energy. Frankly I’d rather have puked and not had a wasted day the next day. And I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have puked anyway. Regretting taking it. Won’t do it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julia | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been dealing with intermittent nausea for 6 weeks now, so when it comes I take a dramamine and it knocks me out cold within 30-45 minutes! I don’t know if it’s just making me sleep before I can throw up or it’s actually working but I haven’t thrown up lol! It does however make me sleep for 11-12 hours after. It’s a struggle having to take it at 10pm and then wake up for school at 6am. I’m exhausted the following day. But I’ll take exhaustion over nausea! Lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bree | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2022
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve never taken Dramamine before but I’ve been having gallbladder issues so I try to take it for my nausea at night the first day at worked and I felt sedated and drowsy all day the second day as I was coming off of it I took another half of one so I wouldn’t feel as sedated and that night I don’t know if it was because I tried to eat some raisin bran and I had another gallbladder attack but I think it was the Dramamine and it made me feel terrible I was so sick and nauseated I was so dizzy I was so anxious this morning I woken up with more nausea and ear ringing for the first time in my life it’s gone away now but it was there for a while. I’m never taking this drug againRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/5/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s really effective and helps me manage my nausea. It does make me really drowsy and have a really large appetite but i recommend if you are vomiting or feeling nauseous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Disease with Hearing Loss, Ringing in the Ears & Dizziness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medicine that has been effective for my migraines with vertigo/nausea/vomiting. I have tried many over the years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2019
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dramamine has always knocked me out like a horse tranquilizer and never helped with my motion sickness when I was a kid. I tried taking a small amount as an adult to prepare for a trip. I took it two days before I went anywhere and was motion sick just walking around. Terrible experience, so glad I didn't take it on my trip.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LG | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2016
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took it to enjoy a theme park at the suggestion of my father a few years back...the spinning cups, for the first time in over a decade, didn't make me feel like a first time fighter jet pilot no matter how fast it spun. No spinning sensation. No nausea. Worked like a charm. I'd recommend this for people trying out the new Virtual Reality stuff too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2014
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Nausea and Vomiting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GettinIggyWithIt | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I, too, use Dramamine for insomnia. Having narcolepsy, your circadian rhythm makes it difficult to find the right medication to keep you asleep through the night and have you wake up 8 hrs later without feeling hungover (or cuddling a cheese log or worse - thank you, Ambien). Dramamine seems to be the only medication that works consistently. I take two of the generics I get from Walmart for next-to-nothing, and bam, I'm out until morning. I wake up 1-5 minutes before my alarm goes off; ready to face the world. It's comforting to find that others are taking it for the same. A neurologist informed me that most OTC sleep meds are just antihistamines, so I tried every one on the list. This one was the winner. Now, I'm not sure about any long-term side-effects it may cause; as I haven't seen it indicated for insomnia, but I am pretty positive that any side-effects it may have aren't nearly as bad as chronic insomnia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LMinflaol.com | 65-74 | Female | Patient
3/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i take it nightly with 1 tylenol pm for sleep. i am an ms patient and need my sleep. i am afraid i am coin the wrong thing. is this unsafe?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2013
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2013
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get motion sickness almost every time I'm in a moving vehicle. Dramamine definitely relieves the symptoms quickly, but it simultaneously knocks me out. When I take it, I'm tired the entire day and sometimes the next day as well. Not just regular tired-- EXHAUSTED. I find myself having slow reaction times, slurring my words, and being unable to think clearly, stand for long periods of time, and keep myself awake. However, my symptoms of motion sickness are so bad that it's worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiger Lily | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/17/2012
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

don't know what causes my vertigo, I am on BP meds for 12 years and I have had this ever since. dizziness if weather changes, hits me at night when I am sleeping only to wake up to the room spinning, very hard to deal with once it happens, I somehow came across dramamine and I take it 1 hour before going to bed and It works great, but if I don't take it, I take the risk of having dizziness/vertigo again so for maintanance I take it every day, sometimes I half the pill and it still works great. The doc did not put me on this I just chose to do it myself, but on my next doc visit I will tell him about it and see what he thinks. I was worried about side effects but I don't really have any at all, so I am happy with that. don't live in fear with vertigo or dizziness if I have to take this for the rest of my life then I will cause it is not fun at all living with vertigo, and can reek havic on your nervous system. Good luck with dramamine, it works for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jack | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/6/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

young people are using this drug to get high and halucinate

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
p | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2012
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time user dont know if it works or not

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
STAR | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oOCielOo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/16/2012
Condition: Feel Like Throwing Up
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication, also known as Gravol, works VERY well. It makes you drowsy though and you wake up or turn out with dry mouth. Only major issue is that it can be easily dependable/addictive, varying on the person.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More