Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

143 People found this comment helpful

I have been a "highly funtioning" depressed person for many years: life of the party, witty, intelligent, charming, intelligent conversationalist, highly successful at the top of the food chain in my field, ...until I got home. Work was an escape from myself for me. If I had no weekend functions to attend I would be catatonic, only getting out of bed to use the bathroom. I had always felt like a...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2024
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started Sertraline after having the worst year of my life and feelings like I couldn't keep going the way I was, anxious, sad and feeling hopeless. The first two weeks were so bad, I didn't eat anything except 2 dry crackers per day, lost alot of weight. I switched to taking it at night and therefore began to sleep through some of the sickness. After 2 weeks everything started to improve. No more sickness. I finally started to feel really good again and more confident in my work and home life. I was having difficulty sleeping so once the sickness wore off I switched back to taking it in the morning. I sleep like a baby now and when something bad happens I just take a breath and go at any difficulties with a clear mind and with ease. I am taking 50mg once per day. It has saved my life. You have to fight through the first 2 weeks and then you will be a new person. Stick with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GameOverAus | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a nervous breakdown along with diagnosed with pre-hypertension and pre-diabetes. I was near suicidal at one point, prescribed the Sertraline along with medications for the diabetes/hypertension and initially it seemed to help. But the negative side effects kicked in within a month and I was getting unsure of myself and afraid to do anything for fear it would set off a reaction. Worst side effects Couldn't reach a sexual climax, shuddering in my whole body, nausea Couldn't concentrate, constantly shaking, short breathless. Soon as I stop taking it the side effects lessened considerably Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2024
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Sertraline for a year. My life has changed for the better. My anxiety is much more manageable and I feel that this medication has just taken a bit of edge off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/15/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The use of this drug has now destroyed my life as now living with PSSD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/8/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got suicidal first month never felt worse. Then felt amazing nothing bothered me I was happy and calm for first time Lost weight. Then gained 15 kilos uncontrollable appetite alllll day developed binge eating Double edged sword Such a shame. I have to stop it I cannot control the impulse to eat gaining 2kg a week I can’t

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
douglas ryant | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/5/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

replaced seroxat about 6 years ago 2 years ago doctor at review suggested increase dose from 50 to 100i the last year or so i have had issues with insomnia episodes of cognition ie memory not knowing where i am like being elsewhere and some other time intrusive thoughts mood swings ( what i was first prescribed medicatio for a health proffesional i know thinks ive been on them for rather too long gp tells me no asociation and should conti ue saying i wouldnt give up insulin if i was diabetic !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/20/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for about 8 weeks and initially it helped and does but it caused me to have a angle closure glaucoma. Woke up one morning with my left eye in bad pain and was real red. Lasted about four days! So I read the medications guide to this drug as I had just picked up another prescription and it clearly states that antidepressant medications including sertraline tablets may cause certain type of eye problems. So, I stopped taking it and my eye got better. I felt like it was helping my depression but it caused me a issue where I could not take it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dani | 35-44 | Female | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking sertraline 7 weeks ago.started on 25mg then went up to 50mg. I was very emotional to begin with, but it did subside.My appetite has increase and I have put weight on, but apart from that everything else is fine. I sleep well and don't feel as low. I also find it better to take it the morning. I would recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Sertraline in June 2023. I have taken antidepressants for many years. I switched to Sertraline because Citalopram didn't seem to be working. By mid-August I had almost constant nausea, hot and cold flashes. I had x-rays, CT scans, EGD scopen ultrasound HIDA (gallbladder function scan. . All came back normal. I was given anti-nausea drug that made my symtoms worse. I was barely functioning and could barely eat. I revisited what had changed in the last 3 months and Sertraline was the only change. With my Dr's okay I stopped the Sertraline. After 5 days, nausea lessened. After 2 weeks I was back to normal. I will never take it again. As a sidenote, my Dr. ordered a generic test that noted Sertraline is contraindicated for my biological markers.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAC C | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/27/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking setraline 10 weeks ago for severe anxiety and depression. Initially, I had horrific side affects and could not function for the first 7 weeks. Although I was told 2-3 weeks to get used to it, I ended up in A and E and numerous visits to the doctor. Happily, I can now say after the 7th week, I started to see a huge difference in myself. Slowly but surely I am almost me again. It has been a miracle as I had no hope whatsoever and thought I was going crazy. Hang on in there it will be worth it. I just hope that it stays this way now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gogojuice | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/17/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started sertraline a couple years ago after a particularly stressful time in my life, bought a house that needed a huge amount of work, started having panic attacks etc anxiety was out of control. Started sertraline and had stomach upset, lots of bubbling, loose bowels. Always found taking a tablet with a big meal helped. Quite mild effects compared to others. I also notice weight loss when I take sertraline. The side effects were jaw clenching, feeling a bit numb, crazy vivid dreams, lots of unpleasant dreams. Sertraline has definitely helped me cope with stress much better, I’m not overwhelmed anymore. I’m definitely happier for it. Would recommend.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tay Will | 25-34 | Other | Patient
9/15/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I identify as gender-fluid and am a person of color. I have severe depression, anxiety, ptsd, DID, and ADHD. Sertraline has definitely been effective for me in balancing out my moods. I was taking the highest dose for about two years along with Buspirone. I stopped for awhile and went down hill, emotionally. I am now getting back onto a smaller dose of sertraline 50mg daily, which I know is a good start. The only negative is I’ve dealt with constipation a lot throughout my life, however, I did not have worrisome gastrointestinal issues or anal fissures until recently; which I feel was brought on due to my age and the medication. My daughter, however, also started on sertraline and now also has an anal fissure that won’t heal and stomach issues. She is 12 years old. I think that although sertraline does have positive effects, if you are of color, I would be careful as this medication can speed up gastrointestinal issues and or inflammation in the anus and stomach area. Thank you for reading.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gene | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/8/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These meds have made me a better person overall, however i have gained a lot of weight and sometimes completely zone out for no real reason. They make me feel like im about to vomit every 5 minutes and i have had cases of diahorrea. Not pleasant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tj160 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/6/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 100mg for years, I've piled on loads of weight. I have no motivation to do anything. I struggle to sleep at night, I cant seem to switch off. I just feel like I have no emotional feelings.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wendy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible experience with this medication. I was so sick instantly. A huge swing in depression, and severe muscle weakness. Would never try this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rina | 25-34 | Female | Patient
8/18/2023
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 33y/o female. Was diagnosed w Multiple Sclerosis 3 years ago. I'm so depressed and anxious, I often daydream about suicide. I usually struggle to get a good sleep because of racing thoughts. This is the end of my first week on 25mg sertraline and so far so good. Haven't noticed much of a change throughout the day, when I take before bed it takes 30mins and I feel relaxed and sleepy which I LOVE. Look forward to taking my pill and going to sleep at night, I really hope this symptom doesn't go away because without sleep I feel like I am going insane and the depressive thoughts are heightened. I have noticed the burning in my throat after taking so I will be sure to drink more water tonight. Wish time would tick faster so I can swallow this pill tonight. I sleep right through the night until my alarm goes off which is life changing for me. Apart from the lovely feeling of sleepiness I have no other symptoms. I think I should have been on sertraline 3 years ago when I had the devastating diagnosis which resulted in me grieving for my health. I am hoping for nothing but the best as I deserve to be happy as much as anyone else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JB101 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/11/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had depression since I was 15. I’m now 32. I’m going on almost a year of taking sertraline and it is without a doubt the best thing I have ever done in my life. I for so long thought I would grow out of depression and was almost ashamed to have to ask for medicine. But one of my best friends finally relaxed me enough to ask for help. I started with 25 mg and I’m now at 50 mg a day. I typically take it first thing in the morning. Don’t every feel ashamed to take medicine. I wouldn’t be alive without sertraline. I’m so grateful and thankful every day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/11/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me worse rather then better I just was constantly sick head wouldn't stop over thinking palpations

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bigmomma | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I perhaps haven't given this chance to work as I've only been on these for two weeks, and my doctor did say the first week could actually make my anxiety worse. So I was told to take half a 50mg tablet for the first week. Well dear God the first week I was so ill, I felt sick. I feel like I'm not on the planet and so tired. So I took it at night because of driving. Then i didn't sleep too well and got headaches. The second week I still felt sick and hadn't eaten much apart from dry crackers but then had diarrhea. I felt very shaky and had to lie down alot. I also feel very depressed. I did phone my doctor because the thought I keep taking these tablets and feeling so awful which was impacting on my daily life just wasn't an option. I was told it can take 2 weeks plus for your body to get use to it, but I'm so tired of feeling lousy, that I've gone back to half a tablet. I might change to a different brand and see how they work. I understand that this drug works wonders for some people but I think I was unlucky and i got every side effect that you can get with this drug. I'm hoping that I will feel better soon because this anxiety is disabling me to live my life .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taz | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m alive today because I take sertraline simple.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More