Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

I use Xylitol as a substitute for sugar in baking and coffee. I also buy the dental gum which is very nice. Tastes just like sugar, so it's a great substitute when baking(No-one will know the difference!). I have been using it for about 2 1/2 - 3 years now, and I've been overall very satisfied. It's great for those who don't want sugar in their diet, but love the sweetness of it. The texture ...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

IT ATE my gums!! Let large abscessed area on one side and red raw eaten up area on the other side. Something nasty is in them to eat my gums. This wasn't listed as a possible side effect yet I see others having issues as well. I just read here about several people developing a cough. I have that too! Didn't think it could be from the melts. Throat is sore as well on one side. Never again.

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/24/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I chewed gum with xylitol in it. One night it caused heart palpitations so bad that I had to go to the E.R. I cannot xylitol/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moonhippie_62 | Age: 55-64 |
2/9/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought a toothpaste with this as the number one ingredient. As I was brushing, I felt my mouth burning. I stopped and rinsed my mouth 4 or 5 times. My entire mouth feels raw on the inside, but my tongue has ridges and looks like a lizard or an alien. Freaky. Put a warning label on this stuff!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate A | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/22/2024
Condition: Dry mouth
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dry mouth discs work great, however I've had extremely itchy skin ever since I started using the discs overnight. In the morning my entire body itches. I haven't changed detergent, in fact I use clear and clean soaps. No other changes to my diet or medications. Has anyone else experienced this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/12/2023
Condition: Dry mouth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just like other people here my gums started deteriorating when I put the tablets. In two days I developed swelling in those areas and it seems like the gum wants to start breaking off now. My gums are receding which is being dealt with but I don't have any signs of periodontal disease. It's no doubt the result of this product. Xylitol is 100% safe to use. It's the other products that they mix in there that they're probably not displaying on the box that are hurting you. The medical industry has been caught many times doing illegal things and it's more profitable to take a minor financial penalty than to pull the product. I would sue but I know it would go nowhere.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
10/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for it's intended purpose. (It should be noted it is highly toxic to dogs)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JulieA | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started consuming 6-8 grams of xylitol a day for my dental health. I was using mints and gum and also mouthwash with xylitol. It really does help dental health. However, I started having symptoms which it took me a while to realize it was only AFTER consuming the mints- dizziness, headaches, blurred vision and fatigue. I went to the doctor because I didn't know what was wrong. I had also lost 12 pounds without trying at all!!! It took some digging to find, but there are cases of xylitol and sorbitol causing massive unintentional weight loss in some people. Those studies suggest the weight loss is from diarrhea, but I never had diarrhea with xylitol, just lots of gas. Use extreme caution if consuming lots of xylitol. I don't think all the possible symptoms are listed here. I had to stop usage because even though I certainly didn't mind losing some weight, the dizziness, and blurred vision is quite distressing. I'm bummed I can't use it anymore because my teeth never felt cleaner or smoother than when using the xylitol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First day I used the Xylitol gum I had around 5 pieces which was the recommended daily amount. Including 2 or 3 pieces in the evening. That night I went to bed and had really bad heart palpitations. I can't say for definite that Xylitol caused it but it was very noticeable and the only difference to my day and diet was the use of Xylitol. I have read the reviews on here and two others have also said it caused heart palpitations. I don't think I can risk using the gum or mints anymore. Too risky.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carla B | Age: 55-64 |
4/28/2023
Condition: Dry mouth
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was so excited to try the gum and the melting mints. I used them one night while at work. I could talk with out feeling like lizard mouth. The next day my tongue felt like it was burnt. Toothpaste felt like a hot pepper on my tongue and almost brought me to my knees. This feeling has continued. Anything that bubbles like soda, beer, seltzer water is painful to drink. ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brreese24 | Age: 55-64 |
10/16/2022
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xylitol has been very beneficial in clearing up sinusitis and nose and throat bacteria

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lolo | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xylitol causes me to have diarrhea. I have even stopped using toothpaste with xylitol. No more diarrhea after 4 years. Also no more mouth sores .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xylitol melts | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/29/2022
Condition: Dry mouth
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used on my gums. Had take off my gums getting irritate took it off my gums bleeding.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xylitol has been studied for use against constipation, so you need to keep this in mind when you use it. It draws moisture into the colon. I like it in my tea, but I don't require my tea to be super sweet. I've since switched to stevia, which tastes better to me (and I can grow my own stevia, so that's a plus). Xylitol has a pleasant flavor similar to but not identical to sugar. It is less sweet. It was attractive to me as it reportedly helps prevent caries. I didn't use it long enough to tell, and I felt a bit nervous about it as I have only very rarely have constipation. My daughter used xylitol gum when she had braces as her ortho wanted her to chew gum to help an alignment problem. No mouth sores, but clearly some have a sensitivity to it. It worked on her alignment issues, btw--very quickly. She had an over or underbite. I don't remember; it was a long time ago. And yes... it is reported to be dangerous to dogs, so keep it well away from your furbabies.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
12/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

would not recommend anything with zylitol, my personnel opinion it's dangerous to your health. I was chewing gum with xylitol as a sweetener as developed very bad heart murmurs and palpitations..developed a sinus problem, swollen lips..nasty chemical product that is very sweet.!!..stopped chewing the gum, things are going back to normal in my body..I had very rapid heart beat because of this xylitol, and now it has decreased...a chemical product, stay away for your health..do your research.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jb |
12/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dogs aren't the only pet that Xylitol is toxic to. You should update your information.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GB | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE add DANGER TO DOGS to your description. Even the FDA recognizes this extreme toxicity--hypoglycemic seizures in dogs who ingest even small amounts!. Our family has happily used Spry gum for years, with no problems. But we stopped when we got a dog, to make sure we didn't accidentally poison her if she found some within reach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Artist cb | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/9/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began using xylitol due to wanting a sugar substitute that tasted a lot like sugar, & had no after taste, & had other healthy benefits. I did read about xylitol before using it. I paid attention to the part that a person should start off slowly using it. Example, to use one tsp in your coffee at first, then bit by bit introducing xylitol into one’s diet. I did not have any problems with using it to sweeten my ice tea, coffee or using it in a berry pie to replace all sugar. My sister on the other hand is much more gut sensitive and had to take baby steps in introducing her system to xylitol or she would have a lot of time in the bathroom. All in all xylitol is awesome, and I recommend your using it! Btw, it doesn’t take as much xylitol to sweeten my tea as sugar, and it doesn’t spike your blood sugar levels! Plus, after a few days I didn’t seem to crave sweet things as much! Since using it my rhinitis is not as often or as intense, & if I need to I take a wild oregano pill & bam, no problem with my allergies or sinus! I love xylitol, and grateful to understand how to use it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/5/2021
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dropped my blood sugar levels!!!! Used three days!!! Weeks of seeing a endocrinologist smh!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over |
1/4/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter told me about Xylitol Birch sugar substitute for Keto type diet. I just use it for hot coffee and cream and hot tea. It is so good to the taste and much like sugar by the teaspoon. Readily available at Walmart type stores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Island Mike | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/9/2019
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caution, if you have a sensitivity to artificial sweeteners like I do, stay away from this substance. I was violently sick for two days and continue to get nauseous every time I eat something sweet...now over a week since using a low dose to treat a sinus blockage. My instincts tell me this is a dangerous substance with long lasting side effects for those who are sensitive to artificial sweeteners.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Winky | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/20/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lozenges melt overnight stopping dry mouth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More