Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

119 People found this comment helpful

I have taken frequently taken kava since the mid-1990s. I also get semi-annual physicals that include liver function tests. Every test has shown excellent numbers for liver health. As other reviewers have written, kava root is safe. The harm can come from unscrupulous merchants who cut costs by including stems and roots, which can cause liver damage. I purchase organic kava from a Hawaiian company...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I was taking 40 mg of Prozac daily and was weaned off at the recommendation of my psychiatrist. I would sometimes still battle with panic attacks and anxiety so I took kava without seeking medical advice. Even though it helped my anxiety I experienced HEAVY sleepiness which affected my work and moderate to sometimes severe stomach pains in just a short amount of time. This is very unusual for me I...

Shared reviews and ratings

adambrandAU | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/5/2023
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still fairly new to Kava (weeks) ... bought noble Fijian powder - which need to mix in a shaker bottle. IMO ... feel needs to be more regulated (to people 18+) ... but guess young kids haven't stumbled upon it yet. Even using less than recommended amount, surprised by its effects ... but once reach peak concentration levels, it seems to taper off very quickly. Initially bought Kava as a substitute for alcohol + to help cut down on weekly alcohol use. Prior, had been using alcohol as a way of switching off my mind + helping me sleep. Bonus == get daily alcohol breath testing at start of each work shift ... now no longer need to worry about blowing over.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RyanHoff | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kava is amazing and has been enjoyed by pacific islander communities for centuries. The notion that kava causes liver damage is completely false and is based off of a scare from the early 2000s which has been debunked by the World Health Organization. Kava is safe, and I enjoy it and it's been a fantastic alternative to alcohol. Kava will continue to be safe so long as kava farmers and producers serve the kava root in its traditional format, which should be used in preparation of the historic kava beverage.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Perry | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/10/2023
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been experiencing severe menopause 27/7 for the last 9 years. Was recommended by doctor to try tablets from chemist ( was told that i would need to take them for up to four months before i would know if they worked or not which they didnt, four months worth costing $320.00 ). Found kava on the net (pure fijian kava root powder) 500gm bag for $50 dollars) bought it and made it up as instructed (2 tablespoons to 200ml of water) my sweats stopped within 15 min. It took me a few days until i figured out how much it was that worked well for me. One glass worth made me far too sleepy so i had less and less until i found the perfect amount ( 10ml in the morning and 10ml in the evening). I also no longer crave sugary snacks or junk food just lots of fruit and vegies and am losing the weight gain that menopause caused me plus the anxiety and mood swings too. I read that kava may cause liver damage by depleting the glutathione in the liver so to make sure it doesnt i simply eat plenty of either broccoli, garlic, shallots, asparagus, almonds and coconut water as it will supply the glutathione in my liver to avoid there being any possible complications. To say it has changed my life dramatically would be huge understatement, and also knowing its a natural alternative and not a man made drug is awesome.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TillyLee | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/20/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kava is a wonderful herb. Of course, with anything we ingest it needs to be used as directed and in moderation, but its benefits can be amazing. For some people it is a much healthier and non-addictive alternative to alcohol, benzos, sleep meds, opiates. It also has a reverse toleranxe meaning you don't have to keep increasing your dose over time. This herb is only dangerous if taken irresponsibly just like any over the counter medications or alcohol. There are some people whose liver cannot metabolize it, so it's always best to keep an eye on liver function while trying it. Do your research and find a good vendor before trying, and take as directed. There are also different types. Some are energizing for day time and some are more sedating. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kava man | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/18/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drank it every day for a month and seemed to have a few symptoms. By the final week of having 1 to 2 glasses a day at a local kava bar, I began to experience Lethargy, lack of energy, loss of wait, bloating, pain in stomach and in areas around stomach. Scaley dry skin, blurred vision and a general unhealthy feeling. Started to feel better 3 days after drinking my last cup. I feel so important to share this experience

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/13/2023
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Kava when I can't sleep due to anxiety or to arthritic pains, or both. It relaxes me and minimizes arthritic pains. It doesn't always help me fall back to sleep if I am very anxious about something, but it at least noticeably reduces the panicked thinking and allows for calm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amon | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/5/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst herbal. Making you drowsiness and is not suitable for young people. They can get into a car accident. This herb should be banned. I made my son go to the emergency room.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kava Figian by wakacon | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/30/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the day of my first using it but I can tell that it is going to help me out tremendously. In the reason for taking this treatment came up I put in benzodiazepine withdrawal but really it's just regular opiate withdrawal and it seems to still help a lot so I hope I helped anybody who's going through that miserable time in their life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ontnurse | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/15/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe anxiety and have tried many many meds including benzos.I find benzos are short acting and very difficult to obtain from your Dr. I found this online.Kava has been wonderful for me.I hope they do not ban it. I feel calm and happie than I have been in months.I truly did not think this would work but I was pleasantly surprised.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alienmeatsack | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found Kava looking for something to help me feel more normal while I tapered off benzos. I'd tried almost everything until I found Kava. Preparing it is a pain unless you use instant, pills, etc. But I think its worth it. If you are having an extreme anxiety issue or benzo withdrawal, Kava will give you some releif. However, keep in mind that it works with some of the same receptors that the benzos you are trying to get off of does. So it can prolong withdrawal. You decide quality of life over a little extra time tapering. I also recommend the Aluball method for those who want to make a cup of Kava but dont want to spend 10-20 minutes massaging it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teluwot | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found a bottle of Kava Kava tincture in a Health shop about 15 year ago, before it was banned. I found it incredibly effective for anxiety. Everything panned out smooth as velvet. A Lady I told about it had just lost her Father and she found it v helpful too. Was so sorry we coldn't get it again. Tons better than prescription drugs and their often horrible effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mesh | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They should ban this kava for younger people driving and getting into accidents dangerous for their life. It is not good herbal. I took my son to an emergency. He had a rapid heartbeat. Be aware of this phony, fake herbal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
9/29/2022
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On those nights when I have a difficult time relaxing enough to sleep I put a drop or two in a cup of chamomile tea and the two let me fall asleep quickly with no after effects. Excellent stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AliDee | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diluting an alcohol-free kava kava DRIED ROOT extract tincture in a beverage. I feel safe taking it, as I believe the webMD side effects are listings for the entire plant, which parts have ill side effects, but not specifically for the dried roots- which I believe are in fact safe. I found this to be fast acting, effective, calming, and relatively long lasting. I drink 20-30 drops in tea a couple times a day and have been doing so for about a week and a half. I have experienced NO ill side effects, and have noticed improvement in mood and stress-levels, and the speed of my thoughts slows down. I am also on other psychiatric medications, and have experienced NO interactions. This doesn't provide complete and ultimate relief for me, as I have very severe symptoms, however it is a good aid and helps to an extent, and when I get upset, I have a cup of tea with the extract. Again, the dried roots I have read are not poisonous to your liver, as the rest of the plant is, and in years past companies were making it wrong, find a reputable company that makes it the proper way and I believe it is safe for daily use for long periods of time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KavaNut | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A safe alternative to alcohol and benzodiazepines. It works the same way as them on GABA A Receptors. The difference is that there are no side effects or any addictive properties. Works great for anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
7/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kava does wonders for me but theres some unpleasent side effects that come along with it.. ive been taking choice brand kava extract and it works very well, but it makes me really tired so i take it at night. It also makes it really hard to urinate which is the most annoying side effect..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 |
7/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible vendor!!! KAVATIME DONT BUY HERE I do love kava and have tried many vendors. It works really well for my anxiety. just be careful some vendors like KAVATIME just want to charge you expensive express shipment and they cannot fulfill what is promised. They fail to mention disclaimers of shipping. You pay for express shipping and all you get is excuses of why it has not been sent out yet after days. They dont list information were customers will see it and falsely advertise shipping, and steal money from us customers. Unprofessional. They argue back. I have to speak up and fight for my refund. How many customers have been tricked by these people. BECAREFUL!! vendor even states "We are not responsible if information made available on this site is not accurate, complete or current" on their policy page. You are charged so much money with terrible customer service and they take no responsinility and make it hard to get money back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unclejerryskid | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

having anxiety fot all my life-68years and on different meds benzos for last 30 years.stopped meds in Jan 2019 on to kava perfect results no anxiety or the sleepy side effects not to mention withdrawals from xanax,kava kava works like i had hoped benzos would try the kava it works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOW KAVA KAVA | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bad anxiety an I also drink. After doing some research I found kava kava I got 750mg then 250mg 2 different brands... Don't waste your time it didn't help anything I felt nothing good bad it's a sham :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grandad | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kava has been helpful in allowing me to relax and sleep longer. However, it sometimes gives me disturbing, realistic, horrifying nightmares. I avoid alcohol when using it as it is supposedly hard on the liver when combined with the devil's drink. Blood tests reveal my TSH is out of range when I've been using it. Not sure if it's the Kava though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More