Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

63 People found this comment helpful

Saffron has worked wonders for my husband's severe depression! I use "The Gathering of Saffron" from Spain - Select Grade. I steep about 150 mg overnight in hot water. My husband drinks it every morning. He has been using it everyday for about 8 years. He has suffered from depression for over 50 years. During that time psychiatrist have prescribed many pills. None worked very well and the side ...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

Did not work.

Shared reviews and ratings

Olivia Fox | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/19/2024
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I broke into rashes after my first (15mg) dose and woke up with a horrible headache and rash again. Disappointing. Wont take again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M Sayed | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/15/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been working with Saffron for over 5 years. It is very important for Saffron to work- is to have freshly harvested whole saffron. If you don't get the right amount or the right Saffron- it may not be effective or it might increase anxiety. Divine Healing Saffron is the only brand that has Saffron Mood Booster which is fresh and very high quality.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/19/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not for folks with bipolar. Worked great for curbing my appetite. Caused me to start getting anxious irritable with yelling spouts at my family. They noticed a manic phase coming on. Stopped it. Also started getting migraines and brain fog.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Azar | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/3/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Saffronice products for four years now, and I am extremely satisfied with the results. They provide various saffron supplements, including Nano extract, which I believe is the first of its kind in the world, as well as liquid concentrate. To alleviate my depression, I take two capsules of their supplements, and it has proven to be highly effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Codytriguy | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/10/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've struggled with compulsive binge eating my entire life. I purchased saffron extract pills as a under suppressant. I wasn't expecting the saffron extract to help with my binge eating issues. Because nothing has ever really helped with my binging. Within a day and a half of using saffron my cravings, obsessing about my binge food, and desire to binge had gone away entirely. I'm entirely cured of all the background nice in my head and thoughts. For the first time in my life I feel like a normal person. I'm not walking around obsessing over my drug of choice. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
9/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began using this three days ago initially as a craving suppressant and antioxidant. It helps a little bit with cravings. I am less attracted to the thought of sugar and greasy crap so far after I take these. But it's definitely not a miracle fix for appetite control. However, I didn't realize that it helped with mood.i have struggled with major anxiety since as far back as I can remember. And more recently I have been in a fairly bad depression. I have been using Zoloft for about 5ish months and it helped minimally. Five days ago I messaged my doctor asking for a dose increase because I have not been well with my thoughts and just very sad. I was messaged back the other day, a day after beginning Saffron, to go into ER because my doctor is in vacation. I did not go in because I didn't feel the need to since I was in a lighter mood. Since I've started taking it(3 days ago) I have felt like the emptiness that was pulling my innards apart has left me. I did look up side effects though, which is how I found out it helps mood, because it does make me quite sleepy. I wouldn't suggest driving right after taking this. ...or attending any important meetings ????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ether | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used a brand called Piping Rock. I’ve always been anxious and have bouts of depressed days for no reason. A friend gave me her bottle with a few left so I tried and felt good. I stopped for a bit because I thought it was altering who I am. Because I am aware what things sets me off or situations that makes me sad but was finding myself unfeeling and carefree. So I stopped. Then I find myself going back to a slump thus, I purchased a bottle again and have used it daily in the morning and then now every other day. I now appreciate that probably it’s best not to be so aware and caring of things so much. Life is easier and happier. I find my mood is more stable and it shuts my emotions when it’s getting fired up. I M not sure what it is. Its just I notice that when I start boiling because of getting upset, something shoots it off like saying, getting angry is boring and you’re too lazy for that. Then I start to get chilled again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gazza | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Saffron is amazing , life changing for my mental health

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josh | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great for depression for ME. 30 mg per day (2% Safranal) Takes a minimum of 2 weeks to feel difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read some studies on saffron being effective for depression in 15mg doses twice a day combined with curcumin. I decided to try because I am already on the average dose for my SSRIs and didn't want to go higher due to me being sensitive to side effects. I'm actually only taking 15mg saffron with curcumin 250mg once a day (so half dose) and I have seen a moderate bump in my motivation. Depression wise I'm not sure I feel better except in doing more I feel more accomplished. I feel moderately less anxious as well. An unintended side effect is that saffron is also known for being an appetite suppressant and I've definitely noticed that. I eat less at meals and I no longer snack at all throughout the day. I've lost a little weight (~3 lbs over 1 month) but I am not overweight so your mileage may vary.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Arman | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/22/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shirly | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/28/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MP | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/19/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. I'm not a zombie, I still feel emotions, I've lost weight and Saffron has allowed me to eliminate all pharmaceutical anti-depressants. I take about 8 strands every morning in my coffee. After about 3 years, I took a 4 week break from Saffron and had a relapse into depression. I now use daily and intend to for the rest of my life. I'm diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder. I haven't been under a psychologist care for several years now and have all my symptoms completely under control with a positive outlook and pretty active lifestyle. Saffron is amazing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honeygirl | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/1/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in one of the worst depression strings I have experienced in the last 22 years I have suffered from depression. I was barely hanging on and on a wait list to see a counselor. I started researching treatments I could access immediately. Within 2 weeks starting taking a combo of Saffron and Tumeric daily, my mood swings are smaller and more manageable. I still have tough days, but I no longer have the debilitating level of hopelessness that existed prior. I am going in 5 weeks of taking the combo and have no intention of stopping. Life hasenâ??t felt this manageable in years! Saffron (Nusapure 88.5mg) and Tumeric (NatureMade)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee5774 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/27/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking saffron (I use life extension brand only as others though cheaper aren't effective for me) for several years. At first it was to lose weight which I did but then I noticed I wasn't as irritable and was no longer suffering from the depression I had struggled with since I was a child. It helps increase libido and I also noticed a reduction in the number of migraines I was experiencing. I don't take it at night as it will keep me awake but morning use is perfect. I'm currently using 3 a day but in general I take 2. My husband has started using it and is also noticing many improvements.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bubbabytheseaaol.com | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/19/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Picked up after reading some research on...got the 88 mg (Only Natural brand)....wanted help with snacking, etc. and getting motivated to do my crafts....well in just a few days, I'd say it's working, will continue...and I'm a very senior lady!! but feel great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
3/10/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meryl | Age: 55-64 |
10/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought it initially because it claimed to lessen appetite and cravings. It helped craving lifted depression made me more energetic and less anxious. I bought in a capsule form. Took 88.25 milligrams per day. I felt less depressed after a couple of days and more motivated. So far after a week it is great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AllTexas | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using a saffron chew to aid in appetite control. I have found on days that my calorie intake is low, it helps me get through the day without to much hunger. No side effects detected. I use it a few times a week only, not on a daily basis. It is an aid, not a cure for no will power.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wheeling Judy | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering Major Depressive Disorder for which I was hospitalized. I was prescribed 20 mg of Prozac which I took for six weeks. Although my mood was stabilized, I was suffering from severe side effects from the drug including laziness, inability to orgasm, dizziness, weakness in my hands/grip, hands trembling, and inability to concentrate. I decided that the Prozac was not for me as living with the side effects was worse than living with the depression. I have always been critical of pharmaceutical drugs and prefer homeopathic treatments when available. A bit of research led me to Saffron. I got it from Piping Rock and took a capsule the evening it arrived in the mail. I went to bed and woke up feeling rested and HAPPY. Happiness has eluded me for years. That morning I did not take the Prozac and instead took the saffron. I have been taking it for three days, morning and evening, and my mood has continued to be stable. I have found joy in the little things in life and have even been silly with my husband and daughter (something that never interested me in recent years although I had always been a joyful person). I did suffer some withdrawal effects from coming off the Prozac, like severe headaches and dizziness, but they seem to be subsiding. I will continue to take the Saffron in place of the Prozac. I cannot comment on long-term use as I have only been using it for a few days. I am also considering adding Tumeric to my diet as well as getting the Saffron spice to add to foods from time to time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More