Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

482 People found this comment helpful

WebMD says not to take 5-HTP till more is known. However, the article is NOT dated! There was a scare about 5HTP in 1988 due to a contaminated batch from Japan, coming from the labs of Showa Denko caused 37 deaths and 1500 permanent disablements. Controversy at the time between big pharmas, the biotech and FDA resulted in a blanket ban of 5HTP. Pharmas would rather sell you the more expensive ...

Most voted negative review

30 People found this comment helpful

I have been diagnosed with depression and I didn't want to take any harsh medication, so I tried 5 HTP. Unfortunately I didn't look into it and when I would take it consecutively I would soon have random seizures, and I would black out. The seizures and black outs were not long, but I would have no idea it happened once I woke up. It was really scary. Please be very careful if you plan to take the...

Shared reviews and ratings

Buy Meds here |
2/23/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All signs of depression disappeared soon after I started 400mg 5-HTP DAILY (2x 200mg tabs each morning). Life is so much more enjoyable... sleep better as well :) whatsApp only: +1(775)-773-5306

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jasmin | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/13/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All signs of depression disappeared soon after I started 400mg 5-HTP DAILY (2x 200mg tabs each morning). Life is so much more enjoyable... sleep better as well :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GREAT PRODUCT | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/17/2023
Condition: Fibromyalgia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

77 yrs old w/ fibromyalgia, body pains, COPD, Sjogren's, insomnia, arthritis, 8 surgeries, etc. I found this to be a great product x 6 mo now. I take 100mg at bedtime. Now cutting down on my ambien, hoping to quit these poison chemical pills! Your MD's, Pharmacists usually want you to take chemical pills, making more toxins in your body, making you sicker. Always try to get natural remedies! They do work. Don't buy at discount stores, go to Health stores to see what brand they recommend. I get "Now" brand. JB RNRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tess | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/16/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried using and for a few days okay results and better sleep then upset stomach, burning mouth, nausea. I guess it’s not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr.Shulgin | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/7/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fantastic after a hard weekend rolling. Be kind to your brain after is been kind to you giving you all that pleasure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
# Blessings | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/18/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps me get a restful sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dissatisfied | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/18/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have depression and I stumbled upon 5 HTP at a walgreens, claiming to help with mood problems. I took it and didn't feel that much better, though a noticable improvement. When it wore off, my depression got even worse than it was before. For three days after, I could barely function. Would not recommend, found much better results using St. John's Wort.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
5 htp | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/21/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A patient who suffered from depression and tried everything possible,but nothing was as effective as taking 5 htp supplement. I was on antidepressants ,but when I csme off all the depressive symptoms came back. As soon as started taking it, I started feeling that my depressive thoughts were gone…. Personally I take 200 mg in the morning and 200 mg in the evening. This is what workd for me,however you could be fine with lower dose as well. Dr Janelle Sinclae suggests to take 3x50 mg or 100 also three times if you feel that is not enough. Defenetly it will ease your life and thought. You must give a chance. At the befinning it gave me some headaches but it went away,as well as a little sleepiness,but now I feel amazing and completely normal again. Trust me, I am a person who was diagnozed with depression and got hospitalized with anxiet and depression, /psychosis….it was awful I am hoping that it can help to some of you?? plus taking Rhodiola rosea is also amazing for anxiety attacks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/21/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

100mg ONCE DAILY (not twice a day). I was recommended to take twice a day but I had bad side effects. 5-HTP speeds up your brain. It makes your Calicum absorb easier into your brain cells. Instead of typical 5-10% of Calicum soaking into your brain cells you can get more like 20% absorbed. (the rest expelled via urine) NOTE: Calcium metabolism in your brain CREATES HEAT. When I took 100mg twice a day the end result was a feeling that my head was on fire. I could literally feel the heat, and ended up running cold water over my head in the shower- not pleasant! However, once I started taking it just every other day all of the sudden I can THINK again. The fog is cleared and all of the sudden my friends are surprised that I'm not lost in a fog. USAGE WARNING: Do not take more than recommended and really I would just take half until your brain gets used to it. If you take with a good multi vitamin- just EVERY OTHER DAY hopefully you will have the good results that I am getting. I now take with with Citicoline and L-Theanine and find very good mental / memory function, clear head and emotions, and Ashwagandha for sleep. Overall would recommend- but start with 1/2 dose or you might be soaking your head in cold water!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/15/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not depressed,but I crave sugar because of a seratonin deficiency. I really CRAVE it, especially in the afternoon and evening. 5htp makes those cravings entirely manageable. It is miraculous. If I forget to take my pill I end up getting into something (ice cream or worse). When I take it I resist. I love this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mummybunny | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I worked with a specialist to find a solution for depression because I cannot take SSRIs. It works. But reading reviews I have to say - it’s natural of course it’s not FFA approved? Does FDA approve dried fruit, tea, dried milk?? No. Matural things existed long before big pharma came along!! If your doctor gave you 5htp for melatonin, your doctor should be reported, they’re the problem not 5htp. 5htp can increase serotonin. If you take SSRIs or other pharmaceuticals you should ask a pharmacist or doctor to look up interactions. Est advice - buy from reputable brands that have been around for a while. Don’t buy from obscure places and brands not known. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First it did nothing, then it kept me awake and anxious for a few days. Did not like the headaches either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No controlled! |
11/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is not good that it's not regulated/controlled! Very strong efekt in fey days of us as it is hormonal! Worst is no government agency take care to explain the dosage in force of law In direct connection with sale. What is stupid people in government and this is not single example. Anyway we should be thankful we don't have an anarchy on the streets. Conclusion be careful check your dosage Go slow and be patient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephon | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being 100 percent honest because reviews for things like these are important. It’s been 2 months using HTP-5. When I first started I took 2 capsules every night for the first two weeks( for full effect like bottle mentions), then I changed it to every other night from then on. It works great. I don’t get extremely irritated for no reason anymore and my attitude is pleasant and not Just neutral. So focusing is easier now. IM early to bed early to rise but had trouble falling asleep. Now I’m early to bed and Im asleep within the hour and I wake up with no mind fog! BAD PART, for the first two weeks I noticed a little stomach pinching and I figured it was the HTP-5 like the side effects say that’s why I changed it to every other night. I don’t mind it though, I fix cars for a living so I feel worse “pinches” than that everyday. So every other night after a full dinner solves the stomach thing for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this to try to help with high levels of stress and anxiety caused by work. In actual fact, all that happened was an increased amount of anxiety caused by the unholy amount of farts that this supplement caused.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caffe_Cola | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/27/2022
Condition: Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 100 mg of HTP and it develop Fibromyalgia syndrome chronically causing pain, stiffness, and tenderness of muscles, tendons, and joints without detectable inflammation within 24 hours after taking 2 tablets such a horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in a deep depression 4 years ago and tried anti -depressants that made me feel much worse. After I gave them up I decided to try 5HTP and it helped me enormously. I took 100mg a day up until about a year ago, when it suddenly dawned on me that I had not l needed it for a long time. Starting and stopping with 5HTP needs to be tapered. I built up from 50mg to 150mg over a couple of weeks and after a couple of months dropped back to 100mg. When I stopped a year ago I took over a month of decreasing doses and missing days to reach giving up. PS I had problems with your stars but my rating was excellent on all pointsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raye | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it on and off when ever I feel like I've been down in the dumps for a week or if I need to be in a good mood for something...it does take a few days to kick in but did and does work...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zener777 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/12/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 5-HTP in a 200 mg dose before bedtime for two days (5-HTP Plus 200mg + Vitamins C & B6). On the second day in the morning I began to have muscular spikes in parts of the body that I had never had, such as the left forearm and even much worse in the four -legs of both legs. These spasms made me difficult to walk well since they were very annoying. I am an athlete, practiced southern and I perform weightlifting regularly. The experience has been very unpleasant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I believe 5HTP should be tried BEFORE antidepressants. I have been on anti-depressants since I was 14. I've attempted suicide 3 times. Last time I was maxed on 2 different kinds. For a year now I have been taking 5HTP and find it to be far more EFFECTIVE. If I forget for a few days I might get down again but I reach out to family and I talk myself down. I could not/would not on anti-depressants. The only side effect I have had is if I take it on an empty stomach. Absolutely feel like this has saved my life!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More