Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

167 People found this comment helpful

Already a heart patient 4 yrs ago of Tacy/Brady, PVC, Atrial Fibrilation, 3 years ago, as a 63 yr old female, had excessive sleeping,ie, slept all night w/o waking 9-10 hrs; am low energy, slept 4-5 hrs afternoon sometimes back to bed around 10am not wanting to do chores in between. Sleep study doctor prescribed Alpha-Lipoic Acid 300mg sustained release am/pm or 600mg once a day. Within 2 days...

Most voted negative review

34 People found this comment helpful

terrible. it made me feel worse. would not recommend.

Shared reviews and ratings

Frakel | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/25/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There are many uses for this supplement. It has increased my energy level, decreased GI irritation, and decreased my general aches and pains.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anjum | Age: 35-44 |
11/18/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn’t work for me with major side effects of insomnia. Also the condition worsen after taking ALA

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Goonie | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/12/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Interested in benefits for energy and brain fog (I also have slow-metabolizing detox genes that can make me feel sluggish). Took 200-300mg several times on a full stomach and felt very odd a few hours after- energy drop and kind of light-headed, exacerbated hypoglycemia. Don’t be alarmed by the sulfur smell in urine though- it’s supposed to have that effect!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have small nerve peripheral neuropathy. I am not diabetic but am pre-diabetic. Dr. said my cause is unknown. I buy Jarrow Alpha Lipoic Sustain 300 milligrams on Amazon. This is a magic pill for me. I took it 2x per day every day for about 6 months and had total relief. Now I just take it when I have a fair up (itching and burning in me feet about 3 times a month). Note: I do have more flair ups when I consume a lot of sugar so I have reduced sugar intake. It literally goes away in 15 minutes....instant relief. I carry a few on my key chain. I don't ever post reviews but if this can help someone it is worth it. I hope it works for you but is literally a miracle for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TabMag | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Primary Progressive MS and I deal with extreme nerve pain on a daily basis. I take 600mg daily as prescribed by my neurologist. I haven't seen a huge improvement yet, but will give it time as I have only been on it for a couple of months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/20/2022
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started talking it for burning mouth syndrome and had relief within a few days, but it makes me nauseous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joseph | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/18/2022
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My A1-C has always been 6.5 and up to 10.00. After 2 months of taking ALA my A1-C dropped to 5.5 shocking my PCP and Diabetes Specialist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have some nerves that are in process of healing. Although I cant tell what it does for it, there are a few ups and downs. Cons: stinky breath and stinky discharge, shouldnt take with alcohol, keeps me up, sweet tooth, nausea-i threw up once and I never throw up… Pros: lost a little weight which is crazy amazing (10lbs slowly in a couple months span) Due to making me stinky, i can only take 1x per week now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pain in t' feet | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
2/20/2022
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Specialist prescribed neural pain suppressor - failed and major side effects. Diabetic nurse said ALA and I know within a few hours when I miss a dose. I would like to know if >1800 mg is OK and works better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | Age: 75 or over |
2/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Found that a combo of Alpha Lipoic Acid, B Complex Plus, and Biotin to be effective on the “fire” burning in my feet. ALC is said to be more effective on an empty stomach. Found that excessive B12 blood level is better for my neuropathy. Also take an OTC glucose lowering supplement to keep my glucose level in check. (Diagnosed with idiopathic neuropathy, chronic pain, high blood pressure, reflux, Barrett’s Esophagus, fibromyalgia, COPD, asthma, and edema). Feel best taking 1200 mg of ALC, 2 B-Complex Plus with Metafolin L-5 MTHF Broad-spectrum vitamin, and 8 mg of Biotin every day for my neuropathy—along with other supplements for other health issues. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chan | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects sulfur burping Nausea diarrhea and vomiting after only 3 days. I have tried a lot of things. My hands hurt so bad I can’t stand it sometimes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not a diabetic, I got neuropathy in my feet probably related to my targeted treatment (Alectinib) for stage 4 lung cancer. I wondered if I'd ever be able to walk pain free again. After about 10 days of 600 mg/ daily, the pain began to fade and was totally gone in 2 1/2 weeks. I've been pain free for 3 months now. I'm totally happy with the efficacy of the alpha lipoic acid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChrisDock | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't feel much benefit. And got heart palpitations. Definitely not useful for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jul | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nerve entrapment after ankle surgery that makes my 2 little toes feel numb, pins & needles, or hypersensitive. I did not want to continue taking narcotics or gabapentin. Taking 600 mg twice a day. ALA has relieved my pain by about 50%. It took around 3 weeks to notice an improvement. Overall I'm happy with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/8/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn’t help… but my main complaint is that you have 2 posts on here selling drugs without prescriptions required. Isn’t that illegal and dangerous?!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diagnosed with cervical Myelomalacia @c6-c7. p/neuropathy started in my feet in 2007. Acdf op on 2011 failed to remove symptoms. ALA gives me some pain relief without apparent side effects. P/N is now in both legs and hands. Bummer !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Weeneilly | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had suffered peripheral neuropathy in both feet for over two years, confirmed by neurological tests. I started Alpha Lipoic Acid and cut out processed sugar from my diet, although I am not diabetic. Within three days the tingling disappeared, seven days I had no pain wearing shoes, ten days numbness reduced and two weeks I could feel the texture of the floor again. Unfortunately, I also developed severe itching and hives between 14 and 18 days. I have been of ALA for a week. So far, so good. Itching almost gone. Neuropathy not returning.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this to stop shingles pain and it works a treat, but it also reduces allergic reaction considerably. It has reduced my need for an Epi-pen dramatically, it reduces the allergic reaction beyond compare. A friend of mine also found it completely cured her allergy to cats. I notice when I am not taking it as the allergy reaction is greater but still much less than before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
D J | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cludite | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/3/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It gives me a rash/hives even small amounts. I have tried various products with same results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More