Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

276 People found this comment helpful

I was having extreme fatigue, loss of my wanting to do things i always had enjoyed, low sex drive, memory loss..After researching hormone issues, this was given as something that was recommended.I started with 12.5 am and 12.5 early afternon..felt good enough that i went with 25 mg. only in mid morning after i had my morning coffee and feel better than I have in so long, I was amazed. My issues ...

Most voted negative review

69 People found this comment helpful

While on 25 mg/day of DHEA I developed pimples at age 56, and began experiencing hair growth in odd places including forehead. This new hair began driving out my normal hair on scalp. No positive results I could detect. Unfortunately I cannot sue.

Shared reviews and ratings

Joe | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/14/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm suffering from severe depression, PTSP, social phobia, and debilitating agoraphobia. I couldn't sleep at all (civil war). Insomnia completely crushed me. After many unsuccessful tries, Clozaril was introduced. I stayed at initial dose, 25mg, for 30ys. Ativan was great (and still he is) to treat agoraphobia altogether with Prozac. Careful downward titration from 5mg to 2,5mg of Ativan was a nightmare. It takes, at least 2years. Nothing changed for many years. Prozac (40mg) is sometimes replaced with Paxil (20-40mg) who produced severe side effects at the beginning. After, it started to work but withdrawal was tough. After DHEA is introduced, Clozaril dosage was decreased at half, and Ativan dosage from 2,5mg to 2mg. I'm using FDA approved manufacturer with some break-ups for last six months. DHEA is outstanding drug. I'm taking 25mg only. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mizz_A. | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/22/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Female age 67 now. In my 50s, taking 10 mgs of this was plenty, especially at first, the first few weeks, mind mind surprisingly going to - sex - a lot! Restart DHEA it at 67, I no longer feel the effects at 10 mg, am going to 30 mg, BUT NOBODY should take 100mg as suggested in one of these reviews.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/11/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have low testosterone and DHEA levels. My hair was falling out at an alarming rate. Since I have been taking 25 mg if DHEA, my hair stopped falling out. Unfortunately, I switched brand and my hair started falling out again. I have switched back to previous brand, but the hair loss has only slowed down. Be careful which brand is chosen, as apparently, not all brands consist of what they claim. The initial brand of DHEA is what my review is about.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Snoopy | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/16/2023
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to share my experience, I had labs to check my dhea, testosterone, and free test. Because I was so tired, low sex drive, just generally feeling so not myself! I was practically at zero, per labs. Im in peri menopause, still getting my cycle every month. My Dr recommended 10 mg micronized dhea. At a month and a half, I was feeling improvement in all areas?? Labs done at 3 months, all my levels are in the normal range! So I would suggest for those female, taking higher doses and having side affects, to try a 5-10mg dose. It obviously doesn’t take much, I had about as bad levels as possible, and 10 mg put me in normal. It really helps to know your numbers to be safe. And I know how hard it is to find a Dr willing to hear us and order less main stream labs. I hope this helps some one, I was very nervous to take dhea dt so many possible side affects, but so glad I have now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Solbia | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/25/2023
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 57 yrs old, post menauposed. I take DHEA 25 mg a day in the morning since 4 months. Level of energy , physical condition, body weight is going back to where I was 20 years ago. Also improved memory. I am personnaly happy with the product. I take it from Solbia, order on line from France

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/15/2023
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 59-year-old menopausal female. I purchased the topical version which was 2 mg per drop. I applied the drops to my skin rotating the application site each day. I worked my way up to four drops which was 10 mg. At first, this was working great for me… I had way more energy and my cognitive ability improved significantly. But suddenly things went South. I developed anxiety and all of my muscles began to twitch and spasm and cramp 24/7. I also developed severe insomnia. I didn’t make the connection at first so I kept applying it, but then my vestibular system also went awry and I lost my balance. I finally figured out it was the DHEA. I tried to lower the dose by one drop, and things just got worse so I realized quickly I had to wean myself off this very very slowly. It has been a nightmare. I had to purchase some liquid fractioned coconut oil to dilute the product to make 0.5 mg drops. Then I reduced my dose by 0.5 mg every three days or so depending on how I felt. I went without sleep in complete agony with all of these symptoms for weeks on end. I also had a similar reaction in the past from pregnenolone - so if you are experiencing anything like this with DHEA may want to avoid that one too. After three weeks, my balance is better, but not perfect. The other symptoms are slowly improving. I am hoping that they will completely disappear once I finish weaning off this stuff.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teddm | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If your any age, and feel a lack of motivation. Try 100mg, you will know pretty quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sigma Female | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/4/2022
Condition: Adrenal insufficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe adrenal fatigue coupled with low DHEA, low testosterone, estrogeen and Vit D and high insulin levels. Doc put me on a high quality lab produced DHEA 10mg tablet daily and within two days I was a different person. I feel calm, happy, more energetic. Everything just clicked in an instant. I am on DHEA, 3mg testosterone, Vit D and glucophage. Please get to a functional doctor and test for everything. Im starting to lose weight again. I had no idea what feeling normal meant until I started this protocol, thank God I have my life back. Life is good again and I'm in heaven.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/24/2022
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DHEA gave me insomnia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lou | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffered from ED and loss of desire. My urologist suggested I try 100mg of DHEA once a day. All I can say is wow. After a month I wake up standing at attention, and desire and ability has returned with a vengeance. Weight loss was an unexpected bonus, I weight 350 pounds before taking it, I know weigh 285 lbs. Gut was big before, seemingly has vanished . Total of 6 months for gut to disappear. I'm happy I took this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leslie | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/9/2021
Condition: Bone loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 60 year old post menopausal woman experiencing loss of muscle, severe vaginal atrophy, constant hot flashes, androgenic pattern hair loss, adrenal fatigue, and more. Adding 50mg of DHEA cream to my regimen of bioidentical hormonal replacement therapy made a huge difference. My hairline is growing back, my skin elasticity improved dramatically, I sleep better and my muscle tone and energy all improved. If you are adding this to a regimen that includes estrogen, be aware that you will have to cut back somewhat on your estrogen, since DHEA will manufacture estrogen as well as testosterone in your body. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for ED but found it made me noticeably more aggressive & easily irritable, so threw the rest away. Not good for the relationship when I'm mad all the time...kinda defeats the purpose of taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neil | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/15/2021
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have 1. old ankle joint injury and 2. lower lumbar spinal injury. With Dhea 50 mg once a day for a month then rest for a week resuming for another month I have no back or ankle problems. I rarely eat fast food etc. But am not overly health food conscious. If I stop taking DHEA pills the pain returns after about 3-4 weeks. I am 56 years old.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Razor7 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/16/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking this again. I used it several years ago when I was younger but it seemed to make me more aggressive. Could have been other factors? It seems to help me sleep sounder and have more energy which probably comes from better sleep. Hopefully will help aging skin as well. only started back on it for 1 month so too early to tell on that part. Taking 100mg every other day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/1/2019
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been only using dhea for five days, started at 50 and reduced to 25 mg. Iâ??m 52 and hitting menopause. Iâ??m absolutely amazed at how much better I feel mentally and physically. I think my skin looks better too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheree | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/4/2018
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking 50mg Zhou DHEA daily for 2 years. On the 7th day, I suddenly went from debilitating fatigue to bouncing in my chair and grinning like an idiot. Going by the number of medical issues this stuff resolved, from joint pain to eye dryness to mental fog to paranoia, I think I was severely deficient. I even have slightly *less* gray hair than I did when I started. 2 years later, I still feel great and no side effects noted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lex142 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/23/2018
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking DHEA years ago as an anti-aging trick, but discovered that it enabled me to exercise longer and gave me an energy boost.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
misjean | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/6/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used 5mg everyday for about 2 years. It alleviated hot flashes. As in none. (I skipped out for a week when I ran out once...the hot flashes came back.) I'm thinking of taking myself off to see if I'm over this particular symptom of menopause.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nbrc | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/27/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What is not emphasized enough is conversion to dht and HAIR LOSS. USUALLY TOOK purportedly 11-15 mg. Watch the top of your head. I didnâ??t and was taken by surprise because did not think genetically predisposed for This much hair thinning. Also took usually minute amounts but sometimes up to 5 grams or more of creatine ( because mostly vegetarian) and Iâ??m sure that esp when took more of this it didnâ??t help when combined with dhea. Disastrous. Be careful. Before after picture and monitor. Low dose if any. When needed. My mistake was to take daily, regularly vs only if need boost,, or cycling on and off Small amounts ( Iâ??ve heard 5 mg mentioned)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/6/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

50 years old and blubbering. Denied Test replacement. Started 100mg for 4 months now on 200mg. 5'8' 195 lbs and starting to look good. Started Powerlifting, been accused of steriods-never took em. Dhea has been good for me. Bodyfat down and starting to cut. Trying to resist upping it to 300mg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More