Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

59 People found this comment helpful

I began using Lysine 5 years ago due to a bad outbreak of cold sores. I had suffered cold sores all my life several times a year but this was one of my worst outbreaks and I had tried everything else to heal them, my pharmacist recommended L-Lysine ointment and told me others had said that taking the supplement reduced the outbreaks so I decided to try that too. The next day the ointment had cut...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

No sure if it helped or not?

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

L lysine (500mg/day) has helped me immensely with symptoms of anxiety and ptsd. It has helped me feel more upbeat and outgoing and social and has also given me more of a sense of physical well being.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nature's Life, L-Lysine Powder | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/2/2018
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ed | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/15/2018
Condition: Herpes labialis (cold sores)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As preventive to cold sores. Controling lysine and arginine rich food intake also helps. To prevent cold sore outbreaks arginine should never be consumed in excess to lysine. Cutting seeds, nuts, chocolate, etc. also helps because they have a lot of arginine. So l-lysine suplement helps to balance daily intake. 1000 mg is the correct daily dose for most people according to body weight. More than 1000 mg daily should be taken only if necessary and for little time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/2/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't think it made any difference at all for the HSV, but for topical infections/acne, it has been extremely helpful. Chronic acne and infection from diabetes weakened immune system, and now it's more like a few normal pimples instead of big throbbing painful oozing things and having them all over all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melanie | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
1/26/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I believe this helps for depression. I have been taking this supplement for at least 20 years and have noticed mood elevation when I do take 4-5 thousand milligrams a day. I used to cry more when I didnt take it but now that I have aged more I notice more anger and frustration when I dont take it. Its a much more balanced quality of life for me when I take this supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/23/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works every time I have feeling of cold sore coming on. Take 1000 units and it works like a charm. Never get one. Also don't eat nuts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blue53 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can sleep!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cratertots | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/8/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always hit my cold sores with l lysine. I also got shingles and used it for that too. I hardly got any shingles sores after I started taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/7/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had cold sores on my lips and around my mouth. They were no longer tingling and looked more healed after 2 days on the treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. Claus | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/1/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped my skin as well as my cold sores. Great>>

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/6/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it for Diabetes and for cold sores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mai | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 49 y/o and I have had cold sore outbreaks ever since my beloved mother gave me a kiss on the mouth when she had a cold sore outbreak when I was 16 years old. Three weeks later I got my first cold sore and I've had them every winter ever since. Winter 2015 I finally figured out that my outbreaks were due to the cold snaps we get living in Florida. I realized that when it starts to get cold (below 50°) my lips will start to feel like a prune and NO amount of lip moisturizing helps. I finally realized it was the cold snaps that was changing my pH balance and breaking me out in cold sores . It took me till I was literally this age of 49 to figure this out . I just figured cold Soares was something I would have to live through every winter which I have until 2015. During the summer when I never have outbreaks because my lips are moist I started taking small doses of lysing (500 mg) and also for the first time started taking biotin for "hair skin and nails" (one maximum dosage daily tablet 10k mcg). I took these two over-the-counter medicines religiously every day starting September 2016... Just before the cold season hit . I do not take them during the spring and summer because I don't breakout. Whenever the cold snaps DID occur I IMMEDIATELY UP my l-lysine to 3x a day ... Usually blended into my smoothies so I couldn't taste it at all... 1000 mg (yup!) each serving... morning noon night . Sometimes I even did it four times a day. (I got this 3k - 4k MG dosage idea from a holistic website). When the cold snap ended I DROPPED the dosage of l-lysine (any brand you want) to normal 500 mg. Also Biotene is taken every day year-round with my regular vitamin supplements . If I felt like it during a cold snap I might take biotin morning and night with my l-lysine smoothie :) Lip moisturizers don't keep you from breaking out. This is my second year and I have had ZERO outbreaks it's awesome. Finally!!!!! L lysine and biotin. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
1/9/2017
Condition: Herpes labialis (cold sores)
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy93 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
12/22/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken L-Lysine for years at the onset of the tingling of herpes (simplex or shingles) and it works like a charm. 1000 mg every hours.With the shingles I also added b complex, vitamin c (1000mg) and VSC by Natures Sunshine. Shingles outbreak minimal, lasted less than 2 weeks, no residual pain, skin staining etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Light | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/28/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always have cold sores on my lips every year, after taking Lysine, my cold sore was gone since then, it's been more than a year now. Thanks God.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/11/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take l-lysine as soon as you feel the twinge of a cold sore coming on. 5000mg first day, 4000mg second day, 3000mg third day, 2000mg fourth day, 1000mg fifth day. Cold sore will be gone or minimal...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BBB | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/8/2016
Condition: Herniated disc
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
7/6/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mary | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/23/2016
Condition: Herpes labialis (cold sores)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking L-lysine a month ago and have not had an outbreak or side effects. I also use, daily, alcohol to clean the area and apply amino acid cream that clears the scap. Thank GOD I found out about Lysine!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More