Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

143 People found this comment helpful

I craved wine. I began drinking as a teenager. I quit while pregnant & raising my little ones. At 35, I used to drink it, or some liquor, almost daily. At 42, I didn't have liver disease (yet), but I would drink to excess often. An employee of GNC told me she took Milk Thistle 3 times a day because it cleans the liver. I began taking it 3 X day, religiously. Within a few weeks, all I noticed was...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

I was taken to the hospital for chest pains---making it short---- my liver was enlarged, Dr took me off milk thistle & an estrogen patch was a no no. Thanks to this site I understand now why.

Shared reviews and ratings

Kara | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/21/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Nutraharmony's liver support supplement for three months, my recent liver function tests showed significant improvement. Works great for supporting liver health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clarice | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/3/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Milk thistle supplement from Nutraharmony has been surprisingly helpful. My liver feels healthier, and I've noticed improvements in digestion. The natural, plant-based formula is a big plus, and I haven't experienced any negative side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LisaM63 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a wino (and have also done hard drugs in the past) since the age of 16. I used to drink 2 to 3 glasses of wine a night. Now I don't drink every day but lately have been more of a binge drinker - which I have heard can be worse. I have a 60 year old liver and never had liver pain until about a year ago. When this has happened, I easily took 3 weeks off and dosed with milk thistle (both the capsules and the tincture) and had my pain completely disappeared. However, the time it takes between MT dosing and being able to imbibe again has lengthened so NOW I am trying to give up drinking completely until I can get a diagnosis when my insurance kicks in again in January. I use MT daily and my liver is feeling fine, although I know that can change in a heartbeat if i were to drink again after a short respite. I am trying to change my diet as well as nix the booze - not easy, even though i am not physically addicted my mental addiction is really strong. All that said, MT has been a God Send and I recommend it highly to everyone - liver problems or not :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lorna kurien | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/31/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/4/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm usually a bit skeptical about food supplements, but this just really works!! I don't normally write many reviews, but for milk thristle I'll make an exception. My liver levels were significantly elevated, as were my cholesterol levels. After using milk thristle for six months, my liver values are as good as normal. Cholesterol is even perfect now. A huge improvement, especially considering that my blood levels have been too high for about 15 years (probably due to medication use). I have been looking for a remedy to reduce my blood levels for about 12 years, and am extremely happy to have discovered milk thristle. I would recommend it to anyone with high liver values/high cholesterol. PS I took quite high doses (> 1000 mg per day). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chase cox | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/7/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive started taking it to help my liver but it had done something i didnt expect It almost completely cleared my psoriasis After 2 weeks the scales where almost all gone and after a month the redness disappeared

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenny |
8/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think milk thistle is good for those with gut and insulin resistance/ bad metabolism...I take BC and think it has some disadvantages effect. I only have BC for hormonal use but it has its own downfall, I had terrible gastritis or form of inflammation that would not go away so when I took the milk thistle I think it aids that for liver that is being pumped a synthetic hormone etc. It was emergency I rather use milk thistle as some alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christina | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take milk thistle and vitamin E together I stayed adding melatonin and took these at night I know longer have Gerd occasionally heartburn after eating something spicy but I was able to stop taking omeperzole

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tazicik | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a result of excessive alcohol consumption, my liver was fattened and my enzymes increased. After using 2 tablets a day and 1 month, indigestion and pain in my liver disappeared. I'm looking forward to my blood results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/11/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
neenee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/8/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a diarrhea type symptom. Having a lose, frothy stool everytime I went to the bathroom. I went 8 times a day and it caused severe cramping. Between trips to the bathroom, I had horrible, loud, rumbling gas that sounded that low, rumbling thunder which was constant, I do have IBS, so I wouldn't recommend it to a person with IBS with occasional diarrhea. Perhaps, it was clearing fat from my liver, but the bloating, horrible loud gas, and diarrhea was extremely uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/24/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drink 1.5 L bottle of vodka every 2 days for about 18 years now..I SHOULD BE DEAD....most likely....since I am not...i must be very very lucky! but I WILL say that milk thistle MUST BE CONTRIBUTING to my super human liver ! I TAKE NATURES BOUNTY WHITE LABEL 1000 MG(250 MG OF 4:1 EXTRACT) product wasn't listed in brand drop down area.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy96 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My total cholesteroal and LDL numbers are down 10 to 15 points since I started taking Milk Thistle, even though my diet has been out of control since hurricane Harvey and the subsequent rebuilding of our home - no kitchen yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Panayotis | Age: 45-54 |
11/7/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a chalazion in upper eyelid. Chalazion is something like a bigger stye, is a small cyst and the eyelid was quite swollen. I had it for several weeks; I found on internet that chalazion lasts for many months. As it didn't shrink and gone by itself, I tried some drug in paste form; it didn't work at all - zero. Then I decided to try dry Milk Thistle (I bought whole “flowers” in dry form), that I made it like tea and then, put some milk thistle in compress (with some cotton). I drank the rest of the decoction. The chalazion reduced a lot, maybe has shrunk about 50% in just 4-5 days, with hust one dose per day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarina | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/16/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BIG reacting! Ragweed is very bad for us hypoallergenic people. Bumps, rash and hives. Didn't know this until three months later. Took it to help lower my A1C.Not a Diabetic yet and would like to stay that way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
milk thistle | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mattel | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/23/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have spleen swelling and pain with high liver enzymes. It took about 3 days for the pain to ease up by about 95%. I still feel a little pain every now and then but it is well worth when the doctor has a wait and watch attitude. The only thing my doctor said about it was keep taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/24/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had developed an allergic reaction to alcohol (hives). I started taking Milk Thistle twice a day and no longer have reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat Nelson | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/29/2016
Condition: Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ridiculously high liver enzymes. Was diagnosed with NAFLD. In two months my numbers reduced by more than half. Nothing else worked as quickly to reduce the numbers. Still taking them and expect great results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miles | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/28/2016
Condition: Cirrhosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been experiencing severe itchiness all over my body and I am not sure if it is because of my Cirrhosis or because of the Milk Thistle I am taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More