Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

85 People found this comment helpful

Rosacea, skin and ocular. Saw 3 eye doctors when I developed a red spidery blotch on one of my eyes. Tried all sorts of expensive eye drops and oral meds= no improvement. Finally found some great Australian sites w lots of info on using tto for demodex mites that are found in high numbers on anyone w rosacea. It's been a siege but the tto is a godsend and my ocular rosacea is nearly gone. While r...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

DO NOT TAKE TEA TREE OIL INTERNALLY, IT IS TOXIC!

Shared reviews and ratings

Serenity | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/30/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it’s easy to use BUT I HAD A VIRAL EAR INFECTION AND NOW ITS BURNING HORRIBLY AAAAAHHAHSSABAVGSGSCS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tea tree oil | Age: 0-2 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/3/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tee tree oil turned my toenail white! I tried buffering it out but it deep in the nail bed Don’t use on any nails

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mer | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used tea tree oil for hair loss? Pretty ok - haven't tried it lately but may again. Found a hair folical energizer spray at the Vitamin Shoppe! Works great! Also used tea tree oil on nail fungus/ itchy athletes foot. Seemed to ease the redness. Started kerasal? Fantastic stuff! Clearing up the dark discoloration of toe nails. It was also a one sided foot issue. Had stepped in a puddle with my right foot. Puddle was apparently full of Canadian goose poop! ?? Really, really bad foot infection from it. Had to see nurse and get cream. Itching cleared but nails didn't! For years didn't know what to do. Embarrassing at the nail and foot spa. Stopped going. Kerasal Works wonders! Be careful when you're using it for the first week. Nails will over 'soften " - stop use for 2 weeks? Then start again! I went from almost a black discolored nail and serious thickness? To almost 90% normal now! Getting another tube! Definitely takes a few months , but very happy with the results! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeanette | Age: 0-2 |
2/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My use is NOT for dermititis, but this use is listed. I use it for any small breaks in my skin - cuts, and abrasions, and also bruises. I drip tea tree oil onto a cotton swab and saturate the injured skin. It works for dry split fingers too, but a strong tea tree oil salve will stay on better, especially with a bandage. I've also noticed that if I get a bruise, swabbing it with a tea tree oil saturated swab lessens the pain and makes it heal faster. I've used it in my sinus rinse when I have an infection - just 1 drop in in the 8 oz bottle. This is my go-to wound treatment; I don't own any other.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/18/2021
Condition: Wound healing
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using it on one of my really old problem piercings because the scar tissue got incredibly inflamed, swollen, and hard and wouldn't go away (I hadn't worn jewelry in it in a really long time. It was just acting up). I tried various other treatment methods, but none of them worked. The first time I used tea tree oil on it, I noticed significant improvement the next morning. I've been using it for a couple months now daily and it hasn't been an issue since. It's gone and has healed very well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/15/2021
Condition: Onychomycosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tea Tree oil worked very well over my case. Tks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
12/17/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE TEA TREE OIL INTERNALLY, IT IS TOXIC!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/29/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I put the tea tree oil in a glass eye dropper bottle and every day I added a drop or two around the nail and under the tip. This was July 2016. In July 2017 I was trimming my toe nails and noticed a seeping, sticky liquid near the top of my toe at the corner of my nail. The skin around my toe nail was red and looked swollen. The next day, I soaked my toes in peroxide, and put some neosporin on the toe in all the areas that looked red. Then my other big toe started up, no seeping, but red, and swollen. A day or two after that they itched so bad I could barely sleep all night. I kept soaking in peroxide morning and night and putting neosporin and a band-aide on both toes. I went to the doctor and was prescribed an antibiodic. The doctor took a sample of my nail and skin and sent it to the lab. I have had toe nail fungus for 10 years. It got so bad my nails were separating from the skin and the nails turned brown and black in places. Really painful too when wearing shoes. Anyway the antibiodic started to help my toe infection or whatever it was causing the pain and itching but I was allergic to the medicine after four days of use. I quit the medication, and the toe infection came back. I continued to soak in peroxide and use neosporin, and wrap toes in band-aides. It cleared up. And, the lab came back with NO toe nail fungus! I was shocked even though my new nail growth is 3/4 of the way out and looks great. 1/4 which is the tip portion of the nail, is discolored and gross, but it's growing out. I know the tea tree oil wiped out the fungus, no doubt. I had tried at least 15 things to rid it and nothing worked. I was not ready to take the leap and get lamisil and risk kidney damage and other bad side effects. Anyway, now I'm hyper sensitive to tea tree oil. After not using it for 2 weeks, I tried applying it, and my toes the next day burned & itched like crazy. I tried again, same thing. I highly recommend Tea Tree oil, but watch for irritation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/29/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Keep getting serious although using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Obione980 | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/30/2019
Condition: Tinea pedis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems ti limit spread of the fungus; and reduces the area infected.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
2/15/2019
Condition: Ocular demodicosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Sjogrens in 2011; first treated for blepharitis due to dry eyes in 2016 with Restasis (2 yrs); have been using Ocusoft/Retaine OTC products since then. I found that adding tea tree wipes and eye sprays helps more than merely using Ocusoft wipes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teenuser123 | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/3/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Last night I was searching through social media and read that if u put tea tree oil on ur pimples they will just disappear instantly now unfortunately that is not the case. I had grabbed a q-tip and dipped it into my little jar of tea tree oil and applied it onto a little circle bandage then put it directly onto my pimple, after about five mins it was burning and stinging, not pleasantð??¬but after a little bit it calmed down and I went to bed I woke up in the morning expecting my face to be clear but I took the bandades off only to show bright red circles all over my four head and cheeks. I washed my face with cold water hoping to calm down my skin, it is now around 4:30pm and nothing has really happened yet. I really hope the redness fades soon because the first day of school is in two days and Iâ??m kinda freaking out.... what did I do wrong?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brighteye | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/12/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used tea tree oil, 100% pure, for years. I originally got it to dab on pimples and it seemed to help. I did not put it all over my face. Just on the blimish. I have since used.it by adding it to my children's shampoo and conditioner as a lice repellant. Elementary school!, parents, y'all know the deal with out breaks a few times a year. I'm not sure how effective.it was, but my children never caught it. My husband and I have used it to treat sinus infections. The sysmptons seemed to clear up much faster. We would boil water and add a few drops. Cover your head and pot with a towel and breath it in. Not to much because it can be really strong to breath in. Right now I am using it to treat ring worm. I have been soaking a q tip and applying 100% to the infected spots. Been doing this for about two weeks now and it seem to be almost cleared up. I will continue until I'm sure it's gone. But I love this stuff. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pikachen | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/19/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pleurisy that stems from systemic mycosis (a systemic fungal infection). Sometimes when the pleurisy gets really bad (b/c my antifungal regimen will be too weak), I'll grab a q-tip, soak it in tea tree, and insert into my nostrils. Within seconds the burning pain will be gone. It's unreal. For example, I've had horrible pleurisy pains for the past few days. I took my regular antifungals, peppermint (which sometimes helps; also helps asthma), and even aspirin! Nothing helped! So finally, I tried this method because it feels like I'm breathing fire and I was desperate. I know you're not supposed to have skin contact but it truly helps the pain. It's the only thing that did help! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1/16/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wart removal on face, causing redness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
APF | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/11/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had athletes foot since I was in junior high school. Tried everything under the sun from doctor prescribed remedies to over the counter creams, sprays, and ointments. Some helped with temporary relieve anywhere from an hour to a couple days, but "nothing" ever relieved totally or stopped it! "Nothing"! Got worse over the years with times the itching was SO bad I would literally rub/scratch the bottoms of my feet bloody and raw. At times my feet would literally burn like they were on fire. When in the military it got worse due to constant marching, laced up boots, and not always being able to clean/wash them properly. Sometimes for days at a time. And stinky feet!?! I could clear a gymnasium in minutes! I would "never" take my shoes or boots off in public or someones home. If that was a requirement, I simply made an excuse and didn't go in! Embarrassing doesn't even "begin" to describe things. One night while staying at my mothers house the itching & burning was soooo bad, to the point of tears, I rubbed my feet bloody and couldn't sleep. She had a bottle that only said Tea Tree Oil for Skin Relief on the label (mixed with some lotion, have no idea what). I don't know the name of it or the percentage of TTO, but I was desperate to try anything at that point. I saturated both feet from my ankles down and put fresh cotton socks on because my feet were a bit oily afterwards. Didn't want to stain the sheets or cover. The itching stopped within minutes and I finally got a good nights sleep! Next morning I took the socks off and was "shocked" they were full of dead moist skin! I pealed more skin off in sheets, including thick crusty heel skin! My feet were a bit tender for a couple days, BUT THE FRICKIN' FUNGUS WAS GONE, DEAD!!! First itch, burn, pain free experience in over 40 years!!! I'd forgotten what it was like to walk pain free and not think about my feet all day. And no more stinky feet! Finally Cured! Soft skin too! Thank God for a miracle called Tea Tree Oil.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/5/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using for about two weeks (applied topically on toenails) my toenails becauedry and turned white. The fungus itself may be a little better but the looks of my nails is awful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
celsfo | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/19/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used tea tree oil as an external application to treat toenail fungus. It worked very well. Mine was a very advanced case, allowed to worsen over years of neglect, so it took a little longer to cure, but it did!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Logit | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/2/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Toe nail fungus for ten years. Tried using commercial products specifically marketed for fungus. Did not work. Tried Tea Tree Oil ... noticed change within two weeks. By 2 mos. fungus almost gone. Nails healthy and healing. Daily treatment at least once per day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mimmabeartoo3 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/20/2017
Condition: Vaginal candidiasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I mixed 5 drops tea tree oil and 2 drops lavender oil with organic coconut oil soaked up in tampon and in serted leaving for 4 hours. Did this 4 times in 3 days and aplied to vulva and all areas of itch and burning. All symptoms subsided.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More