Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

70 People found this comment helpful

My husband suffers from agitation often,but has reactions to medicines from Doctors. For about 2 years, if he feels agitated, he uses 1/4 tsp in water or tea and it lifts his spirits in a few minutes. Life is easier for both of us now. from Metabolic Maintenance.

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

People should know that elevated glycine levels may be toxic to the brain! I believe that I have created brain damage due to overuse of glycine.

Shared reviews and ratings

Patricia | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/5/2023
Condition: Physical performance
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 66, extremely healthy and fit. I take 12 different herbs and 9 different supplements. I've studied anti-aging for decades and worked for a supplement company. When I listened to Peter Attia speak about taking 2gr. glycine, I decided to experiment to boost a variety of functions.I'm also strict vegan (10years). What I experienced was the very opposite of all the research I came upon. The first night I didn't sleep well (and I historically sleep like a baby). By the 4th night I felt agitated, sleep was continually disturbed by, what I can only describe as a neurological disturbance. An odd buzz where my body never fully felt calm, in deep sleep or into REM.It is a rare supplement that can produce such a pronounced effect in me. And I'm a lifelong guinei pig. I quit glycine and the next night I slept better, peacefully again, but it's not fully out of my system. I would love for someone with high skill and insight to, at the very least, posit a hypothesis. Little is available that explores the potential risks of glycine. Who experiences clear negative side effects? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZJJ | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/26/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me feel lightheaded and ill. Stomach cramps, trots, gas, bloating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ahmad | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/20/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am dealing with insomnia for over a decade . I don’t know how I found glycine through online search I guess it’s algorithms . People were claiming it helped them sleep but unfortunately didn’t work for me thankfully I just purchased a small powder bottle just to try it. I tried to use only one scoop which is equals 2 g but it didn’t work so Increased to two scoops Which equals 4 g and I didn’t make any change or improvement in quality or quantity of my sleep ?? The glycine powder brand I’m using is Carlson 100 grams . Not sure I’m going to continue or not Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/30/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowers my blood pressure easily. I would advise anyone to take bp readings when trying any supplement. Ordered mistakenly, thinking it included magnesium for sleep. Taken with my blood pressure pills, my blood pressure went quite low, not knowing it would do that. Take very small amt of it in powder form, not even 1/4 of the recommended scoop. Works for most of the day. Stopped taking my pills for now, being curious about glycine. Found glycine can energize or be calming, which reflects other experiences noted. My rating for ease of use and satisfaction is based on not having a measurement for bp use. Interesting potential? Have no side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stitch | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WARNING!! I took 3000mg in 3 separate doses on first day, got quite drowsy all through the day, had best sleep I have had for a long time. 2nd day I took 2000mg, on 3rd day I woke up with heart palpitations stronger then the ones I had before. My blood pressure was 170, strange as I have never had problems with high blood pressure ever in my life, I kept checking my blood pressure and it kept going up throughout the day, partly because I was anxious about it. In the evening it reached 216, that was when I went to accident and emergency in the UK, The doctor there took blood and ECG test, after 8 hours waiting doctor told me all is fine and she will write to my own doctor. The only change in my life was my taking Glycine, I stopped taking it and my blood pressure went back to normal. So, be aware of this possible side effect and buy yourself a blood pressure measuring machine together with your Glycine!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natalie | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 2g for depression occuring during menstrual period. Works wonderfully. I take it at night and have not noticed any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
USA | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Added glycine and L-theanine upon Reddit recommendation. DRASTICALLY reduced headaches and migraines, definitely promotes a feeling of calm. Best supplement combo for reducing headache pain (and I have tried literally everything OTC, herbal, neurotransmitters, Rx, name it). Will never go without.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pug | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/2/2021
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seems to work for mild insomnia, combined with melatonin and 5-htp. that combination works well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/23/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was recommended by a friend after having problems with sleep quality. I took a level spoonful an hour before bed. Two days in, it didnâ??t improve my sleep at all, in fact I woke up to what felt like a bad hangover! I will try a lesser dosage to see if this improves ,if not, I will stop using it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S. | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/26/2020
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sadly, it doesn't help me fall asleep, but it has definitely improved the quality of my sleep. I feel more rested and can go back to sleep easily if I wake up in the night. I put a teaspoon of glycine powder in a wine glass with a dash of water, about an hour before bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/11/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

People should know that elevated glycine levels may be toxic to the brain! I believe that I have created brain damage due to overuse of glycine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/30/2018
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Appears to have helped my husband's sleep problems that are due to restless leg syndrome and BPH. He is sleeping much more soundly and not waking up frequently to urinate. He take one 1000 mg. capsule before bed. Also reports much less morning stiffness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maureen Ryan | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seem to have more energy and am more alert, It does not improve my sleeping as I thought it might. My mouth does become very dry of a night,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
murped | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/4/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and anxiety. I take atenolol for the rapid heart rate and 1/4 teaspoon of this for anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to have opposite effect - makes me wide awake instead of making me sleepy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunnysidegirl | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/20/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with sleeping issues for a long time (acting out on nightmares & inability to get deep restorative sleep). Glycine has definitely helped me get more restful deep sleep without the nightmares. I no longer feel exhausted during the day. (Been using Glycine sticks by Metabolic Maintenance. I have no affiliation with the company but do recommend them.)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruby | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WILL never take this again. It caused a migraine both times! PLEASE talk to your doctor before using.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olga | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/12/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prevents panic attacks, reduces anxiety, improves concentration and memory. I have not experienced side effects, my relatives also use this medication, especially during high-stress situations and events in life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/12/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband suffers from agitation often,but has reactions to medicines from Doctors. For about 2 years, if he feels agitated, he uses 1/4 tsp in water or tea and it lifts his spirits in a few minutes. Life is easier for both of us now. from Metabolic Maintenance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More