Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

Megestrol made me gain 15 lbs in 3 months. But is very effective in stopping prolonged bleeding.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was taking this drug for 10 years.My Dr. stopped it abruptly. I have very uncomfortable side effects for 2 weeks, backache all over, stomach spasms, etc.Is there an antidote for the withdrawal side effects?

Shared reviews and ratings

Catie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2023
Condition: Cancer in the Lining of the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My gyn/oncologist placed me on this drug to help control the growth in the lining of my uterus! As I type this, I’m hoping it’s working as I’d like my numbers to go down from 9 for uterine lining. I hope to know more when I have my next internal examination. I have be amazed at all the conditions this prescription can be used for! I have an autoimmune thyroid illness, for over 50 years. Since the day I was placed on thyroid replacement it has destroyed my life. The first year of thyroid replacement I went from ‘baby’ weight of 145 pounds to 69pounds. The thyroid medicine gave me uncontrollable diarrhea with pains in the gut that were just as painful as the last pains of childbirth! It was constant 27/7! While it was nice to lose the baby weight, it was a very very painful way to go about it. I went to my Dr who put me on it, but he couldn’t do anything about it. So for 30 years I went to every single gastroenterologist in my town, in cities 30+ miles away, even one 1,500 mikes away. All told me I just have to except it! Then 23 years ago had to have my gallbladder removed, it made the diarrhea 50 times worse! I couldn’t leave the house without binding myself up wit OTC anti-diarrhea meds every day. I cut out all spicy food, dairy, some fruits, bland diets, etc. So to make a long story short, megestrol has been a life changer! I’ve spent 50 years looking for something to help end this living hell of explosive diarrhea. Megestrol has been my saving grace! I can’t tell you how much better I am, not one gastrointestinal slip of pain! I’ve already asked my N.P. if I could stay on this medication for the rest of my life! I now actual am thinking I just might get my life back now that I’m in my 70’s! To the makers of this drug, I can’t thank you enough…Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2023
Condition: Cancer in the Lining of the Uterus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m still coming to grips with my diagnosis, endometrial hyperplasia and how my lining number was so high! Plus I also suffer from atrocious diarrhea, a side effect from thyroid medication for the last 49 years so when I read it causes constipation I was thrilled. It has help so much with my diarrhea, no more constant intestinal pain, no more constant cramping, I’ve never been so well. I’m also hoping it does it’s cancer job too! For me it’s been easy to take and I am in two weeks! I’m just hoping I can stay on this medication for the rest of my life! It’s been a God send for me! I’m suppose to have surgery to remove my uterus in a few months! Now I hope to rid myself of the precancerous organ, continue on this meds until my last days on earth and maybe, just maybe I can stop being housebound, 49 years, and dozen of doctors who weren’t able to help my suffering, it’s way to long!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
apryllynn | 55-64 | Female | Patient
4/29/2023
Condition: Cancer in the Lining of the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this when I was diagnosed with uterine cancer. It was to stop bleeding. It did that, but it has also helped stop the sweats after a radical hysterectomy as well. Has kept my appetite up during treatments as well. I don’t see any downsides to this for me personally. I wish the same for everyone who tries this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandra | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribe this medication for heavy bleeding. I was having a period every two weeks very heavy lots of pain headache cramping. I have been on this medication for a month and a half. I have not had a period yet I have not had any symptoms of a metro cycle no more pain no more headaches I was hesitant to take it because of everybody saying, they would gain weight I have not gained a pound, my appetite has not increased. I am so very thankful for this medication. Surgery was my only other option. I highly recommend if you’re having extreme frequent menstrual cycles. I am currently taking 40 mg twice a day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope1969 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
5/30/2022
Condition: cachexia due to malignant neoplastic disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stage 4 lung cancer. When my father came to be in My care 24/7, he was on magestrol 40mg twice a day. His appetite was amazing, he was full of energy and yes! He was eating around the clock. I enjoyed cooking for him because he loved and enjoyed my cooking. Feb. 12,2022 was when he moved in with me. I had to change his oncologist because he was previously living in another county. I ask his new oncologist to PLEASE give my father a refill, but for some reason he prescribed DRONABINOL. My father had a gap of 2 months with no appetite stimulant. As soon as I started my dad on Drinabinol, his personality changed, he was not himself anymore. He was having every single side effect. He was only on this 2 a day medication for 3 days and I understand it takes a few weeks to kick in , but still the side effects and the not eating was making my dad very I’ll. his appetite is sooooo poor it hurts me. He is currently in the hospital, I mentioned all this to the hospital doctor and switched him immediately to Megestrol. I just hope it’s not to late. I do know that this Megestrol does miracles for someone with a poor appetite. If the new Oncologist would have given my father a refill, my dad would probably not be so WEAK , MALNUTRITION, and in and out of the ER. I heard so many good things about DRONABINOL, but this medication was not good for my father. If you know something is working for your loved one, speak up and let the provider know.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
toya | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medicine to gain weight..the first month it stopped my period , I continued to take it now the second month I started spotting out of no where an now it seems the spotting won't stop..I been spotting for a week now. What do I need to do.?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
leah | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to stop heavy menstrual bleeding, It worked for a little while then didn't work that well. Now i just got diagnosed with diabetes because of this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zaynab | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2016
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had lost a lot of weight due to being pregnant stress and becoming addicted to pain meds...my appetite was poor lost 40pds in 7months...I've been taking this meds for 12days...first weigh in was 144pds I'm now 158pds...my advice to whomever taking it..BE SURE TO HAVE FOOD COOKED PREPARED MONEY TO FOOD SHOP OR EAT OUT...THE HUNGER PAIN IS SURREAL... after eating u r still going to be hungry have snacks bread whatever all praises due to Allah I get food stamps otherwise I don't know what I will do...I will definitely stop taking th meds becuz th hunger pain is REAL!!!! BEST WISHES ON UR JOURNEY Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mshell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heavy vaginal bleeding that seemed to stop only when anemic. Got blood transfusions and flow started again. Couldn't keep any food down(no appetite) nor could I keep the iron pills to try to cure the anemia. Finally diagnosed with stage1 uterine cancer. Have some itchiness but now able to keep food down(and actually want to eat) and get more than 5 feet without feeling like I am going to pass out. Actually experiencing slight weight loss though inactivity had me way overweight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After one week on Megastrol I have gained three pounds and feel more energetic, my weight went from 98Lbs to 86Lbs over the last year, unexplained. No cancer or HIV diagnosed. So far, I am very happy, no adverse reaction to medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/9/2013
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am no longer producing progesterone and megestrol has helped me and has ceased my periods. Change of life is no picnic!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skeeter | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive been under weight 4 many years. so tried of people say eat cheese burgers. so i started taking it every day. i have went from 97 to 118 in 2 months. i can tell am filling out in legs and places i havent had weight on 4 long time. i went from size 1 to size 3. i havent weighed this much in years and 4 once i am eating again the way i should. before i would just eat handfuls of chips and that's it. and other times i would pig out. but now am eating everyday and not just half my plate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RBrown108 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine for prolonged menstrual bleeding. It stopped it effectively. I was also under weight with no appetite, it solved that too, I am actually hungry again and have a taste for things I normally wouldn't eat.. But I experience a tightness in my thighs and calves. Is this a side effect? Or maybe its the positive weight gain and I am not used to it. 95lbs to 110 in about a month. So far so good!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/25/2013
Condition: Metastatic Endometrial Carcinoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

doing well. trying to maintain my weight, as I am already overweight. have gained about eight lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginny31937 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/1/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband is 90 yrs old with a loss of appetite. The Dr. prescribed Megastrol. It helped his appetite He has been put on hospice, not for end of life care, but his Dr was not a gerentologist. That Dr. took him off it because if negatively affects the liver. He now doesn't eat & has lost 6 pounds over 3 wks. Do, my question is how much damage can it do to the liver, and which is worse, dying of malnutrition or liver loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VEIVIPHINZ | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

VERY EFFECTIVE FOR ME.. I AM 5'2" IN HEIGHT AND HAVING HARD TIME TO GAIN WEIGHT.... WORKED LIKE MIRACLE, FROM 90 LBS TO 98 LBS IN JUST 2 WEEKS..... I AM TAKING THE LIQUID FORM, IT'S MUCH EASIER FOR ME... THE TASTE IS FINE... MY TARGET WEIGHT IS 115 LBS, THEN WHEN I REACH MY GOAL I WILL SLOWLY AND GRADUALLY STOP.... I DO HAVE SOMETIMES HAVE SHORTNESS OF BREATH BUT I THINK IT IS FROM EATING TOO MUCH FOOD AT A TIME :) AND THERE IS NO MORE SPACE AROUND MY BELLY AREA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark D | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff did WONDERS helping me gain weight and my appetite was fantastic. WARNING TO MEN TAKING THIS: This stuff will kill your sex drive, cause breast growth, and ... well, shrink your penis. I (and my wife) sincerely hope that discontinuing use will reverse this nasty (and not listed in the meds info) side effect. So if you're a guy, only use if you MUST, and only for as short a time as possible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pj1981 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/18/2012
Condition: Cancer in the Lining of the Uterus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medicane for over two years now for endometrial hyperplasia. My condition has improved and I was able to lower my meds. I did gain weight when I started taking the meds but have been able to lose some since the meds were lowered.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fs | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 24 hr the medication causes the patient not to control her urination. She is weak, confused, losing mobility and etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
twins | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed for post-menopausal bleeding. It was prescribed for 10 days. I've gained 15 pounds in three months. I'm 5'4" and weight 207 pounds. I've lost 3 pounds in one month on a supervised diet. I was rushed to the ER last Saturday with chest pains. I had a cardiac catheterization which showed a mild tear in my artery which, according to the cardiologist was likely the result of using megace.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More