Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

i have fibromyalgia and my left shoulder has been having muscle spasms so bad that i could hardly move my neck and i was taking flexril and all that did was cause dizziness and then my doctor gave me methocarbamal 500 mg 2 tabs.. 4xs a day and that works for my spasms and i have had no side effects and i do not take them with my tramadol either. my advice for anyone trying out new meds.. do not ta...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

I just started it two days ago, so I really don't know.

Shared reviews and ratings

B | 35-44 | Female | Patient
5/17/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Personally the medicine is not working for me. I have too much drowsiness with it also. I also have noticed that I have had to use my inhaler more frequently since I started the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tamara | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/15/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to help sleep after playing too much tennis. Prescribed after knee replacement surgery and hip replacement surgery for spasms. Works great in all instances!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AlwaysInPainUgh | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was hit head on by a drunk driver at 75 MPH several years ago and have had issues with the injuries sustained from that accident. Broken Pelvis, Hips, SI Joint Disfunction, L1-L5 all compacted and now have herniation, bulging or degenerative disc disease. I have tried Flexeril, Soma, Valium which led to over sedation and despite the fact they worked I needed to be present in the life of the people around me. Switching to Methocarbamol 750mg x 4 Daily has helped me reach that goal. I am not overtly sedated, I am also in a manageable amount of discomfort. There is no silver bullet out there that will completely remove all of the pain or spasms 100%. Our body knows its still injured and despite the medication nerve endings will still fire, and pain receptors will still respond. I do highly recommend this medication as a viable option, that can be taken (at least for me) in conjunction with pain medication without causing me to enter an alternate reality of stupor. Life is messy. Sometimes you have to hurt to feel better to know the body is healing, and progressing. Masking it 100% of the time does not heal what is wrong; and if you are like me where the injury will never be fully healed - well - that sucks - but being able to live, experience and remember what you've done is far better than the alternative zombie effect that can occur. If you have not tried this medication, I would recommend talking to your doctor and giving it a go. It not only took care of some of the pain, and most of the muscle cramps and spasms but also allowed me to keep my clarity of mind and body. I hope this helps other people in the same way!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gloria | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have COPD and get spasms which is very painful. I have been taking methocarbam for a week. It sure has helped, no problems at all. I am grateful for the relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate001 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have migraines that are triggered by muscle tightness. I take half a 500mg pill at night when I’m feeling tense, sore, etc. It has helped me tremendously!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LET'S GO BRANDON | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/24/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have many issues with my back I broke it back in 93 t 6 7 and 8, lumbar issues about AP lateral lumbar fusion at l5 s1 I have cervical issues are supposed to have surgery on my neck too but been on lots of meds this one didn't help at all the best muscle relaxer out there the old one it's called soma it's the only spasm medication that really works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FtdIII | 55-64 | Male | Patient
2/6/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sweetie Pie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication post-op for Laminoplasty surgery. A day after taking 2 doses i had an urgent need to urinate and did not make it to the bathroom. Today, after two doses yesterday and two today I had the same experience. When looking at drugs or conditions that do not interact with this drug I found you should not take it if you have kidney disease which I do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brett | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/2/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treats my chronic back pain very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol weir | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started it for relaxing my neck. 3 xs a day 500 MG. I just take it at night or PRN. I have left side of the neck tightness and cracking. Im 66 and a woman. Arthritis since 2000. Multiple joint replacements. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/17/2024
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did absolutely nothing for my shoulder pain. I got prescribed something else and that is now working for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLS | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug didn't seem to make any kind of difference.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CarAccidentGirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in a pretty bad car accident two days ago and ended up going to the ER to make sure I didn’t have any broken bones or traumatic head injuries.. I was already quite sore 2hrs after the accident when I got to the ER.. well long story short, they prescribed 600mg ibuprofen (which is laughable because I already had 800mg at home) and (2) - methocarbamol 750mg to be taken three times a day.. today is the first say I’ve had the meds and I ended up taking the three doses of the metho pretty early in the day and still being very very sore and in pain to the point that I am going to go to a primary care doc or urgent care tomorrow to see if I can get something else. My chest hurts so bad from my seatbelt, my entire body is sore and my head hurts most likely from the airbag or maybe me hitting it on something.. this stuff is not working enough to even make it comfortable for me to do normal things like take a shower or get dressed. I didn’t realize how bad all of this would be even without broken bones etc.. and this stuff does not help nearly as much as it needs to. I don’t even have muscle spasms so I’m not sure why this was prescribed ha Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gail C | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/29/2023
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a little confused as to why if taking a tablet form of methocarbonol it is not easy to use ??????? I have been taking this medication for almost 6 months now and it works great for my muscle pain. I have CLL and Fibromyalgia so my pain is quite intense throughout my whole body many times a day if I do not take my methocarbonol along with my other meds for my CLL and Fibromyalgia. I haven’t had nearly any problems or side effects from my Metho as we call it at home. The one side effect I do have is sleep talking lol. I have woke myself up talking or laughing several times in the last six months. My hubby finds it funny. I go right back to sleep and still feel as rested as when I’m not talking in my sleep ?? I hope anyone who has pain gives this medication a chance if prescribed for you by your doctor. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Puzzled | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2023
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a discectomy 2020 S1L5, and following surgery I knew I would need a couple injections twice a year to manage the pain! With PT 2 x weekly, the pain has been under control, however long term I knew that I really wanted to be rid of the pain, which I found out, wouldn't happen. I would need the injections which could possibly last 3-6 months. In the meantime, I put off the injections because the pain was not that severe and my doctor advised me to come in when it is, due to wanting to make sure the injections worked to get rid of the pain. I was put on 750mg of Methocarbamol 3 x a day, but I have never taking it as directed. I have been taking 1 tab 2 maybe 3 times a week and it helps. My only concern is, since I have been taking it, my left shoulder has this weird pain with movement. If I move my shoulder towards the back as if im stretching, I get this pain that paralyzes my arm and I use my right arm to help secure it back to a regular position, but the pain lingers and I have to be careful with how I move it moving forward. I do take other meds for HBP, but the doctors knows that. I was wondering if anyone has experienced that? Thank you Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2023
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just been given this instead of Valium and within 20 mins, i feel absolutely off my face!!! i never get this with Valium, and i normally have a very high tolerance for medication. I am trying to do conference calls for work but i dont trust myself, im all over the place like ive been drinking all day, very weird. Also i dont think its relaxing my back spasm, i think it makes you so smashed that you dont realise you are in pain! very weird experiance, much prefer diazepam far less side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
methocarbamol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2023
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Methocarbamol for 1 month now after spine surgery. It works well. However, a very strange thing happens. When I take it at bedtime it causes me to talk in my sleep!!! Not a brief statement but incessant talking all night!!! I don't realize it when it's happening but I have woken myself up and my husband just laughs at me. No other medication has ever done this to me. Any ideas why this might happen?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monique | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/13/2023
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take a couple of 500 mg tablets a day when needed for back or neck pain. They don't make me sleepy or cause me headaches like other muscle relaxers have. I just notice after a while I'm not noticing the pain as much. I do not have stomach issues with it at all. Sometimes I take it when I have a tension headache along with ibuprofen in the hopes it will help some. It's hit or miss there since I have headaches and migraines a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FourthDimensionX | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This year I've started having back pain and spinal condition in the lumbar my last trip to the ER they decided to stop playing their prescription pad games and stopped giving me anti inflammatories and flexeril and put me on tramadol and methocarbamol with a chronic severe pain diagnosis. The methocarbamol is effective and is my favorite muscle relaxer because I can take it and not be knocked out 45 minutes later so I can actually take it 4 times a day as needed whether I'm at work or on the couch or whereverRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristine | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2022
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cervical myelomalacia and narrowing from C6-T2. Tizanidine 4 mgs was short acting and I woke up at 3am, like a light switch. Then I was switched to 750mgs Methacarbamol 4 X’s a day and I’m thinking if this lasts, I can postpone my cervical decompression surgery. It would be posterior due to a 4 level ACDF that was done in 2010. Those surgeries are waaay more painful since muscle is cut. Hospitals are so mean after these aggressive surgeries, I’m trying to delay it with muscle relaxers and medical cannabis concentrate in a capsule BID. Methacarbamol helps with spinal cord injury spasticity ?? if the dose is right.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More