Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

123 People found this comment helpful

Before this medication I was absolutley a mess. I was crying almost everyday, on my days off from work I would lay on the couch and would not get up all day. I had stopped going out with friends, gained over 30 lbs, and overall just didn't care about anything. I decided it was time to take action and as much as I thought, oh this is a phase and I will snap out of it, I realized I couldn't do it on...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

My 19 year old daughter starting taking this medication Dec. 18 to treat for clinical depression. On Jan 16, she overdosed on the wellbutrin. Her behavior and mood since she started taking wellbutrin has gone downhill. She survived the overdose but had many seizures. She is now in a psych ward under a 14 day hold.

Shared reviews and ratings

Monica G | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I quit vaping and smoking with this medication. I was able to abstain for a year and a half while on the extended release form of this medicine. However the side effects were unbearable I had chronic headaches, severe constipation, chronic nausea, and high blood pressure. So my doctor switched me to initial release to taper off the medication. The withdrawal was unbearable like I had the flu, so nauseous I lost 7 pounds in a month. I went back smoking to cope with the withdrawal and now I’m quitting smoking all over again. Gonna try the patches now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RegrefulDad | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/27/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication killed my 15 year old daughter. DON"T EVER GIVE IT TO YOUR CHILD. It give depressed people the energy to commit suicide. IT IS A VERY DANGEROUS DRUG. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Made my daughter so anxious she had to kill herself to get relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tkgmom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/25/2023
Condition: Depressed Mood Disorder Occurring Every Year at the Same Time
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for over 10 years. I am at 450 mg daily. So, max dosage now. I can tell a difference if I forget to take it too. I was taking with Lexapro but have been taken off of the compound recently due to some other medical issues. I think the Wellbutrin helps me maintain weight, still trying to lose on that side. Wellbutrin was supposed to help with that I was once told. Not really seeing that effect. Overall I like the med and how I feel on it. I've never had any issues or side effects that have been noticeable to me. I try to stay very aware of starting and stopping meds and especially when new ones are added or taken away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Generaljake | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PTSD, was taking Venlafaxine, issue with evening depression. Terrible change, increased nightmares, nightsweats, zinging from spinal to brain, cant hear, very pronounced additional ring. Increased anger, loss of patients, worst med change I have ever gone through.,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only antidepressant that actually relieves my suicidal ideation. It is a wonder drug as far as making me less depressed and more motivated. I'm able to get up and do things with the energy it gives me. I've taken it for years at 150mg and just got it adjusted to 300. I experienced mild side effects like trembling, feeling jittery, loose stools, and increased general anxiety. However, I've learned to cope with the effects and feel that the benefit outweighs the risk. I would recommend to anyone who previously struggled with amphetamines and is depressed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa Richardson | 25-34 | Female | Patient
2/11/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on the medication for almost 4 months. In the first month, it seemed to work, then after that, nothing. & after 4 months, I have noticed that once a month for about 3-4 days, I’m incredibly nauseous all day. Have the worst headaches. Absolutely no energy & no motivation to do a thing. It’s the worst days ever, I have 3 kids so I definitely don’t need that. I fight it of course bc they need me. But it’s very hard. I don’t recommend this medication to anyone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CFS | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/4/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this for almost 5 years. I was very depressed when the psychiatrist gave me this, and it seemed to kick in right away. I felt great for a few weeks on it. Increased mood, productivity, and increased sex drive and better orgasms. As time went on, the effects began to lessen to where I no longer felt that it made much of a difference. I was on 300mg and I was not going to increase it, but I continued taking it. Looking back, I think it elevated my anxiety because I started avoiding people on the street thinking they would attack me after watching some True Crime youtube videos, and I started experiencing a fear of flying when I had never been afraid to get on a plane before. Then last spring, my dad was diagnosed with myeloma, which gave me severe health anxiety. My anxiety was through the roof, I had panic attacks, and literally felt like I would die any minute. There was a tiger in the bushes and I needed to flee. My GP ordered a blood test and they found a very high amount of Wellbutrin in my system. She decreased my dose to 150mg. I then discussed it with a new psychiatrist and he told me to stop taking it. From my own research, I concluded that, since it acts on noradrenaline, it was basically keeping me in fight or flight at all time. I told my doctor this and he said that was correct. My anxiety got so much better after I stopped Wellbutrin. Bottom line: if you just have depression, it's good. If you also have anxiety, I would advise you to stay away or get a low dosage until you find out how it affects you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Wellbutrin for about 4 years now, I absolutely love it, it kicked in fast for me when I first started taking it along with 20mg Lexapro. It has extremely benefitted me by helping me quit self harm and it works very well when it comes to suicidal ideations, I used to deal with self harm and intense suicide urges but Wellbutrin has taken away 80% of the severity

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annomous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking generic Wellbutrin 150 XL got 2.5 months. This was added to the Lexapro 10 mg I have been taking. Lexapro worked however needed a bit more help. Doctor suggested adding the Wellbutrin. Since taking the Wellbutrin, intolerable symptoms occurred. Excessive constant thirst. It feels like internal organs are reacting to no water. Stabbing “ice pick” type head aches all day. Scary as hell. Restless at night (trouble sleeping), paranoid, and constipation. No thanks to all of this. Weaning myself off of this and stick to Lexapro. Oh, the Wellbutrin did literally nothing for me as far as depression. Making appt. with my doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this medication for 6 weeks for depression and anxiety. 150mg XL once in the morning and I have finally felt back to myself. I never wanted to take antidepressants because I was concerned about the side effects but aside from 2-3 weeks of feeling snappy and angry, it’s settled and I actually feel really good, full of energy and happy. So I’d say it has worked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tina | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for me when I lost my mom. No judgment here but I believe some of these other descriptions are because of them not reading all of the side effects. As soon as you don’t feel right you should call your immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started 150 xl x1 per day a couple weeks ago and it's been great so far. Depression, ADHD and anxiety are my enemy. I've literally done as little as possible the past few years. Now I feel like I've woken up from a long nightmare. I haven't had a major side effects. A couple nights I didn't sleep well and one slight dizzy thing for a couple seconds but that's all. I have good energy and feel happy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee Tapley | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lived with depression 1/2 my life. My doctor prescribed Wellbutrin XL and the 1st pill I took I could feel the depression leave my body like a ghost leaving my body. I took it for years with no side effects. I have tried other meds that did nothing. I lost my insurance and couldn't afford it and went back into depression again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Douglas Thron | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on bupropion xl 11 weeks, I'm still having side effects, is that common? Will they go away?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wellbutrin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking wellbutrin xl 300 mg for a couple of years. Recently the wellbutrin had stopped working so my dr(nurse practitioner) upped my dose to 450mg daily. I thought I was going to die! Body tense up, couldn't see well, tremors,etc. It was awful. This med has a stimulant in it. I don't even drink caffeine so I'm super sensitive to stuff. Beware! I had to call poison control and make sure I wasn't going to die and I was in complete hell for hours. Don't just go work what your Dr tells you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi everyone. I’m a very healthy 25 year old and this drug, on the FOURTH DAY of taking it, caused me a lot of harm. I was driving home, everything was totally fine, not stressed at all, and then ALL of a sudden- I got dizzy, couldn’t breathe, and almost passed out. Luckily I was able to quickly pull over and call 911. At this point I was shaking uncontrollably, couldn’t swallow my own spit, hyperventilating and still feeling like passing out. My hands and feet were purple and freezing. For the first time in my life I had to go to the ER, and was taken there in an ambulance. Once getting there, for a little while I felt pretty calm, so I thought I should probably just go home instead of being treated. But shortly after, another of these “panic attack” type things came on. This repeated 5 more times at the hospital while they ran tests. (Everything came back normal but blood pressure was very high as well as my pulse at times). eventually they gave me Ativan and then shot me up with Midazolam (a sedative) in order to get my heart rate back down. It was truly terrifying, I was really scared that I was going to have a seizure or something or even die. Reading some of these reviews of the times it worked for people made me really want to try out this anti-depressant but PLEASE re-consider if you want to save yourself thousands of dollars in ER bills. If this can happen to a healthy 25 year old, it can happen to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stressd&Dpressd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Wellbutrin 150 mg approximately 1.5 months ago. Prior to starting this anti-depressant I was crying uncontrollably everyday for weeks, I had no motivation, nothing brought me joy, and had loss of focus and productivity. On the 1st week of taking Wellbutrin 150mg I experienced ínstense headaches and nausea & not much change in my depressed behavior. By the 2nd week, I felt better, more enthusiastic and headache & nausea was gone. Despite not being sad anymore, I still didn’t feel happy. It was like an in between; however it did help minimize my anxiety & irritability. Now fast forward a month later and my MD increased my dose to 350mg. I have reverted back to my depressed self prior to starting the medication all together. Not sure if it’s temporary but it’s been a week now and I’m fighting back tears throughout the day and I’m nauseous all the time with occasional headaches & loss of motivation. I feel helpless and my intrusive thoughts have come back. Had anyone else experienced this after increasing their dose of Wellbutrin?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on 75mg twice a day but was inconvenient and didn’t really feel a major change than went to 150 xl in the am I really wasn’t feeling it I looked into it and just started doing 2 in the am (300 mg) 90% improvement! I feel so so much better about life in general, I’m not constant moody I don’t cry on my way to work anymore . It has helped a considerable amount but you also have to grasp the change and work with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this medication around 5 years ago for major depressive disorder. Made the switch to Wellbutrin because I found that taking SSRI's made me incredibly anxious, numb feeling and killed my sex drive. For the first few months on Wellbutrin at 150mg, I noticed a high heart rate, dilated pupils (so light sensitivity), and I had a very hard time sleeping. I didn't drink much but when I did I would have a terrible headache the next day which didn't happen before. BUT after 3 months these symptoms almost all but left. My libedo returned, my mood stabilized and I had a lot more energy in the morning. I also found I had less food cravings which was nice cause I would tend to overeat when I was in a mood. When i upped my dose to 300mg my earlier symptoms returned but only for about a month. Overall very happy with this medication and would recommend it for anyone who has had a hard time using SSRIs! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amar N Muhtaseb | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take generic Wellbutrin XL 300mg once daily. This was the first antidepressant I took after being take off medication for ADHD. I had depressive episodes that resulted in hospitalizations for me wanting to harm myself or others. The medication typically takes about 3 months to work, after the first 3 months I began to notice that my mood was better, my concentration was improving, and I became more social again. I still take it to this day and like the medication because it is a light stimulant but does not have addictive properties like my previous prescription for Adderall Instant Release which was for my adult ADHD.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More