Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

I started this medicine yesterday. Oddly from the rest of the post I read, my doctor ordered me to take this medication in one dose--4 pills at once. He's very good in his field and has 3 GYN offices he works in every week. He also advised me to abstain from sex for a week and no alcohol and ...that I vaginosis is SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED in the form of traditional, anal and oral sex (if your partner ...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I was on 400mg 3 times a day and experienced most of the side effects. On the last day I had stomach pain and diarrhea so I decided not to continue with it. Not sure if the bad bacteria was gone. I would never take this medicine again.

Shared reviews and ratings

ihateflagyl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the worst thing that could have happened to me. The dr prescribed it for gastrointestinal infection. The second day after having 2 rounds of the medication I had severe stomach cramps, worse than what it was before, I was nauseous out of my mind, I had severe anxiety and panic attacks to a point where I felt like a crazy person. I couldn't eat or drink anything and its day 5 after having stopped the medication I am still nauseous and have no appetite. It was the WORST experience of my life! I suffered from GAD General anxiety disorder years ago and I was completely healed until I was put on this medication now I have to take medication to battle my anxiety and panic attacks all over again. This medication must be taken off the market!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
?? | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn’t experience much nausea like most reviews but had bad stomach chest & neck pains since day 1 of the meds. Also had constant nightmares and heightened anxiety. Definitely ask for a different medicine if prescribed this it’s a very tough course.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jayjay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2024
Condition: Inflammation of the Endometrium
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s been the worst type of adverse effect from medication use. I am on my 5 day and I feel heart palpitations, fever, and intense body aches. I read the reviews because I couldn’t have gotten Covid back to back and that’s when I realized it’s the flagyl prescribed by my doctor. I went to my doctor complaining about incontinence and he insisted i had inflammation while telling me I had had a normal blood panel, without any current testing. I’m livid because he even seemed annoyed I was returning for help with incontinence. I feel horrible as if I’m sick with Covid again, bed-ridden and sensitive to cold temperatures. My body hurts so bad. I would never recommend this medicine to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/15/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works, but whoever is prescribing needs to be aware and pay close attention to other medications you are taking.I'm in the medical field.I'm always sure to educate my patients on the side effects if you don't avoid alcohol,avocados,banana,sometimes chocolate etc.Especially if you're on antidepressants or other medications be cautious.Your provider should be communicating this stuff to you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Traumatized | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2024
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Less than half an hour after taking my first dose, i started to get teary eyed,and then i began sneezing non stop. Then my palm and feet had these feeling like there's a thousand needles pressing them,then the itchiness began. Big red hives started and then it was all over my body,my back, legs all over and my skin felt so hot and terrible itch all over. Felt like all my body hair is standing and you can see my skin,it was horrible. I was rushed to the hospital and almost collapsed there. When it was like hard for me to breathe,i thought i was already going to die. Terrible trauma from this Flagyl. Hope i can upload my body pictures for proof. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed metronidazole for a 5 day course 3 times a day after a hemorrhoidectomy, by the start of day 5 I decided to stop taking them as I have never felt so bad in my life, feeling sick, heartburn, pressure in my head ears and throat, depression, anxiety, no sleep, weird thoughts, heart palpitations .... it's now day 7 and I still feel awful even though not taken them for 48 hours.... i think they are given post operative so you don't get an infection but they are the worst tablets I've ever had, i have had a splenectomy, caesarean and ovary removal all open surgery and have never felt as bad as I did on these... my haemorrhoidectomy is a bit uncomfortable but not as bad as taking these tablets!!! NEVER AGAIN I guess they may have stopped me getting an infection but I don't know. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DesperateOzzie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2023
Condition: Infection Around a Tooth
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Call me Dopey and Sleepy.... Had a tooth pulled and he said they were signs of a 'small' abscess. By that night my cheek felt like it had a tennis ball. And the pain.... Went 4 days without taking anything for it. He did give me a script for another antibiotic but said if I just saline washed id be ok and if I wasn't by the 5th day go and get. Anyhoo ..... Xmas week..... Need I say anymore!? Fortunately my husband had been just prescribed this antibiotic and I know, I know ... Don't judge me. I hadn't eaten in 4 days and I was in immense pain. Did some quick research and I'm like ok, it's stronger so might be able to knock it out. Well...... Took and within 10 minutes I was dopey and sleepy but the tooth pain was gone. Managed to pass out though......it totally knocked me out. Was dopey the rest of the day. Took second dose around dinner time and I was ok. But hell. The next dose.... Even hubby said he hasn't seen me like it. I was drinking a hot drink and fell asleep whilst drinking! Needless to say...... I won't be taking it anymore. And reading all the comments here and doing a deeper dive, hubby won't be taking it neither. ???? For knocking someone out who usually gets prescribed strong sleepers ???? For tooth pain ???????????? For safety Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Milmari | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2023
Condition: Peptostreptococcus Infection After Vaginal Cuff Surgery
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medicine has been effective in improving my symptoms. But the side effects are horrible. Is the taste of metal, headaches, lightheadedness, constant tiredness, nightmares, anxiety and annoying abdominals among others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whywhywhy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2023
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this for Hpylori. My gastro has me taking this and tetracycline and omeprazole. I’m taking both tetra and flagyl at the same time as instructed by my gastro and terra you have to take on an empty stomach and flagyl with food. This is tricky. The flagyl makes me feel VIOLENTLY ILL when I don’t eat. So I have to stagger my medications and stay up until 1 am to get the doses in. It’s so annoying. Side effects: my pee is foamy and my kidneys have been hurting. I’ve had to pee more frequently. Headaches and nausea are the worst. It makes me feel dizzy and it’s hard to drive while taking this but I have to I can’t get out of work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2023
Condition: Infection Around a Tooth
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For tooth abcess. Took for 3 days, felt so horribly ill, felt brain foggy, and head fell pressure, palpitations, extreme anxiety, lethargy- has a night time dose in 3rd day if it, foreboding feeling nor to take it before sleep , so didn't. Woke up in morning with massive body rashes, realised was allergic and stopped. I would be very cautious about taking this drug- I have never had a drug allergy to anything before except this one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2023
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for the above stated condition. I took first and only dosage before leaving home for work...I literally lives less than 5 miles from work. I was on the phone with my father and by the time I was at the stop sign ... 5 min max since I took Flagyl... I started getting really confused and foggy on what I was even talking about or what he was saying. I let him go and parked. When I walked across the street to my office I couldn't put together a sentence that made sense to my supervisor and kept stating the same thing over and over. Praise God my daughter came to take me to ER waste of time...they thought it was of course a panic attack NOT. MY DR IMMEDIATELY took me off of it and had me take benadrylRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SisiJones | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2023
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst vomiting of my life. Had to take this whole pregnant with BV. I wouldn't take this again. My gut is so messed up! I swear it affects my antidepressants too, it felt like they weren't working! Be careful on this drug and ask for a different one if prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Conniebo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2023
Condition: Infection of a Woman's Reproductive Organs
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Metallic taste check, nausea, check, Abdominal pain yes, burning urination yes but worst is the swollen aching girl parts, this med leaves me moaning so loud my husband had to sleep on the couch. Thought I might be having a heart attack or abdominal aneurysm , two more pills to go thank God!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2023
Condition: Infection caused by the Bacteria Anaerobes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really felt the need to post a review that I had absolutely zero side effects and it completely resolved the trich infection. Not only that but I took it without food and drank alcohol (small amount but did have a few drinks for a birthday celebration). I literally felt absolutely nothing other than a slight metal taste for a couple of hours after taking each pill. I was on 500mg x 2 per day. The other thing I wanted to post is how long it takes to work - pill #3 (so day 2) I felt the reduction in vaginal inflammation and itching. By pill #4 I felt almost completely back to normal. If you’re like me, this infection absolutely ravaged my vaginal area. The itching, burning and irritation was so extremely intense I could barely stand it. And I’ve birthed a human. So I was absolutely tracking exactly how long it took to feel better. So thankful for this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmma01 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2023
Condition: Infection Around a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed generic Metronizadole for skin infection. On third day, my eyes swelled up and became very itchy. Came off it. Then dentist prescribed Flagyl for a tooth abscess. I didn't know it was the same antibiotic! Extreme reaction afteress than 1 day - whole body swelling and severe itchiness with no relief. Doc took me off it and I needed steroids to get rid of the tormenting itch and the swelling. I fear it would kill me if I had it a third time around!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
7/23/2023
Condition: Infection caused by Bacteroides Fragilis Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acute diverticulitis. Cancer patient. The worst drug to ever have to take. Abdominal pain is as bad as Chemo induced treatments. I just want to die.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Martin | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2023
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is one of the worst things you can put in your body. Awful side effects that leave you traumatised for life. Literal poison. Hearing problems, heart pain, bloody stool and urine, fever, worst depression/anxiety episodes, testicular pain and problems breathing. Never trusting pills ever again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/30/2023
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst drug I have ever taken. The pain from this medication is worse than the infection after 7 days I still have severe pain and I believe it's from this antibiotic do not take this medicine!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2023
Condition: Infection of a Woman's Reproductive Organs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never review medications but this antibiotic put me into a panic like I’ve never had before. I generally have baseline anxiety but the last week, I have had non stop panic attacks, dissociation, brain fog, confusion, dizziness, “glazed” look on my face, nausea and no appetite. I genuinely considered going to the ER for my panic three different times, but luckily had medication on hand to help me before it got to that point. It felt like an utter feeling of doom and no way out. I usually get anxiety (not panic) attacks once a year IF THAT. Please be careful with this medication if you do have baseline anxiety - I literally felt like I was going crazy. Second full day off of the antibiotic and I feel less dissociative but still groggy and just overall not right. Hoping to recover more as time goes on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2023
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treated for asymptomatic “BV” along with a bad UTI. This medication burned a chemical trail through my GI tract and sent me to the ER after pill number 2. I broke an arm , and an ankle, and had a bulging disc and none of that can compare to the pain I had from the gastritis that developed. I’m sure this medication is great for prolific parasite burdens but it is not appropriate for asymptomatic BV. I now have terrible gastritis that has kept me out of work for three days and I have my first ever yeast infection. This med is way over prescribed for mild infection. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More