Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

109 People found this comment helpful

I just need to share this because it may help someone. I didn't want to have my daughter on meds but every year she complains about darkness and anxiety in the winter. Straight A student, driven, attractive girl seems to have everything all together, but I just found out she has been suffering for years. At day 2 on Prozac- she broke up with her boyfriend and finally heard what I have been tryi...

Most voted negative review

19 People found this comment helpful

I see from reviews here a lot of people had good results, I am not one of those people.. Everyone reacts differently.. I took one pill a long time ago and I actually had side-effects that lasted for 10 years. It gave me panic attacks and the taste of burning plastic in my mouth... My first day on Prozac I ended up calling 911, cause I thought I was having a heart attack, but it ended up being my ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking nuzak 20 mg 2 months ago cos I had depression,fear and anxiety and I just recently gave birth so I would constantly think I was going to die or fall and die if I’m walking so I became depressed and didn’t even want to go out anywhere if I did go out I would have panick attacks and feel weak then my doctor prescribed this then I first got worse before I got better the side effects were crazy cos it made me have suicidal thoughts at some point . Fast forward now I’m on 40mg and living the life I used to live no fear and no panic attacks and I meditate a lot with bible verses and even joined a Bible study and it’s working wonders I don’t feel like I will die anymore.i hope someone will read this and get themselves a Bible too cos it helped me to fight this Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just done with this | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is horrible. First few days were good and I noticed my mood improved but as time went on I started feeling like a zombie, completely detached. Everything was flat. It took away any interest I had in anything and I started having trouble just getting out of bed. I felt dead inside. I never had that problem before. I also had intense dreams that often woke me up in a panic. I struggled with it for almost 3 months as I was told things would get better. Things just got worse and worse. It set my recovery back so badly. So i got off it, tapering for a couple of weeks, per my doctors recommendation. From everything I read, there wasn't supposed to be much in the way of withdrawal symptoms because of its long half life. Hah! I experienced fatigue, body aches, intense food cravings, headaches, weird thoughts and worsening of anxiety. Depression, anxiety and panic attacks are much easier to handle than the effects of this medication. On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give it a -100Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fortyeight | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/7/2024
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac helped my anxiety and depression and really improved my overall mood. It made a big difference

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel like this medicine is making me feel worse, paranoid, racing thoughts not so much, memories an thoughts from years ago that I've not really had before! 10 mg An there is also 20 mg I'm having dark thoughts An also I changed from Lexapro to Prozac in Nov An it's been a real roller coaster ride!! Suggestions Advice (Be kind please)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eventually | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/16/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prozac is good in terms of getting rid of anxiety and some parts of depression. Other than that, it is a horrible drug that has even worse side effects. The reason I had to take this is because of horrible irrepressible thoughts triggered by a traumatic event that my parents put me through. I will start off with the fact that after 3 weeks of taking this medication (for me), I felt like I was disassociating from reality at a rapid rate. I felt like a zombie that could no longer feel emotion or anything of that nature. I have been off of Prozac for about two months now and I cannot feel emotions to the effect that I could before I took it. Also, Prozac has completely and utterly obliterated my sex drive, and given me erectile dysfunction (I know.. amazing right!?!?) It has also impacted my confidence and as an aspiring model, that's definitely not something I needed. I don't get excited for anything anymore, nothing makes me happy anymore, I can barely cry, and I want to kill myself more than ever :) Please, for me, never torture yourself by taking this medicine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Prozac for 3 months. My anxiety is way worse with paranoia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lstephens | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/20/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication saved me from intense anxiety and panic attacks. Occasionally i will have to adjust dosage at stressful times in my life, raising the dosage. I have noticed on higher dosages I feel alot more fatigue and start to feel a little numb. But this is manageable for me when needed over having the anxiety and panic attacks. I’ve been on it for about 5 years now. I still have some anxiety which i believe is just me. But it is manageable now instead of debilitating. I still feel like me on this medication. If anything i’m happier. I’ve never been on any other anxiety / Depression medication. This is the one that works best in my family. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2023
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst drug I have ever taken in my 82 years of life. Even after stoping the use of the drug for 14 days I am having problems of a slow heart beat. I HATE THIS DRUG. It is totally without virtue. I used the drug for 4 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
user1998 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/9/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having occasional chest pain/tightness from anxiety and had a few panic attacks so I tried taking this drug. I was on it for about three weeks, first few days felt nothing, after that my anxiety was worse than it has ever been along with other symptoms such as weird tastes in my mouth, rapid heart rate, and just overall feeling crappy. Out of the three weeks I was on it, I felt good (having no anxiety or anxiety-related symptoms) for 3 days. Stopped taking today so I'm hoping I can go back to feeling normal. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oliver | 13-18 | Nonbinary | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/2/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication mainly for my depression, but it really didn't do anything for that. I'm now on a second anti-depressent which has actually helped. I stayed on fluoxtine though, because it really helped my anxiety. I'm so much more confident now, and don't get panic attacks just trying to talk to somebody new. The worst part of this medication was the NAUSEA. It was BAD. I could barely eat for months, and even threw up a couple times. It's gone now but that was a really rough couple of months.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me feel worse after a while. It did help at first

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DOL | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/5/2023
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Prozac 20 mg for about 6 months, and it has been helping me feel better. I had so many intrusive thoughts and Panic attacks related to Marijuana. I started with Abilify and had many side affect from sleeping 12 hours a day and wanting to sleep all day. I did gain a couple of pounds since taking Prozac and I had tremours on my hands for a few weeks in the beginning but those are gone. Knowing I had some form of Anxiety my whole life refused to take any medication and Marijuana triggered my intrusive thoughts and Panic attacks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
7/2/2023
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had terrible PMS for years but was reluctant to take another antidepressant because I had bad luck with Paxil - it increased my intrusive thoughts. However finally my irritability and sadness the two weeks leading up to my period every month were getting unbearable. I’ve only been on this for two weeks but already have noticed a big improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Panic Disorder | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/19/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had really bad panic disorder that started when I was 21. For 2 years I did everything but medication to try and help it. Nothing worked. Finally went to my doctor and was honest about everything I felt the last 2 years. She decided to prescribe me 10 mg of Prozac. My first 3-4 weeks were up and down. BUT give it 4 weeks. This drug was a miracle for me and I never had a panic attack since. It seriously saved my life. No side effects besides just always being hungry because I was so happy and I did gain 22 lbs but if you can control your appetite and stay active all should be good! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prozac | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh man tearing up from happy tears reading some people's comments about how amazing this anti-depressant is for them/has been. I read one talking about her daughter and how after just a couple days on it, her life seemed clear again and she was able to do anything and everything again and with confidence! That is exactly how I feel now! This is my third anti -depressant and by far the best!!! Celexa was ok, I never had too bad of side effects on celexa I never felt like I do now on prozac though. Paxil was the worst!!!! I ended up in lock down hospital for suicidal thoughts on it ! I would cry over everything on paxil and the suicidal thoughts were an everyday thing! Please please you guys don't always take your advice about psych meds from your regular doctor! Please go to a psychiatrist who studies medications! My psychiatrist told me right away Paxil makes us gain weight worse than any other anti depressant and yes! I had gained 40 pounds from depression! And no energy! A month in on Prozac and I feel better than I have my entire life! Yes like one other experienceI read, I have confidence again and feel powerful and have the strength and drive to keep fighting to reach my goals. My very abusive ex I am able to move on from now and say what the heck was I thinking? And love myself again!! I am so thankful for my psychiatrist and this medication. Please if you are on an anti-depressant and having suicidal thoughts please please talk to a psychiatrist! If that is not possible tell your doctor/ask about prozac. It has been life changing and I feel so fortunate to still be here today. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ShanDawn47 | 45-54 | Female | Patient
4/10/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the last 30 years I have been on a thousand different antidepressants and antipsychotics, nothing worked ever. About 6 years ago I was lucky and found a psychiatrist that actually listened to me. After I was put on Prozac I felt amazing! I’m happier, my manic episodes that I struggled with for years on top of years have finally started getting better. Now, I get up early, put clothes on instead of wearing my pajamas all day and my mood is now consistent happiness. Don’t get me wrong, I still have really rough days BUT they seem a little easier than before. I have heard awful reviews about Prozac. My mom couldn’t take it but I’m thankful it works on me. I hope this medication keeps working this way, I’ve had more medication than I can count stop working within a month or 2. I’m really happy with Prozac and the combination of other meds together. So far so good! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJ | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/30/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped me. I didn’t gain weight. I did have scary nightmares and weird dreams though. I felt more productive. I did have sexual dysfunctions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
William | 55-64 | Male | Patient
3/28/2023
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with PTSD at the age of 59, after suffering for almost 40 years. The older I got the harder it was to cope and my wife pleaded with me to get help. First round medicine was lexipro at 20mg for a year. A lot of my symptoms were helped but I was still having these sick horrific thoughts. I mentioned this to my therapist and she said the thoughts sounded like those with OCD. I started looking into this as I was under the impression like so many that OCD was mainly "hand washing" compulsions. What it described was me. I mentioned it to my psychiatrist and he agreed with my therapist and weaned me off Lexapro and onto Prozac. It took a few months to get up to 80mg that I take each morning. After 40 years I can't say I feel normal because I don't know what "normal" is. But the depression, anxiety, anger outbursts and my OCD thoughts have gotten manageable. Warning: don't talk about your OCD thoughts with a regular doctor. Seek a therapist or a psychiatrist. They won't think you are sick and perverted. Prozac has.given me my life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol Ruocco | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/27/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on Prozac (30mg) for over 30 yrs. After 1 yr I needed to add Buspar (30mg) - it's the magic combo, until the chaos in the world temporarily gets to me - I then increase Buspar to 40 mg til the crises passes. This has kept me stable and happy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/28/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Writing this because so many people leave negative reviews. Don't be discouraged by the negative comments and remember that sometimes those who had positive experiences with the medication are too busy living their happier, healthier lives to leave a review :) Prozac saved my life and continues to do so every day. I have never had any side effects- just freedom to live my life without severe, severe panic attacks and depression. Do not give up hope, there are wonderful options out there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More