Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

138 People found this comment helpful

After a terrible experience with fluoxetine in the past, I was hesitant to try any other SSRIs, but lexapro has been a real life saver. I started taking it for depression and GAD, and about a month after I got up to 20mg/day, it finally kicked in and I feel amazing. I no longer feel utterly hopeless and useless; I don't dwell constantly on negatives or worry incessantly about everything (in fact, ...

Most voted negative review

41 People found this comment helpful

This drug is pure poison.

Shared reviews and ratings

Brenda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/14/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered with depression and overthinking. A week after starting I already stopped compulsive overthinking. I am two months in now and I feel so much happier. Life feels good again, I now have hope and happiness. I have my life back!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toshi | 45-54 | Male | Patient
2/5/2024
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has ruined my life. Was prescribed it to worry less and help with sleeping. Took 20mg and had instant adverse reaction. It actually gave me insomnia where I couldn’t get a seconds sleep. Also gave me tremors, twitches, high BP, racing pulse, anxiety, extreme irritability, fatigue, dry mouth, nausea, either hot or freezing and weight loss. And this was one pill. Impossible, right? Well it happened and the worst part is this was months ago and the symptoms are still here and getting worse as time goes on. Hate this drug, imo it should never have made it to market. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heffer | 25-34 | Male | Patient
1/25/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for focus an anxiety. I worked to a extent. Best side effect was lasted longer in bed. Worst side effect, I had cardic arrest. Probably from the prolong QT side effect. But doctor wouldn't say it was the medicine. He has no clue why I died and put a ICD in my chest. Since off this med, I know longer have prolong QT an only took Lexapro. So it's safe to say I died from this medicine. But I'll say everyone is different with meds. I just wish Lexapro people would hear from people like me that want them to know about the rare cases that AINT BEING REPORTED like my case. I'm not looking for money. Just need Lexapro to know of issues like mine Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helen C | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2024
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med did wonders for me until the side effects got to be too much. OCD and depression were greatly improved by week 3. I felt awesome and was living life very happily. I never wanted to stop this med, because I felt so good. Then, I began to notice the bad things adding up. I was getting migraines about 3 times a week, had irregular menstrual bleeding, developed sciatic pain, could not enjoy sex, gained 4 pounds the first month, had zero ability to concentrate on difficult tasks, could not sleep through the night, could not cry, was always spaced out, and much more. It's so sad, because the medication was quite effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mammalea | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/3/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Depression- this medication worked great for me. With-in a few days I started to see the world in color again. I cried because I woke up and for the first time in years, everything was vibrant and no longer just shades of grey. I had been depressed so long I forgot the way color really looked. I started making it to work on time. I started texting people back again. I stopped wanting to die everyday. Anxiety- also a great experience. I could tell I missed a dose when I started re-counting meds over and over again at work, shaking, or having panic attacks. On this medication the constant panic and anxiety completely stopped. The issues….. I had to stop taking this medication. I gained almost 15 pounds in 6 months. This is significant for a girl my size. I had frequent urinary issues, my legs would severely swell, and I had hard lumps in my breasts. The doctors said there was no issues on my mammogram and they told me they could not find a reason for my leg swelling to be this severe after ultrasounds on my legs, blood tests and specialist appointments. I almost got to the point that I could not walk. Since stopping Medication a month ago as a trial, my leg swelling, painful breast lumps, and general leg pain have slowly but completely subsided just as my anxiety and depression has came back in full swing. In all- this was my third medication I tried . I feel that this medication is great for the reasons it is created for. If you’re lucky to not have terrible side effects, you probably will feel like a new person like I did. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BD-1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please ignore comments from multiple users who claim they felt incredible or much worse within a week or a day after taking this med. It takes minimum 4 to 6 weeks to work or to have any effect at all on how you feel. For me, it did work. Was actively suicidal. Am no longer, w 4 yr of treatment. Good luck to you out there, you have to give it time to work.. BD-1

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
10/18/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very disappointed this medication didn’t work from me. I have suffered my whole life with GAD, panic attacks, and now agoraphobia. My doctor prescribed 10mg Lexapro and within an hour of taking it my skin was burning, chest pain, vomiting, ear ringing, and spinning. I was afraid to take it again for one week and I cut the dose to 2.5 mg. My body was finally able to adapt to 2.5 mg after 3 months, but I cannot increase it without severe side affects. On such a low dose it hasn’t helped my anxiety at all and now I get consistent brain-zaps, tingling, and a spacey feeling through the day. Doesn’t work for everyone I guess! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oreich12 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been the only antidepressant that has really worked for me and allowed me to feel joy again and keep depression away. It started working for me immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/6/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Lexapro for 3years! I noticed the times I would stop my medication I felt better and more myself. On Lexapro I gained weight, felt depressed, and felt like it suppressed my emotions. Ive continued to take my other medication prescribed but stopped taking lexapro and I see a huge difference

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Benny | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/5/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's great for anxiety and mild depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tessa-Rae Spaugh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/28/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prior to postpartum depression and anxiety, I always thought it was bad or frowned upon to use medication for this reason. I thought I would be weak if I used it but I feel opposite. I felt strong that I laid down my pride and take the medication. First six weeks is pretty bad, you feel the same and might experience nausea and headaches like I did. After 4 weeks I started feeling a little better then after 8 weeks is when it kicked in big time. I was so content and felt like I can breathe again. I was on 10mg from May 2022 - April 2023. The only side-effect throughout the entire time taking it is fatigue. I was constantly tired. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm better off without drugs. This worked great for 2 weeks. I was on cloud 9. Then I started getting irritated at everything ands everyone. Got dumped by several new girlfriends over the course of 4 months. Could barley get erect even while using viagra. And finishing was very difficult. Even self pleasure was impossible. Also it made me itch a lot. I was miserable. Get some therapy. Don't do drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Long Dong | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this by my neurologist for depression and anxiety. It was awful, could not get and maintain a “hard on “ , horrific nausea, and loss off energy. Felt like a zombie after 3 days, feel better. My erections are getting better too??????????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Best thing I ever did was reaching out to GP and starting this medication- haven’t looked back!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lexapro changed my life! It started working almost immediately (I didn’t have the 2 week period of depression/anxiety that most have for some reason) and I feel like a normal human on it. I no longer obsess over things and I just feel like I am functioning normally for the first time ever. I highly recommend. I really haven’t had too many negatives on it.. I have been drowsy and had crazy dreams but other than that everything has been going amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the drug for six weeks. I could not sleep, loss of appetite and burning in feet and hands. I tapered off the drug and my insomnia, lack of appetite, and burning sensation went away over time. The drug did not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LeighAnn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/19/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

STICK WITH IT!! So that everyone doesn’t just think I’m a random, beaming Lexapro user who just had instant magical results, let me tell you that it took a FULL YEAR for me to love this medication. I started taking Lexapro after 9 years of crippling anxiety following a primary infection of CMV. I was literally fine one day with three small kids, sick with mono for two weeks, and couldn’t function normally ever again. (Until now.) For around a year following my illness, I had panic attacks constantly. For NO reason. Hungry. Panic attack. Adrenaline rush from almost slipping. Panic attack. Every little thing sent my nervous system into overdrive. Uncontrollably. It didn’t matter that I wasn’t actually worried about these things. After reading up how to handle post-viral fatigue and other issues, I began exercising, eating clean, etc. I spent nine years trying EVERYTHING to recover. Every little cold would put me out and I got sick constantly. All testing was normal. Thyroid. Vitamin levels. Autoimmune panels. Everything. I felt sick all of the time, everything sent me into terrifying panic attacks, and I was miserable. I dealt with it for nine long years. Depression started to sink in. Not even feelings of sadness or hopelessness. I just didn’t want to deal with panic attacks so I did nothing. I stayed in my comfort zone. After doing that for a long time, the sadness and hopelessness did set in. And then I started to struggle with sleep. After missing work one day for not sleeping for nearly a week, I decided to try meds. Lexapro. It was HELL. I took my first dose at night and passed right out. The first morning, I felt like I was in a dream. Everything looked and felt different and NOT in a good way. I felt awful. Sweats. Stomach ache. Head ache. So gross. I couldn’t eat. I would fall asleep at night fine and then wake up all night staring at the ceiling for no reason. I didn’t even realize I was awake for a while sometimes. Thinking back to the beginning of this drug gives me the creeps. (I started at 10 mg and was told to increase to 20 mg after 7 days. Absolutely NO way did I increase. I was horrified as it was.) I had intrusive thoughts. Weird thoughts. Depression was so much worse. On the other hand. No panic attacks. Immediately (to present day, I have not had one). I combed every inch of the internet for other people’s experiences. Videos. How long did it take to work? How long did it take to at least be in the positive area again. I felt sooooo much worse than when I started. I had to take a week off work because I was glued to the couch. My ex-husband is a psychiatrist and he suggested that unless I was having uncontrollable suicidal thoughts to stick it out. Ugh. I didn’t want to have sex. Nothing was enjoyable. Laying in bed didn’t even feel good. I started to tell myself that if I could make it another day, I’d be good. Weeks passed. Not much improvement. I toyed with increasing before giving up. But I couldn’t bear the thought of the adjustment period again. After maybe 3 months, I began to find tiny bits of “joy” in a few things. Eating. Watching a couple of shows. Still, I felt almost nothing. Numb to everything. No joy. No laughter. No sadness. No emotional reaction to anything. I started looking for some more positives… were there any?! I hadn’t been sick in a while. Which was unusual. I was sleeping through the night once in a while. Not staring at the ceiling anymore. Months passed. I started to notice “good” days. Not just good moments. But bad days were still the majority. Months passed. My sex drive started returning. Good days started to be equal to bad days. I started willingly going places with people. I started a business with a friend. A successful one. Months passed. Good days outnumbered bad days. Some numbness still. But I was able to feel some again too. A year later: I don’t have bad days. Like, I have human bad days, but not depression bad days. I love sex agaiRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to Lexapro from Effexor for depression and anxiety. I started at 5 mg and then increased the dose by 5 mg each week until I got up to 20 mg. Unfortunately, the Lexapro did not help with either anxiety or depression. I did not feel any benefit and then I began having insomnia limiting my sleep to 3-4 hours per night. I stuck with it for 7 weeks and then stopped. Disappointing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelly | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE AT NIGHT! ...unless you like not being able to sleep!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lexapro little over 2 weeks. I thought I was going to die and if I had been made to stay on it, would have wanted to. Everyone begged me to stay long enough to let me get full benefits. I was so sick and depressed couldn’t get out of bed and didn’t want to see anyone. I couldn’t live like that and they finally agreed. I came off, not exactly like my Dr.said but not suddenly. After a week I’ve had some problems. I’m having some good days and some not. Today I had flashbacks of those bad days, anything is better than while on the Lexapro.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More