Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

101 People found this comment helpful

Started seroquel 3 weeks ago and am now finding no mood swings, less anxiety and less racing thoughts. Terrific. Taken at night I can even sleep through the night!

Most voted negative review

29 People found this comment helpful

I have bipolar II and was prescribed this medication vas mood stabilizer and to help me sleep. It worked better at the beginning but then I started noticing the side effects. I gained weight, I do a lot of exercise but didn't stopped the gain weight. I couldn't control the hunger. I only took it at night because it will make me passed out. I started having Luka fairing issues when I woul take it a...

Shared reviews and ratings

Lisa Newens | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/12/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from Bipolar 2. Ever since I’ve been on Seraquel 225mg which was added to my Effexor 300mg daily I’ve found a vast improvement in my mood. I’m no longer under a dark cloud every waking moment. I find I sleep longer which can be an adverse effect if I’ve stayed up late. Overall the combination has helped me dramatically!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickey | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
11/1/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 31 y/o female who has suffered from C-PTSD for the past 10 years. An incident involving vibrations from an air conditioner led my nervous system into complete dysregulation where I did not sleep for 2-3 weeks. It was terrifying. I am now up to 50mg of seroquel, and 3mg Prazosin. These drugs have helped me so much. I have not had any weight gain. In fact - I’ve probably lost weight because I’m finally sleeping and don’t find myself to be as hungry as I was before (when you’re consistently underslept - you’re prone to weight gain). I am still sometimes concerned about the negative reviews for seroquel, but quite frankly, it’s helping me to return to work, function and live my best life. I only recently upped it to 50mg and I’m learning that I need to take it much earlier in the evening so that getting up in the morning isn’t so bad. Everyone is different. I eat extremely well (mostly meat, fish, vegetables and berries), and I exercise regularly, which I know is all good for my metabolism. My body feels more naturally aligned and well now that I’m sleeping. If you’re like me - and were worried about weight gain - don’t be, especially if you’re doing the work (EMDR, inner child work, grief work etc.). Shedding all of the old trauma through tears and movement will ultimately support your metabolism, and you might just get the best out of this drug. For reference, I work a desk job, and have a masters degree.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kgogogunn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked for my insomnia and and is still working now. I only wish they weren’t such small pills! I find myself dropping and losing them sometimes if I’m not careful!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ManicPanic | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/13/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on 50mg for a year now and gained 70 lbs! Had no idea it increases appetite and can cause sleep walking until my dr informed me of it today! It's great for falling asleep but I wasn't aware of my sleep walking and eating until I watched my cameras. Went through a battery of tests trying to find out yhe causes of weight gain and at no point did anyone say ,"Hey seroquel is the issue"! Until TODAY! From what my dr. has said, there aren't many options for sleep meds that don't have side effects but this is nuts! No way can I stay on this medication! Dr recommended I increase to 100mg per night! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kody | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for 2 days for severe insomnia, PTSD. Stopped after 2nd day. Had severe suicidal ideation, like voices outside my head coaxing me. I was able to remember how this can happen to children so I chucked the thoughts out. Still freaked out after 4 days. My neck was hardened/frozen. My mind left me/disassociation. I was hospitalized 10 days. Never ever again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ClayFromCA | 35-44 | Male | Patient
9/3/2023
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed me this medication because I have tried Balsamara, triptilane Northrylyiene and so many other sleeping medication’s, and none of them have done anything even doxepine did nothing one of them felt like cotton in my mouth made me feel like I was drugged on roof in but this medication works really well. It completely knocks me out at 50 mg I sleep for 10 hours and I don’t wake up it’s almost like being in a coma. I absolutely love it I’m in chronic pain with my pelvis and I’m 440 pounds. I’m trying to lose weight at 6 foot four thank you to my doctor. I love this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsH | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist prescribed Seroquel 25 mg for my PTSD and related OCD, Derealization/Depersonalization and Panic Disorder. I was nervous after reading reviews. I've been taking it for over a month and I feel wonderful. I don't like taking new meds so I.split the 25mg into 4ths and did that for 4 days. Them upped to a half 25 mg pill and then a full 25 mg. Right now I'm splitting 50mg. I sleep longer, I've had no side effects for overeating(I'm also on Ozempic). I have no racing or ruminating thoughts, I haven't noticed any triggers or flashbacks, and my mood is regulated. I'm not overreacting or underreacting. No side effects at all except maybe a twitch before I fall asleep. I plan to up to a full 50mg next and see how it continues. For right now I'm so thankful my psychiatrist suggested Seroquel. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TWC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/10/2023
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused massive weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherry | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/30/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug helped me a lot this year. I was struggling with sleepless nights, panic attacks, GI issues, and other symptoms of C-PTSD last year after burning out from working a decade in the non-profit industry. A nurse prescribed me some Seroquel as an emergency medication and it helped me fall asleep and stay calm enough to engage more deeply in my trauma healing process. It was part of a holistic healing regimen including massage, acupuncture, inner child work, grief work, somatic therapy, and traditional talk therapy as well. It made me drowsy for the first week or two, but I ended up taking up to 50mg at a time (only when needed), titrating down to 25mg, then 12mg, and now only 6.25 (1/4 of a tablet)!! I'm so happy that I got myself this far in my healing journey, but it did take a lot of effort on my part. One tricky part is my insurance only covered me taking 2 tablets at a time, not 1 which was frustrating, but I ended up taking less than "recommended" because I didn't want to build dependency. I got myself a cute pill cutter which helped me portion off the medication. Thank you to all the reviewers on here who shared their experiences with me, which I read at the start of my journey. Celexa (an SSRI) then lithium carbonate was prescribed to me in my mid-20s for "bipolar" and "anxiety" disorders, before I knew how scammy the DSM was. Healing from C-PTSD is no joke, especially as a neurodivergent person, and there's always more to do. Grateful that I'm on the other side of this now though, don't give up!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tiffany | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/13/2023
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am able to sleep as I would go for day's without any rest, making the depression worse. I am also able to lead a normal life, hold a job and can go out without panic attacks. I’ve been taking it for over 10 years and will continue to take it the remainder of my life. It’s truly changed my life!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I'd rather not | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/2/2023
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this twice first time they said I went to a restaurant and threatened to kill everybody. I was charged with terrorist threat and sent to Austin state hospital. The second time my kitchen almost burnt down cause I fell asleep and the cops charged me with arson. Luckily I had a court appointed lawyer who checked my mental history and got me deffered probation for 2 years and a half if not I would probably still be undiagnosed sitting in a TDC unit. Very horrible drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seroquel | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill is a miracle pill for me. Nothing was working for me. This knocks me out and gives me the best sleep. I was given 100 mg for sleep. I dont care if im sleepy all day, im just glad im getting sleep finally. Don't listen to the negative reviews. Everyone is different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had chronic insomnia since I was 5. Im 54 now. I have to have something stronger than a horse tranquilizer to sleep at ALL. I was put on this for insomnia. If i skip a night i don't sleep. I gained like 30 pounds but honestly i just have to deal with that because i HAVE to sleep!! When your insomnia is as severe as mine is(4 ambien doesn't even work) you'll do ANYTHING to sleep. I noticed my mental state was a little better though. I'd recommend it as a total last resort.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unknown | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It doesn’t help me at all with my mood It has done nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yard worker | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Seroquel for two months and it hasn’t helped me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pati | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I share my experience please note that I respect and understand each medication works differently for each individual. I’ve been on various medications for the past 14 years and at times combined - basically I’ve had my share of experiences with medications: This experience with this medication 5 months ago led me to completely get off all medications cold turkey and give my brain a break: now I don’t recommend this to anyone. It’s been rough and as a matter of fact I’m starting a new medication tonight after 5 months of no meds. I found it necessary to share in hopes of helping someone. I had been on Cymbalta 120 daily for over a year and due to additional Bipolar symptoms Seroquel was added lowest dose, I have it a month. Within the 30 days I experienced increased depression and hopelessness. No energy or interest other than an increase of Alcohol. The hopelessness was severely concerning so I took it upon myself to just stop it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2023
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this drug (only 6 mg -- I cut the 24 mg pill into quarters) for 2 weeks and I felt like a zombie. I could not function well at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Someguy | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/22/2023
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication will make you sleep your life away I'm on 200mg and I sleep 12+ hours a day sometimes 24+ hours literally can't wake up on time for anything

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dominic | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/24/2023
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was forced to be on seroquel 600 mg for 13 years & 150 mg about 10 years more. I gained 100 pounds, experienced 2 hernias, slept wrong on one arm, it has been severely injured for about 5 years now & realistically may never be right. Now my wrist is injured on other arm because of over use. And my bladder has issues probably from losing 100 pounds & because u just don't wake up to go pee during the night while on seroquel. Now I am on 12.5 mg BUT I HAVE A LOT OF TENSION. AND ALL ALONG THE ABUSIVE VOICES IN MY MIND HAVE CONTINUED. IT REALLY HAD A HUGE NEGATIVE EFFECT ON MY BODY & DID LITTLE TO EASE MY SYMPTOMS, in my opinion. BUT I DID TRY LIKE ALL OTHER OPTIONS & THEY HAD MORE SIDE EFFECTS. I will say other than weight gain, less energy & sleeping more it's a pretty painless med. But it sure can cause a lot of trouble in the long run.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momagainst Sero | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
1/7/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not start on this medication. You will totally loose yourself. I am a mother of an 18 year old who was diagnosed with Bipolar, I am also a Critical care nurse who administers this medication. My 18 year old on this medication was someone completely different. He was miserable, a zombie, removed and fatigued. Now off of it, he is bright, lively, smiling, and has a spring in his step. He is literally back from the dark and lonely place that this medication forced him into. The patients I give this medication to, within an hour loose themselves, completely changes their personality and the affects last the whole day. They clam up like a turtle going in their shell and they hunch over and completely loose themselves. This is the best way to describe the affects of Seroquel. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More