Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

As someone who dislikes condoms and is really concerned about the side effects from the pill, I'm glad I tried Phexxi! I was a little hesitant to try it, but so far it's been great! It's easy to apply and personally I didn't feel anything when using it (in fact, because it's a thicker gel, it was almost like a lube and made sex more enjoyable!!). As someone who does NOT want to get pregnant, I'm c...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Switched to this instead of using birth control pills, used perfectly and always immediately before sex and ended up pregnant. Highly don’t recommend. It’s a good idea but it does not work

Shared reviews and ratings

Maria | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got pregnant in the first time of using this.. Not sure if it's a real birth control solution..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lexie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/14/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You will get pregnant if you are ovulating and use this as a form of birth control. I was pregnant the 2nd month using this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous User | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

38 years old and never pregnant. I got pregnant the first time I used this. I should have been more careful during my cycle as I was ovulating, but that being said I do not trust this as an effective form of birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/1/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it for months and months never got pregnant until i decided not to use it once lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/19/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was excited to try Phexxi after 15+ years on hormonal birth control. I thought it was going great until I got a positive pregnancy test on my about two months in using it. Was super careful and used it perfectly every time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunnyc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/8/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don’t trust Phexxi. Suggested by my OB to use as a hormone free BC. I didn’t want to take hormones while I was breast feeding. Started using in March 2023 and in November found out I was pregnant. Used it perfectly. Don’t use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LR | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/19/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Phexxi for about 9 months until I got a positive pregnancy test. I really thought I would be able to confidently rely on this birth control but boy was I wrong. I ended up having a miscarriage in the very early stages of pregnancy. The last few weeks have been torturous and I really wish I wasn't in the position that I am now. Hospital staff agreed that this birth control is very unreliable and should be pulled from the market. If you want to avoid pregnancy and a potential sad loss, please switch to something else or use condoms as a backup. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/5/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Phexxi worked when using the pull out method (when without birth control using the pull our method I got pregnant). After a year of using phexxi we decided to not do the pull out method and I got pregnant right away. Phexxi is not an effective form of birth control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maxiemax | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it for 3 months and got pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working girl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Phexxi for over 6mths. I am not pregnant yet. We use condoms alot and sometimes the pull out method. When using without condoms I have to remember to test my pH level [Amazon/Walgreens sells products for that] before he comes over. It helps me determine if we should use condoms. The Phexxi lube helps when the pH levels are good and it's always a treat for him. The product should come with pH level testers. It helps with my decisions, condoms or no condoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
So Mad | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like many people here, I really struggled with hormonal birth control after having my children. In my late 30s when I started using it, I knew that I was done having kids, so my OB recommended this. After three years of using Phexxi correctly every time AND pulling out every time, I’m pregnant. Now over 40, it’s a high risk pregnancy and I’m having to make incredible choices regarding my health. Oh, it also gave me bacterial vaginitis. This stuff should be pulled off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruby | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the Nexplanon but wanted something without hormomes. I decided to try Phexxi and boy do I regret it. I usually do a ton of research before using something but just went for it blindly. I ended up in the ER with lots of abdominal pain and what feels like a ton of inflammation that is making my back and side hurt. I am missing work to take care of these horrible issues. Shame on You Phexxi!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/26/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This works WONDERS for me. I started Phexxi after my miscarriage in April 2022. Since then, I have not been pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couldn’t use hormonal birth control in combination with modafinil so I had to look for other options. I was fighting finding the perfect medication to control my narcolepsy. Later switched to adderall which is fine with hormonal birth control pills. (Hindsight is 20/20) Used as prescribed but during a fertile day. No instructions stated must use with condom or pull out method. I got pregnant after the first use. He did not pull out but I applied an extra applicator a few hours later just to be safe. Still was ineffective birth control and I got pregnant that day. I went to 37.5 week with my daughter and then had a stillbirth due to a cord entanglement accident. She wasn’t planned. It was a one night stand. I rearranged my whole life for this pregnancy that shouldn’t have happened due to Phexxi and now I’m devastated. There is no correlation with Phexxi and the stillbirth as far as I have been made aware. Cord accidents are extremely rare. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/13/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was excited to try a hormone-free BC option that had been touted as being an “effective” alternative. I used it correctly every time I had sex, following the directions to a T, until the 10th or so time I used it and I became pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female |
3/3/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After the birth of my second child my doctor offered a sample of this since I was breastfeeding. One month later I got pregnant. I called my doctors office pretty anger, they thought it was funny since phexxi rep was in their office that day, I said they better not be buying y’all steak dinners.I think Phexxi owes my baby a college fund. Don’t use this please don’t us this ladies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mmcc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1 month use and became pregnant. Thankfully I am in my 30s, married, have a child, and was on the fence about having another child but I feel awful for women in other circumstances taking this. I don’t do well with hormones and was thrilled to have another option even if it was only “as effective as condoms” however I sincerely do not believe this is anywhere as effective as condoms. Also to mention, the technical language in the directions is written so poorly - it should definitely highlight not to take after sex. Besides being ineffective with perfect use I have to believe there’s also a lot of women thinking they’re taking perfectly when they’re not.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leanne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got an infection after my first use. Immediately stopped. There’s notes in the fine print that you have to check your body’s pH level before having sex… nobody wants to do science before that… Excellent concept, but need something better that is non-hormonal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed it after getting my IUD out as I was having a lot of complications with it. Used it for one month exactly as prescribed and got pregnant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phexxi! | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/9/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. I’m 44 so maybe less fertile. I still get paranoid that I’m pregnant if I have sex during my fertile time and use Phexxi with no pull out, but I keep doing it. Sometimes we also use pull out during fertile times. It has worked so far for over a year, fingers crossed lol. My only real issues are all the stories I read online about people getting pregnant on this (those terrify me), and also when it drips out for the rest of the day or the next day. That is kind of annoying. But I can’t do crap that alters my body anymore and I dislike condoms. I hope it continues to be effective for us:) and for fellow users of Phexxi!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More