Show ratings & reviews for

2.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Single dose was great. I wanted to try multi dose vial. It seems to result in two drops instead of just one so I didn't have enough to last a full month.

Shared reviews and ratings

EGW | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/24/2024
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a long time user of OTC eyedrops, I was taken by surprise at the horrendously poor design of the user-hostile multi-dose bottles! As previous reviewers have stated, including another nurse (retired RN here), despite years of experience dispensing eyedrops, this Restasis® brand multi-dose vial defies the most skilled users, let alone the average consumer. It's even worse with any kind of joint issues, such as arthritis or even weakness, as one may find in the older population. I hated the excessive waste & space taken up by the single dose vials, as well as how the generic (preservativw free) single dose made my eyes sting. So chose to request a new Doctor's order for multi-dose, despite the higher co-pay. Sadly, I anticipated a normal style eyedrops bottle like my OTC Systane comes in, but such is not the case. This vial is in no way normal. It is designed to be hard to open, be difficult to dispense without waste, to require an exorbidant amount of pressure using two hands to squeeze out even a single too-large-drop, to require too much time tilting the head backward while waiting for drops to plop out at last, and to waste product. I am hoping to perfect a technique that dispenses only one small drop per eye without waste, but worry that with my weakened fingers will hinder that necessary learning curve, and that my hope may be over ambitious. I have 3 bottles, and will persevere. If this continues to be an issue, I may just have to go back to the generic single dose vials, even though they take up a huge space and waste so much plastic.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PissedOff | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2024
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So no one is using the bottle correctly. After you remove the clear top there is another lid. The green poorly designed top is a lid. The green appears to be part of the bottle but it is a tab lift system (NOT MARKED); lift the tab and it removes plastic that exposes the lid. We have been trying to get the drops to go through the top of the bottle since it is open and does not appear to be a cap. The poor cap design allows soil to get to the top of the bottle. Now that I have spent over 120 dollars on my last bottle I had to order a replacement. NOW ALLERGAN says it is the fault of Walgreens and won't replace the bottle, or refund my money. Good Luck with that you will be hearing from me again to get this resolved.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pissedoff | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2024
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok so I am on the third bottle, I hope everyone reads this. After you remove the CLEAR, you need to lift the green tab on the green top and it unwraps and allows the green cap to come off. It is not apparent or marked to lift this tab, it could be marked on the bottle. Now the green cap comes off. This is a poor design as the green cap having holes in it does not appear to the consumer to be a cap and does not protect dirt from getting to the top of the bottle. Everyone is trying to squeeze the bottle to get drops to come through the green cap/top. Very poor design. Not good, Allegan is blaming the consumer and Walgreens and will refund the consumer my Case Number is filed but they said it is not their fault. Drug companies need to do their homework and see that these bottles are not user friendly and can not be safely stored without possibly getting soiled when used. After I removed the lid I can see that it is still not sanitary and leaks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
no one special | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have just started using Restasis in multidose vial for one week and i have been absolutely vexed by the difficulties with opening the vial in first lace and subsequent drop application. can’t imagine how this tiny impossible-to-squeeze bottle will last for one month, as i’m having same problems others are - either can’t get a blasted drop out or two end up on my cheek. even with insurance, copay is extremely high and not noticing any difference in one week of treatment except my dry eyes now burn even ,ore. glad to learn that others have same frustrations.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn T | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/4/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The multi-use bottle is horrible. I cannot get a consistent sized drop and it is nearly impossible to get the medicine out of the bottle after two weeks of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never used an eyedrop that you could not easily dispense the drops. I had to put a pair of pliers on mine to get it to drip. Then I get way too much product. Very frustrated. Hate it. Single use packages are the way to go on this product please!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/13/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very shocked to see that the mult-use bottle is still crap! I was going to give it another try. I had used it when it first came on the market only to find it does not dispense accurately even when experienced using that style of bottle. I travel extended periods and ended up running short due to the bottle dosornding more than 1 drop. I complained to the company and was told the pharmacy would need to send back. Shortly after, the product was no lo ger available . I figured it was being fixed. Sounds like same problems still exist which is unconscionable. Travelling for extended periods with the bulky vial packaging in carryon luggage is a pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/4/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed years ago with dry eyes. I have been on restasis for years always using the single dose vials. Recently I was given multi dose bottle and I can't express enough in words what a total failure this bottle design is to use. I can't get just one dtop out per eye. It takes forever to be able to squeeze the bottle hard enough to even get any to come out. Then when it does it floods my eyes leaving me with not enough meds to get me through the month. Then my insurance company denies refills so I have no meds and end up with painful dry eyes. What a complete and total failure. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I paid $400.00 for these eye drops. I did not do a single dose because I was afraid of scratching my eyes with the plastic. Jokes on me. I have barely been able to get anything out of this ridiculously designed plastic container. No matter how hard I squeeze, occasionally a drop spills onto my cheek, and the bottle after 3 days is crushed. I can see that it's not going to last 30 days, most likely a ploy for the company to make more money. Meanwhile, I'm out of the money, and my eyes are in pain. Don't the doctors know about this? No one can possibly squeeze this container. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/21/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used single dose Restasis vials for Sjogren's for years with no problems. I am using the MULTIDOSE bottle for the first time. It is a TOTAL design FAILURE. The 1st bottle after dosing for 2 days stopped dispensing and it is crushed on 3 sides from pressure trying to get it to work. The 2nd bottle has the same thing starting to happen. I wrote to AbbVie (Allergan) twice. A CSR called in response both times and was sympathetic. He acknowledges issues dispensing drops from their bottle. However they will not replace it. I was told that I need to work with the pharmacy to have them get involved. Like my pharmacy is not busy enough. Instead I will contact my insurance provider as they paid for it. I will also contact the FDA. Nothing may come of it, but at least I will have tried. So if you need Restasis, get the single dose vials. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sharon | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/3/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used single dose for years, as with others the multi dose bottle is useless. If my insurance won't cover single dose Restasis then I will go to Verkazia. Multidose Restasis is only cheaper if there's enough for a month and there won't be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous Veteran | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2023
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used single dose with great success for years. I tried multi dose and am very dissatisfied. Hard to open. The dispenser is odd and requires a lot of squeezing to get the drops out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disgusted | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/22/2022
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am so angry about having to use this multi-use vial of Restasis after years of effectively using the single dose droppers. I have arthritic hands and it is very difficult and painful for me to use this vial. It takes a long time for the drop to come out and then usually 2 drops come out and sometimes they don't even land in my eye. I have 2 insurances, one a Medicare Advantage plan and another full secondary insurance. One insurance will only pay for the new generic in the single use and the other will only pay for brand name Restasis in the single use. Both will pay for the multi-use vial which is almost impossible for me to use. I have applied for prior authorizations from both insurance companies to be able to use the same prescription (Restasis or cyclosporine) and have been turned down by both. I am furious! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karlene Schowalter | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/2/2022
Condition: Drying and Inflammation of Cornea and Conjunctiva of Eyes
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I fully agree with all of the negative reviews about the difficulty in using the multi dose container. I do not have arthritic or shaky hands. As a nurse I have had years of practice placing drops in my patients eyes correctly and with precision. My Rx is for 1 drop each eye. This is impossible because one has to squeeze so hard that too much comes out every time. This is also very profitable as many reviewers have said that does not last a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The multi-use container is a joke. You have to squeeze really hard for anything to come out and then way too much comes out AND it’s impossible to get it right in my eyes. Awful!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raconteur | 65-74 | Other | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/2/2022
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The multi-use bottle is very poorly designed. A cynical person might say that it was designed to waste product. I am going to try the generic cyclosporine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Twin2 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/2/2022
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As stated by others, the drops are hard to dispense and the bottle doesn’t last but 20 days. Very expensive for it to not even last 30 days. Will not buy again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sp | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/26/2022
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on restasis for years with the single dose vials and never had a problem. The new multi dose bottle is awful. You have to squeeze it so hard to get anything to come out and then more than one drop comes out. I can already tell this bottle is not going to last thirty days. They need to fix this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David S | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/19/2022
Condition: Drying and Inflammation of Cornea and Conjunctiva of Eyes
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There’s something wrong with the 5.5ml multi-dose bottle. Tried to reach Allercan, but no response. The bottle must be shaken, squeezed upright to clear the tiny dispenser hole, then turned over and squeezed all the way in to produce a drop. After dosing both eyes, there remains at least a whole drop on the top of the applicator which is then wasted when the bottle is capped. Halfway through the bottle, the applicator clogged. Couldn’t open it trying hot water and even a needle. So wasn’t able to finish bottle. Don’t feel I would have made it through a month using 1 drop per eye 2 x daily. I wish Allercan could figure out how to make the bottle work and not waste expensive medication, my biggest complaint with vials. No choice but to go back to vials.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TJL | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/19/2021
Condition: Dry Eye
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using the multi dose version, but it is difficult to get it out of the bottle and only lasted 20 days. Note: This is suppose to be a 30 day supply. Plus this has not help any as far as dry eye. May try the single vial, even though it is more expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More