Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this for almost a month and a half, so I think it's been long enough to review. I have never taken any birth control pills before and got mine from Planned Parenthood. Foremost, it's effective since I'm not pregnant (let's keep it that way for now). Periods are slightly lighter, but I've always had a light period. I have acne-prone skin. My skin has slightly improved, but still ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I only took one pill for one day (I know not long at all), but immediately felt a couple side effects and as the day went on, I was experiencing many many symptoms. It freaked me out and I'm not going to take it anymore. At first I felt nauseous and dizzy/headache. Then after a couple hours the crazy mood swings and emotional roller coaster kicked in. I was going through all the emotions-angry...

Shared reviews and ratings

Taylor | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2023
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on it for three months , I’m not pregnant! Very sexually active. No acne , and my period or regular. My cramps were so bad when I wasn’t on birth control and now they are manageable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M.K. | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/29/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking Aubra for over a year now and i haven’t had any major issues. I do get mood swings here and there and cramping is bad the first day or two but i havent seen anything else negative about it but i now have shorter periods they’re about 5 days long when they used to be 7-8 days long which is awesome. my weight gain is the same as it always was and i feel normal so if you have issues with this all i can say is everyone’s body’s are different and they will all react differently so try it if you want ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aj | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Vylibra previously for over a year. I experienced extreme weight gain and migraines. I was also feeling more depressed. I decided it was time to try something different. Ive only been taking Aubra for 1 month and it is definitely working. I have finally been able to see weight loss with my workouts and my skin looks beautiful right now. Ive had no zits in the past 3 weeks. I feel more calm and happy like I was before taking Vylibra. Im very happy with this change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Si | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Honestly after reading reviews i was extremely nervous as i am someone who struggles with weight gain very easily and bad depression. I'm heading into my 3rd month and i'd say my body has adjusted to the BC.. In the beginning my mood was very down, it was extremely easy to start crying over the silliest of things( i'd say first month).. I'd say that symptom has gone away, i still have mood swings, and bad days but over all they don't seem to be coming from birth control. My weight hasn't been affected at all. The first month it made me extremely hungry even after i just ate, but that was easy to overcome and went away. As someone who also does have PCOS...My period prior would literally just not come some months, i'd experience pain in my ovaries when having a cyst; and a week prior to my period my cramps would be i'd say 7/10 for the entire week leading up. All of this has stopped , little to absolutely no cramping, and a consistent withdraw bleeding since starting the pill.. Downsides are spotting for little less than a week before starting "period" but again it's spotting and a panty liner will do just fine. My period still lasts 7 days, and isn't as heavy as it was , but it's also not a light period; first 3 days are moderate to heavy (take that word very loosely though) and again no cramps involved. As soon as sugar pills are done- period 100% comes to an end the following day after the first active pill. So this birth control has been pretty good id say. Just give it about 3 months for your body to adjust , at least in my case. I was just about to call it quits 1.5 month in just due to how emotional i was ... But all that seemed to get better. Remember every body is different and give it time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this pill for 3 months now and it’s worked well, my period is wayyy lighter and I’ve experienced zero to little cramping. Also not pregnant which is very good too. However, I have found myself to be extra emotional and experiencing increased migraines which may be related but I’ve also have a history of headaches and migraines so it may just be a separate issue with bad timing. Hasn’t been too bad though, worth helping my periods and avoiding pregnancy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Aubra and at first I didn’t have any issues and thought i found the birth control that was right for me. For the past couple of months, I’ve had really bad mood issues, i bleed almost constantly even if it is just spotting, and it makes me hungry all the time. I definitely do not recommend this brand of BC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claudia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does the job but it gives me nausea here and there. It gives me mood swings too. Ok the good side no cramps no pregnancy. I’ve been using this for two years !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RMLH | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/3/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on hormonal birth control pills for about 8 or 9 years now. I switched from a different brand to Aubra at some point but I think it was the same meds inside it. Honestly, I don´t remember much about when I first started taking it while my body was getting used to it, but it´s been great pretty much the entire time. I have almost zero acne, and I only have a period (with no symptoms other than light bleeding) every 3 months or so. I just continue on to the next pack when my 21 pills are used up, and keep doing that until the spotting starts, and then at the end of that pack, I take a break from the pills for 4 days to have my period, and then on to the next pack. That is the plan my doctor told me to use and it works great! The only possible negative sides I can see are a loss of libido (I pretty much don´t care about sex unless the other person initiates, and then I´m all for it), and I realized recently that it could be the cause of my lack of passion in things. I just kinda go through life and take what's coming to me. I don't think that I have depression but maybe that's because I feel numb to the good and the bad emotions? I don´t know, that's why I´m here reading others' reviews... It´s been almost 10 years, I have no idea who I am without it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LoLo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this for a month and everything was great...then I started getting horrible headaches and nausea everyday. I kept taking it for a long time cause I was scared to get pregnant. After about 1 year it made me severely depressed and suicidal, once I got off this medication I was totally fine. Would not recommend it was the worst experience of my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Asya | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/23/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not experience any physiological changes after taking Aubra. Same weight, same skin (skin was already pretty clear), same sex drive, same mood. I experienced break through bleeding for 17 days, but once it went away my periods became short, light, and painless (I used to suffer from nauseating cramps). Have been taking this birth control for over 5 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gotabloodclot | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/14/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got a DVT blood clot from this medication. I would advise against it! I had no other indicators for blood clots.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clare56t | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Aubra for a month and a half until my side effects got so bad I had no choice but to stop. I felt amazing for the first month besides minor mood swings. It made me breakout more than usual, but nothing to major. By the second month, I began to have chest pain and extreme nausea to the point I couldn't eat more then once a day. It made me extremely anxious, I had to cancel everything for 4 days because I couldn't leave my house. I constantly felt like I needed to go to the ER. I have never felt so sick in my life, I was so lightheaded I thought I would pass out about 5 times a day, which made it really hard to go about daily life. I wish I could've made it past the third month, but the benefits are way less then the quality of life I felt. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SAD | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DVT BLOOD CLOT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emilyyyyyy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/31/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when I first started taking this medication, I really hated it. It made me break out really bad, and my breasts were probably constantly sore for three months straight, my mood swings were horrible. But as soon as my body adjusted to the medication everything got much better. It’s actually a really great pill for me now. My acne is gone for the first time in my life! The only time I break out is if I miss a pill or something. My mood swings fixed themselves, and now my breasts are never sore ever. Even on my period, which is a first. Give this medication a few months to work itself out in your body; especially if you’re trying to get rid of hormonal acne.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smbo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt more "on-edge" and mentally unstable than I ever have in my life while taking this birth control. I switched birth control to a different brand with a lower progesterone level and am back to feeling like my old self... happy and minimal anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitkat1213 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/3/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for 2 years. The first year was okay, didn't notice anything really. Period was perfect lasted 4-5 days and still does. That's the only positive. As well as prevents me from getting pregnant efficiently with correct use. This year it's pretty bad. I have had extreme mood swings, extreme depression, excessive weight gain even after working out. I can't say if I reccomend this pill or not but be prepared is all I am saying. Finally, after 2 years I've decided to end the cycle after this one last pill pack. I just hope my mood goes back to the way it was before birth control, happy and content. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sand | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m on my second month on Aubra, I have had a great experience . I havenâ??t had any side effects. Works good for my acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 50 and this product put me in the best mood, gave me energy and reduced some swelling. This my first week on the birth control. I am happy all the time now and I feel like my hormones are balanced.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/7/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Audra has been working very effectively for me the past 6 months that I have been using it. My periods are shorter and very light, which is convenient. No weight gain, no acne. However, this medication has given me TERRIBLE mood swings. The entire time I was on it, my partner and I have had a tense relationship. I do believe I suffer from depression and Aubra has made it so much more difficult for me. I have been off of it for a couple of weeks now and I have never felt better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ColoradoCajun | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2017
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting my 4th month on Aubra. Previously was on a mini pill and I hated all the bleeding all month long and never knowing when my actual period would be. I am so thankful to have regular periods again! Minimal cramping compared to my previous pill (ortho micronar). The only side effect I had was a little weight gain in the first month but then it tapered off and I lost the few pounds I gained. Also I think it made me hate people a little less! My moods seem a lot better. Very very happy with this pillRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More