Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

Been on albuterol inhalers for the past 20 years. Oral steroids, Pulmicort and Duonebs. Doctor gave me a trial of Breo and I was shocked. I don't ever remember having such a deep breath of air in my life. Trying to get my crappy insurance to cover Breo got me so infuriated that I dropped my insurance so I can get Breo covered monthly through another program. It means that much to me to be able to ...

Most voted negative review

30 People found this comment helpful

This sucked and the commercial kept ruining my TV show

Shared reviews and ratings

I. McMahan | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2024
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Raspy throat,cough, pain in back and midriff area, anxious feeling, symptoms relieved after stopping for a week. Tried again and on the second day they are back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2024
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication in place of my regular inhaler Symbicort. When I opened the container to use it, I already lost one puff because the construction of the inhaler is poorly designed. Literally, within a few seconds my mouth went numb. Within two minutes, my mouth felt like it was on fire. I honestly can’t believe anybody prescribes this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dale | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2023
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On a short trial of Breo, my Pulse Oximeter had readings of lower oxygen saturation and a higher heart rate. I developed pain in one knee only on days I tried Breo. These results were consistent with officially reported side effects. My conclusion is that my COPD and general health condition was better without this treatment. I do note that some patients who have exacerbations report improvement -- but that is not my problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rihari Makarori | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/7/2023
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BREO is totally useless. Has no effect whatsoever. Been subscribed this product alone and with other products. All combinations all eqully useless. Ventolin is the only product worth using.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Idontwantdrugs | Patient
9/29/2023
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for my asthma I don’t want constant steroids I don’t want constant medication. I don’t want any medication on a daily basis whatsoever, and yet they keep prescribing it. This thing raises my blood pressure gives me a massive migraine. I refuse to take it. I accidentally picked one up at the pharmacy recently, stll unopened. What the hell do I do with it because I can’t get my money back and I don’t want it. I wouldn’t use it but that’s my personal choice and my personal opinion on my situation. I am entirely too young to be having high blood pressure problems. It’s bad enough dealing with asthma, which is only related to my allergies so I don’t want to take medication every single day for the rest of my life for no bloody reason. Unless I’m gonna die, it’s not a good enough reason for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karenjaninaz | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2023
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This seemed to work quite well but a few months ago I developed atrial flutter/fibrillation with a pulse of 150. Now maybe it wasn't the Breo but I am a retired nurse anesthetist and thought, perhaps, the vilanterol- a beta agonist triggered this. So I stopped taking the Breo and take Arnuity- which only contains the steroid. Right now heart is OK but I'm on a heart medicines for thefirst time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MM | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2023
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a couple days, raised my blood pressure and gave me back pain. Stopped using right away. ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/5/2023
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with asthma at about 7 years old. I smoked for approximately 20 years as an adult and developed COPD. I was hospitalized at least once a year for breathing issues. At one point, during an influenza infection, my oxygen saturation was at 52% and I nearly died. Following that hospitalization, I was put on Breo. For me, I see the results within 24 hours if I have not been on it for a while. I have not been hospitalized since being on Breo for approximately 7 years. If I run out of Breo, after approximately 3 to 4 days, I start having breathing issues. I do not have any of the side effects listed by others in some of the reviews. I think this drug has been a life saver for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Breo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. Been on it a few days after a life threatening trip to ER. Obviously the Advair wasn't keeping my asthma under control. Now ! I am nebulizing twice a day also , but I can definitely feel a difference between Breo & Advair. I know we're all different, different strokes for different folks. Definitely worth a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carlos | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2022
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nothing but crap...how in Gods name did it ever get onto the market is beyond me and many many others...this is a dangerous expensive piece of s.....t that should be given to the people who made it.....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After just one inhalation I had severe chest pain, high blood pressure, and upper back pain. Also must have caused low potassium because only if I had foods with potassium would the chest pain subside. I do not suffer from "anxiety" this med effects your heart. Stay away from this medication it can do more harm than good. Find a non steroid option to help with asthma. Also tried the Anoro Ellipta and had heart pain, urinating that felt like battery acid. Breo Ellipta snd Anoro Ellipta should be an absolute last resort ,and not a go to med for asthma maintenance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danei | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why is it that at the last 5 days of Breo Ellipta I suffer severe breakthrough coughing. I honestly believe GSK skimps on full dosing to save money. Meanwhile it costs a pretty penny even with medicare pricing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mer | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been asthmatic since 6 months old. The only thing I thought worked was symbicort, after multiple medications, yet it only opened my airways and didn't help with my day to day life. My Dr prescribed breo for me and I was very skeptical but this medication has literally changed my life. If you are used to another medication for asthma it takes a month to kick in and change. I told my mom who has copd about it and her dr switched her immediately. I honestly can't believe the way I can breathe now and I owe it to breo. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adam | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/28/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The meds is effective in helping with shortness of breath caused by inflammation. I couple this treatment also with Zyrtec to get the best effects. In addition it does help with energy and mood - similar to how prednisone can help with mood. The downside however is that the medication has been shown to increase blood sugar levels, make it very difficult to loose weight, and also increase tooth decay and infections. Currently I dealing with an infection in my mouth that is truly baffling - I brush, floss, and use mouth wash daily - there is no logical reason I should have a infection in my mouth under a tooth. However the Med does effectively help with shortness of breath, I just wonder if there is a nonsteroidal option on the market that doesn’t have these side effectsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GA Peach | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breo was prescribed for me to help prevent frequent asthma attacks. At first, I thought it was working well but that only lasted a couple weeks. Then it actually made it feel harder to breathe as it seemed to make it harder to take a deep breath. Terrible heartburn too along with bloating. After two months on this medication, I began having trouble sleeping along with sudden elevations in blood pressure and pulse. I always had normal or low blood pressure and during these attacks it would go up into the 150's with pulse rate in the 100's. Waves of panic would overcome me. I couldn't lay down at night for fear I would stop breathing. It was terrifying. Fortunately, a wise doctor finally realized the BREO was causing anxiety attacks for me. Something I had never experienced before. Despite brushing my teeth and using Listerine after each dose, I developed a nasty thrush infection in my mouth too. I stopped the medication immediately upon her advise, and within a couple days all returned to normal for me. Normal blood pressure, no anxiety, and I could sleep again. I feel patients need to be advised to watch for signs of anxiety if they are prescribed this medication. I wonder how many people are being placed on anxiety meds due to taking this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SRS | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This never changed a thing for me. A huge waste of money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Me again. I might add to my post that it doesn't matter what med you are taking for COPD. I found out you will feel much better and I do the same with Breo. That adding an Acid controller helps. It has been a must for me taking Breo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried so many inhalers and had so many different side effects even yeast infections after three days on some. You name them I have tried them. Breo though I have gained some weight is the most gentle and been the most effective for me. I was on the advair for several years and like it but kept a cough and my jaw would stay sore so my doctor said lets try Breo. No medication is great. Wish we didn't have to use them. Years of asthma and now COPD you just have to do it. I use oxygen at night and Proair at times. Breo out of all I have tried work the best for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ilovehockey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couple of things to add , with the Breo experience, burning is in both lungs I repeat both lungs. Sitting on oxygen a lot ,gonna or just used xopenex backup inhaler one Inhalation. And go to bed. I pray for answers for all having difficulty with this Med, it should be reported to the FDA. For what it does. I am tired. It’s very warm out. Air conditioning is a blessing. Prayers…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ilovehockey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am here this evening to tell you that I want off of the asthma medication known as breo. It is tearing my stomach in half. I think the FDA should take this drug off the market. Only happens after dinner. I get these issues, of a burned lungs , under my right breast. I am calling my doctor, Monday and laying the facts on the table, my lower back and shoulder was aching from this drug, get some relief from tums and my back up inhaler xopenex. Eating saltines.highly disappointed. Get off this dam drug as soon as u can!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More