Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

85 People found this comment helpful

The cost of this medicine is prohibitive!! Stop the expensive tv ads and reduce the price for us patients.

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

After my 6th afib bout in 5 years and 4 electro cardioversions my cardiologist suggested cryoablation. My brother had this done over a year ago. I am one of the worst patients he has... I never take my rythmol or Toprol... I can take a years worth of drugs, or get zapped once every 12 months. Anyway this time they put me on eliquis in prep for ablation. My doctor is very popular and its a 7 we...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeanne W | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/16/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two years on it, and as far as I know it is working… at least no emergencies re blood clots. I believe it is causing very significant hair loss. Was on Pradaxa for two years prior to two years on Eliquis, & it started hair loss. Doctor changed meds hoping hair loss would stop, but it did not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beth | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Eliquis for a blood clot in my arm. After 2 weeks it was gone but they want me to finish a 3 month treatment. It has been 25 days and I feel as if I am swallowing poison! I have been dizzy, tired, weak legs and arms stuck in bed for hours a day and an overall feeling of being unwell. It also makes me weepy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ettin | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In Jan 2023 I had what my doctor believes was a Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA). In April I visited the doctor and he was concerned about that TIA and recommended I get off Xarelto (which I had taken with no issues for a few years) and on Eliquis to hopefully improve my ability to avoid another TIA. Within a couple of days I experienced a heaviness in my head, slight nausea, and a general "not right" feeling with periodic headaches/migraines. Five days I had a nearly full day of a-fib activity which concerned me, but the head issues continued with the nausea. Finally I called my doctor and explained the side effects and he pulled me off the Eliquis and put me back on the Xarelto. Since then those side effects have mostly subsided, but I still have a bit of headaches, but not like I had while on and coming off the Eliquis. Certainly not everyone has the same experiences with medications, but this was the first time in my 50 years on this Earth that I had side effects of a drug. No matter what if you are experiencing side effects after starting a new drug, talk to your doctor immediately, don't wait, it could be life-threatening and so good communication with your doctor is critical. Personally, I am sticking with the Xarelto and sticking to taking it with my largest meal of the day and hoping I don't have another TIA or worse. Good luck to everyone out there dealing with a-fib and other conditions requiring blood thinner.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carole | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken eliquis for about 2 weeks for Atrial Fibrillation. I don’t seem to have any negative effects if I take it alone. If I take it with my BP meds I get faint and it takes a few hours to get back to normal. Other than that I don’t have a problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marcia | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/25/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had a surgery induced small clot was on for 3 months, clot broke up, never had clotting issue before, doctors insisted I stay on ...2/12 years later I stopped them, Tired ALL of the time, half depressed, brain fog, skin changes...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B Thomas | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2023
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Blood Clot in the Lungs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On it for a PE. No problems, no side effects. Get it free as on the NHS and am over 60. Much better than being on warfarin as much less monitoring needed. I am so happy it works for PEs. Convenient++. I set an alarm 7 am and 7 pm on my mobile to help remember doses and mark it on the box once taken so I don't take it twice. No bleeding problems either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/7/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Eliquis for about a month to prevent the formation of blood clots. I was recently diagnosed with AFib and after doing a cardioversion to regulate my heartbeat, the emergency doctor gave me a prescription of 5 mg (twice daily) of Eliquis. I live in Canada but am presently out of the country until December. When coming back home (in a month and a half), I am supposed to see a cardiologist who will do a follow-up and reassess my situation. I am also taking pills for high blood pressure and antacids for GERD issues (which may be related to my cardiac problems). My experience with Eliquis has been relatively ok, but not excellent. During the first days that I started to take Eliquis, I had severe headaches and was really scared and ready to stop taking the medication. The headaches were terrible. I also had constipation and still have constipation from time to time. I realized that I was not always taking the medication at the proper time because of differences in time zone - it's very important to ensure that the two doses are taken about 12 hours apart. Once I was able to take the medication at the proper times, the headaches diminished significantly. But, over the last couple of days, I have had a bad headache on one side of my head and my neck - last night I was unable to sleep. I am very stressed by this pain which is not helping my pain, especially because I am not sleeping well. I can only think about negative things, including the formation of blood clots in my brain or my lungs. I realize that Eliquis is helping to prevent the formation of blood clots, but it's not 100% certain. I have started to take Tylenol and hope that can help with the headaches. As I am writing this, I only have a small headache. I am also thinking that I should make an effort of taking Eliquis with food? I'm not sure? For the moment, I cannot change medications because I need to see the cardiologist and this will only happen when back to Canada in December. Are the headaches a common side effect of Eliquis? How long should they last for being considered a serious problem?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a cardioversion, they then put me on Eliquis. After 2-3 days I started having nausea. They did a ablation on a Thursday, prescribed new blood pressure med, off of metroprolol, also added a anti acid med. after taking one tablet , within 30 minutes I had every side effect listed! I have follow up Friday with a P.A. Asked to see my heart doc, no, only every three years! Not sure what to do!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hubbs | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2022
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having covid very bad dec21, got a pulmonary embolism, was put on apixaban for 6 months. Am now off them. No issues with bruising at all, if i got small cut it would bleed for 20 minutes and the scab that formed would be so soft and come off easily so would bleed a day or so later. And one very weird thing I noticed. That grey-yellow slime that builds up around your toothbrush holder, that completely stopped for the whole 6 months, was replaced with a very small amount of a strange black crusty stuff. Minute i came off the thinners, the usual grey-yellow slime was back. Very strange. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill Hunter | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on it several years, congestive heart failure, lots of blockages. Recently bladder bleeding problems also on arms and legs. Have decided to get off it and take my chances, my choice my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eric Orlowe | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diagnosed with Heart Failure, Fatale Arrhythmia and Chronic fatigue. I took my first dose 30 hours ago. My current BP is 94/78. This is the best I’ve felt in nearly three decades. Last night I got the best sleep and rest I have had since I was a young man in my twenties. (I am 53 taking 5mg of Eliquis twice a day now with several other heart related medications.) It took eight hours for my body to notice the stunning shocking and incredible improvement to how I felt and was functioning. Then my BP test was the proof. This prescription was the result of data from a ICD Defibrillator, detecting long episodes of Atrial fibrillation more frequently. Cardiologist Stacey and Daniel Dooley prescribed the medication Friday morning, and I am here writing this review Saturday evening. Eliquis is a truly outstanding contribution to medicine. (I probably should have been on this medication since 2010, not I don’t think it existed then.) It’s a miracle pill in my book. Strongly recommend it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/31/2022
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eliquis didn’t work for me. Switched to Eliquis after 10 years on Warfarin for leg DVT. After 6 months started getting clots in both legs. Switched to Pradaxa and got rashes after one day. I’m back on Warfarin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a minor stroke I was given a choice of blood thinners. I chose Eliquis because it was better for bleeding problems. I also have chronic afib. My biggest complaint is the red marks on my arms and legs that happen when I barely touch anything and especially in the summer when clothing isn’t long. The marks take about two weeks to lighten. I have had bleeding issues on my arms and legs because the skin seems so thin. Cost is outrageous and I only get one prescription before I go into the gap. I also ask my doctor for samples which last about a month.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/25/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. Feel it keeps me alive. Just wish it was cheaper.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JeannaLis | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/30/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was prescribed this after being diagnosed with AFib around November 2020. He had a stroke at work on 6/6/22 and died 6/10/22. He was only 45.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
New User | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My satisfaction and effectiveness ratings are due only to me being a recent new user, therefore I have no measure. I started this medication about 12 days ago after my groin stent placement. During this period, I have found myself having a little difficulty getting the right words out when speaking. I also feel tired more than usual, and 2 days ago began experiencing serious dizziness. Will be meeting with my PCP tomorrow, and my Cardiologist next week when I will discuss these effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/25/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Recurrence of a Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AFib, fell on knee developed large hematoma in leg required wound vac, 3 surgeries and softball sized skin graft on knee, dizziness and weakness , cost is prohibitive (90 days $420 ) cannot recurve help due to being on Medicare part D , which is unfair.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eliquis | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Way too many Side Effects, such as Can't walk over 15 Feet without getting Dizzy and have to Sit Down, Also because of Weak Legs and Arms and I felt like I was going to pass out.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John Holden | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Blood Clot in the Lung
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male 58 have been taking Apixaban 5mg twice a day for the past two months for my a/fib, I haven’t noticed any side effects, I did cut myself shaving and cut my hand at work bleeding was just the same as it was before I started taking Apixaban which made me wonder if this drug was doing it’s job and actually thinning my blood, something to mention to my doc next time I visit .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steven | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Deep Vein Thrombosis Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 47 yo active, firefighter, male. Hx of a-fib, and dvt 5 years ago. Dr put me on 5mg 2xdaily for clot prevention during my last a-fib episode, about 3 weeks ago. I can certainly tell that I’m fatigued all the time, as well as vision, and trouble focusing. These are not normal issues for me. I have a follow up in a couple weeks, and will talk to the Dr. Personally I’d rather deal with these issues for the time being, and not have a stroke, PE, or another DVT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More