Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

227 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with with a well differentiated grade 1, stage 2, infiltrating mammary ductul carcinoma breast cancer. This meant it was a mixture of invasive ductal and lobular carcinomas and it was a fast-growing and aggressive Invasive cancer. When starting this medication 4 years ago, I was told it would cause hot flashes, bone pain, etc. I was also told if I could tolerate all the side effe...

Shared reviews and ratings

Chi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2023
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had invasive ductal carsonoma. Early stage 1. No lymph nodes involved. 2 months after starting anastrozole, I stopped. The side effects were too much and my quality of life was not worth the side effects. I found myself asking " where is me? I want me back!" The list of side effects was too long... Always tired and fatigued, feelings of being overwhelmed, mood swings, frustration, aches in my arms, legs, bottoms of my feet, balance issues, it was all too much. I've been off anastrozole for 2 weeks now and I am back to the me I like now! I will be back in touch with my doctors after the holiday to advise them ( they had recommended me to stop the pills for 2 weeks) of my decision to stop the anastrozole. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/12/2023
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

64 years old, finishing up on 2 years, I do not believe I will make it to 5. I have a low immune system, excessively tired, though never sleep, if I sleep for 3 hours it’s a good night. I move like I am 90 years old and my oncologist turns a deaf ear. I went to see a psychiatrist for treatment of insomnia and depression, after trying 3 drugs Cymbalta is giving me some pain relief, but I still do not sleep. If is also supposed to help with depression, so for 30 mg hasn’t kicked in. A back pain specialist has recently diagnosed me with fibromyalgia ( I think this is a major side effect of this drug )is going to start me on warm water therapy next week, followed by nerve ablation. Etodolac 500 mg helps with the pain. Anastrozole is truly crippling both mentally and physically.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoyC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2023
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Too many bad side effects. First on this then tamoxifen then Anastrazole again. The first round of Anastrazole was fine for 2 months. But osteo diagnosis switched to Tamoxifen. Chest pains and other side effects back to Anastrazole. Vaginal bleeding extreme fatigue were the worst. Also have a lump on right side of neck by throat. I was stage one 2cm low onco score. I found this study https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK447120/ that shows I don’t even need this. I won’t go into all side effects but it’s over 60% listed. I’m not going back to these medicines but using diet and intermittent fasting. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/12/2023
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 70-year old woman diagnosed with right breast cancer October 2021. My tumor size was 2.1 cm, and I had a lumpectomy in December 2022, followed by 24 sessions of radiation. My final Her2-CEP17 ratio was 1.12, meaning HER2 negative. I started on Anastrozole March 1 2022. Initially, I had no problems, except for a few hot flashes and some joint/muscle pain. Within 5 months, I had gained 10 pounds, but, more troubling, I had developed an itchy rash under both breasts and my left armpit. I could deal with this! I used calamine lotion and hydrocortisone for the rash and tried to exercise more and eat right. However, within the last month, I developed a series of bladder infections that would not go away! I found myself running to the bathroom every 5 minutes with burning pain and chills. Then came the diarrhea! I finally put 2 and 2 together and came up with Anastrozole! I threw that medication away April 6 2023 and am now slowly starting to feel better. I see my oncologist May 4th, and I plan to tell her that I don't want any more AI drugs. I'm 70 years old and would prefer 5 to 7 years with a good quality of life than 15 years feeling lousy every day. Of course, it's every woman's decision to continue or discontinue this medication. It wasn't worth it for me! Just do your research! Prayers for all of you strong women out there!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJR | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2023
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only been taking for 1 month. Shoulder, hip and knees really hurt, but working through. Have developed hives 4 or 5 times a week, sometimes from one end of me to the other. Will be contacting doctor next week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carolyn | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2023
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve taken this medication since June 28, 2022 for Stage I breast cancer. The only side effect I know of right now is that my finger nails and toenails are flaking off at the ends. The nail beds have whitish areas/lines and are definitely softer. I’m treating with Sally Hanson Complete Care 7 in 1 nail treatment containing Biotin and Vitamin E. It’s too early to see an effect but this polish may be addressing the problems that are there, or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for 4 years. I have had no side affects (maybe hot flashes at beginning) but nothing I can't handle for the benefit. Next May will be 5 years and I will be off. My oncologist had my breast tissue sent to a lab to see if I would benefit from being on it longer and it was determined I would not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicki | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Anastrozole for 46 days. So many painful joints and muscles. Stopped taking it, and would like to know how long it takes to get out of my system. It will soon be 2 months since stopping, but still hurt all over. My doctor said some patients have said it takes a long time. She ordered Tamoxifen, but I have not started taking it because I still hurt. I did not want to take another while this was still in my system. The printout for Tamoxifen said that it takes 2-3 months for that to get out of your system. I got that information from my pharmacist. Has anyone else experienced this, and if so, how long did it take to feel better?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/14/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for the past five years. Cancer doctor told me that I have a 25% chance that the breast cancer will come back. Yesterday the doctor told me I have to take the medication again for another two years. Side effects are real. I deal with them. When I see my grandchildren smile, it makes it all worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Stage 2 Her-2 positive breast cancer, February 2020. I went through the drill like most of the ladies — a chemotherapy cocktail and estrogen blocker. Then surgery to remove the lump from my left breast and left sentinel nodes, then radiation. My oncologist continued with the weekly estrogen blocker treatment until February 2021, when they realized the medicine affected my heart's efficiency. Immediately, all treatment was halted and I was given a script for Anastrozole to be taken daily. Honestly, I cannot directly attribute any side effects to Anastrozole. I have always had migraines, serious depression, anxiety and sleep issues. I haven't seen any skin issues. When I was being treated with the IV version of Anastrozole, I had severe stomach bloating that would finally subside before my next treatment. Really bad joint, muscle aches and pains, like others in my ankles, knees and hips. I am really not hot on taking Anastrozole for four and a half more years, mainly because I take nine other pills a day but I'll continue moving on daily. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two years ago I was diagnosed with stage 3 ovarian cancer and had both ovaries and fallopian tubes removed. Once I finished 6 rounds of chemo I was started on anastrozole. Initially I only really noticed that my hot flashes were getting worse and I was having problems with insomnia. Around the 9 month mark, I began to notice a sharp decline in memory and cognitive ability, fatigue, bone and joint pain, bone thinking, bloating, stomach issues, easy bruising, anemia, and worsening of my peripheral neuropathy (initially caused by chemo). After discussing this with my oncologist we tried switching to a different medication called exemestane, but the side effects were dramatically worse, so I switched back. The medication has been successful so far in preventing recurrence, however, the side effects are progressively getting worse. It is becoming increasingly difficult to focus on school and work, and I often can barely hold a conversation due to constant brain fog. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Les | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/24/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Anastrazole for 8 months and developed a skin rash on my lower leg. Seen dermatology, had tests no one knew what it was. It resembled folliculitis. Stopped taking it and the rash is clearing up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on anastrozole for 6 months and I have only had hot flashes. I have been working out every other day just like I used to. I feel a little more stiff in the morning but I canâ??t really complain. I am 46 with stage 1 breast cancer. I also take a zoladex shot once a month to stop my ovaries from working. I wanted to write this because I was very scared of the side effects but Iâ??m glad I started it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/20/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Previous review written on 6-12-2020. Stopped anastrozole upon recommendation of oncologist. Even though my pain had not improved after stopped for 3 weeks. Doctor recommended starting Letrozole even though it could have same side effects. I decided not to take either medication, since pain and stiffness persisted. Went to family doctor (had to wait for appointment until COVID 19 restrictions allowed in person office visits). Dr. ordered a full panel of blood work and x-rays. Recommendation was to see ortho doctor. Met with a PA that was a waste of time and money and her only advice was to take some natural supplements and continue Tylenol, which gave little relief. Family doctor then recommended that I see a doctor of rheumonatogy. This doctor was excellent. Listened to my past history, current complaints and did exam. He diagnosed me with Polymyalgia Rheumatica (PMR). He said that this type of rheumatism does not show up in blood work. He put me on 30MG of Prednisone daily. After taking this medication for one day, my symptoms had almost completely disappeared. After 2 weeks, dosage was lowered to 20MG daily with no pain problems. After 1 month dosage lowered to 17.5MG Prednisone. The dosage is to be gradually reduce over the next 2 months to reach a dosage of 10MG daily. Nurse is to call me every 2 weeks to see how I am feeling. Prednisone has side effect so wants me on the lowest level possible. He is hopeful that I won't have to take the Prednisone for any longer than 2 years; and that pain and stiffness will not return. Started back on Anastrozole recently as rheumatology doctor didn't feel is was causing my pain and stiffness. So far, I am not having any major side effects from it. My recommendation is to follow up with several doctors and not to take the "advice" and make assumption that Anastrozole is the problem (which it may be) My rheumatology doctor said that I did the right thing by seeking further medical opinions. Will see how Anastrozole workRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/12/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stage 1 breast cancer with no lymph node involvement. 36 radiation treatments. After around 1 year on this medicine, noticed problems with sleeping, (had trigger finger which did go away), hair thinning, mode change and affected thinking and memory. Worse problem is the joint pain, in knees and hips and muscle pains. Had only minor problems with these before. When get out of chair or bed, I have much muscle stiffness and can't move feet for awhile. Can't bend over to pick up things off of the floor. I have been using Ibuprofen and Acetaminophen alternately every 6 hours with some relief. Off the medication for over one month and the joint pain still persists, but is somewhat less. Wish that I had never started this medication. Oncologist wants to try me on another medication, but I said no until present pain goes away. Was supposed to take for 5 years to help prevent reoccurrence of cancer.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pugsly | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 8 months now. Up until this point all was well then I started having a very full feeling in my stomach, with little sharp pains in the same area and around my vaginal and butt area. My stomach feels so swollen its uncomfortable. Anyone else have this symptom and if so how long did it last?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/2/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking anastrazole for 7 years. Just started with a new oncologist and she took me off of it. Anyone else??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pinky | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/16/2019
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'd been taking this drug for two years and ten months and found out I have new cancer on the same breast. In the meantime while on this drug, I'd been experiencing generalized pain which originally started like a burning pain on the ulnar side of my arms. My doctor did not warn me about the body pain associated with this drug so I had to see a hand surgeon who recommended physical therapy on my hands since he could not find any physical cause of pain on the arms and hands. I felt sorry for the therapist because nothing she did helped. We stopped therapy since I strongly believed the pain was due to the Anastrozole. Now I am very worried and feel so vulnerable. I don't believe on this drug anymore.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2019
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have has no side effects. Sometimes tired afternoon. But then I turned 71 years old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shiranee | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/13/2019
Condition: Prevention of Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with stage 1 and now clear, however, doc has put me on to this drug for the next few years. Initially, i was on Tamoxifen and doc transferred to this drug. I am not sure if I should continue for several years, my doctor seem to think it is ok, however i have concerns continuing for too long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More