Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

256 People found this comment helpful

I have been unable to take any of the osteoporosus drugs for the past several years. Reclast is working for me both as an easier application, once a year, and better health. One thing I have noticed is that my fingernails no longer break and are becoming hard. The same with my toenails. I took Reclast 2 months ago and so far so good. My veins are very tiny and hard to find so I take the IV in...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

haven,t tried it yet

Shared reviews and ratings

deb | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/13/2024
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug has been nothing been a nightmare, my mother received infusion a week ago. severe pain migraine, ended up in ER, sent home symptoms have not subsided, provider never gave her the risks or possible side effects, she is absolutely miserable, its been a week, taking Tylenol and praying for a miracle, be very cautious, had we known she would never have agreed to this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disgusted | Female | Patient
2/9/2024
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an IV infusion of reclast. I now have prolonged hip and groin pain that is increasing as the months go by. I will never take this drug again. it is horrible! This IV infusion should not be on the market!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/7/2024
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my Reclast infusion on July 7, 2023. It’s now 7 months since that day. It has been a long scary anxious journey. I wish I would never have gotten the infusion. My life changed for the worst. I was 63 when I got the infusion and I feel like I am 95 on this day. The fatigue is unbearable. I ache, I lost my taste and desire for food. I cannot sleep. When I consulted with my endocrinologist she did blood work and said I am fine. I am not fine. This infusion is doing things to my body and cells and organs. I feel like a different person than before. My husband and sister say I am different than before. My quality of life has been taken away from me. I am sad , furious , disappointed and very upset with the medical system. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dena | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2024
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just had my infusion yesterday. I can’t speak to the outcome of the treatment as yet but I can share my immediate results since others had negative experiences. My infusion was yesterday. I hydrated Saturday and Sunday based on comments I read here before I consented to the treatment. So far, I’ve had no symptoms, no soreness, no flu like symptoms. I’m optimistic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2024
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is horrible, it causes so .much pain. I will never get this again. I recommend to never take this the side effects are not worth t. Don't get bullied into taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pjl | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/4/2024
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 infusions over 3 years, I was completely out of osteoporosis back to osteopenia. Even my doctor was surprised how well I reacted to it. Now, five years later, I have osteoporosis again, and I’m going for infusion today. Sure I’ll have the same results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darw/dog | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 59 years old woman, 125lbs and needed Reclast for osteoporosis. I read the reviews and cancelled my appointment 2 times before I did the IV. I was scared from all the posts I read, really scared. I wanted to write that it was okay, very little side effects, minor flu like symptoms for about a week. I did take Claritin 2 days before/after, drank a lot of water 3 days before/after (80-90oz) and took Tylenol the day of and after for a couple days. Hope this helps people who are thinking about taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CA in NC | 55-64 | Female | Patient
12/6/2023
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prep for this in extremely important. I drink alot of water normally but a day before. Day of and day after I doubled up. I took Tylenol couple of days. First morning felt slight chill and minor headache. 2nd day some minor aches and pains. This is the 3rd infusion over last few years. My bone density is out of osteoporosis and back.in osteopenia. I already take high levels of calcium and Vit D. I plan to walk more and do weight bearing exercises. I want to get out of osteopenia to normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scmaster | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got my first infusion two days ago. The infusion was uneventful and the rest of the day I was sluggish but not too bad. Next morning I have horrible pain throughout my whole body could barely move. Felt like I broke every bone. Then the chest pain and shortness of breath set in. Ended up in er cause they thought I was having a heart attack. I had sinus tachycardia and high blood pressure. After ruling out everything. They said the medicine stressed my heart out and pumped me full of fluids and gave me meds to normalize everything. I don’t see myself doing this medicine again if these are the side effects I will face. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a Reclast Infusion in Sept 2023. After reading reviews I almost did not take it. There were 3 positive reviews & had the same suggestions as my physician. 1. Hydrate (2 days prior I started drinking lots of water), 2. Started claritin 2 days prior & 3. Tylenol the day of infusion every 6 hours. I continued this for 3 days after infusion. The day of infusion I felt fine. No problems with the 15 minute infusion. Went to work the next day & was fine. About 10:30p I started having flu symptoms: body aches & tired. Slept all night & woke up fine. I feel better & have noticed I have less hair falling out when I wash my hair & nails are stronger. Thankful that I saw the 3 positive reviews & have great trust in my physician! Hope this helps you when making your decision. With Gratitude!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MWL | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/19/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my second infusion two weeks ago today, and I have had diarrhea every single day since. I had very few side effects with first infusion. Has anyone had issues with diarrhea after infusion?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Prolia in the past without any issues. I switched to Reclast Infusion due to scheduling ease. What a mistake! I was not forewarned to drink water, to take Claritin and Tylenol. The infusion itself was uneventful. I worked all day and fell asleep on the couch watching tv at night. I then started to have chills, weakness and pain. It hurt so much to move I could barely get off the couch. Eventually the chest pain was so severe I went to the ER - I was in sinus tachycardia. My labs were showing an acute inflammatory reaction. They ruled out a heart attack and pulmonary embolism. The ER doctor thought my symptoms may be due to GERD! How do they get medical licenses! He discharged me without helping me in any way. The next day, my PCP told my to take high dose Tylenol and he started me on corticosteroids. The steroids made all the difference in turning this around. It’s still too early to tell how long these side effects will last. Never again for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2023
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took reclast injections for 1 year and then had an infusion. During that time I began to have trouble with my teeth. The doctor assured me that it wasn’t the medication causing the problem, however since that time I have had to get 5 teeth removed. Of the 5 teeth 4 root canals failed and needed to be removed today I need to go back to an oral surgeon to get another tooth extracted. I would never take this medication again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beth | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading many of these reviews , I was ver skeptical about taking the infusion. My doctor highly encouraged me to do it reminding me to be wary of on line reviews. I did take many of the recommendations into consideration and hydrated a TON before , during and 2 days after the infusion. I also had been taking Allegra daily before and after. I am thrilled to say that I did not have one side effect. I played pickleball the day after for 90 min. Glad I decided to do it. Since I just had the infusion , I will not know results for another year Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sonia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2023
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I received my first dose of Reclast on September 21, 2023 and I have not felt any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm have Type 1 Diabetes and my blood sugars have been high since I received the Reclast infusion. Time of the day when my blood sugars are always normal after exercise, they are still high. I know it's not listed in the side effects, but maybe this side effect should be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AHill | 35-44 | Female | Patient
9/27/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 44 went through Chemo at 32 needed to take Anastrazole which put me into Osteopenia now full blown Osteoporosis in my hip. My specialist recommended Reclast and after reading all the reviews I was freaked out and called her back we talked. What worked for me! I started Claritin 2 days before Tylenol the morning before drank lots of water and focused my foods on nothing processed (probably didn’t make a difference) we did a liter of fluid with it and dropped the medication in over an hour. My side effects consisted of night one- Fever/chills I rested at home that day. Night two- body aches. I did work that day Day 3 had nausea and bad #2. And boom just like that I felt fine. None of it was truly “severe” I felt tired and blah. But everything was very manageable for me. I wanted to share my experience so it wasn’t “all bad” hope this helps someone! Good luck! I look forward to my DEXA scan next year!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna I | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading through many reviews, I almost decided to not receive the Reclast Infusion treatment. I talked to my Endocrinologist and my Internist and they both reviewed my medical history and highly recommended to have the Infusion. I found a few positive reviews that mentioned preparing in advance by hydrating, taking Claritin and Tylenol. My Doctor, nor the hospital told me any of this. I found a Physician that posted a review and followed exactly what she had done prior to her Infusion. I am SO happy to say it worked perfectly! I started by making sure I had taken my Calcium and Vit D every day for two weeks, then 2 days before I drank 64 ounces of water each day. I also took Claritin the day before my appointment, the day off and 2 days after my appointment. The morning of, I drank 16 ounces of water and took 2 Tylenol. I continued the Tylenol every 6 hours for 2 full days. I had no side effects at all! I was so thankful for those people who posted that a similar routine had helped them also. Do your homework and be prepared is my advice. I am hoping my bone density improves at my next scan! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tobi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2023
Condition: osteoporosis in postmenopausal woman at high risk for fracture
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my first infusion on the 8/12 and on 8/13 I was in the ICU. My blood pressure dropped! I had a fever, vomiting headache. I then started with diarrhea, vomiting and nausea. I was dizzy and I could hardly stay awake. This was with-in hours of taking this medication Please if you’re thinking about this read all the reviews. I am still sick. I wish I would have researched before I was given this medicine. I hope your day is beautiful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Patient
9/7/2023
Condition: Paget's Disease of Bone
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Received Reclast infusion, that night 103 fever, pain in my joints, so much pain trying to walk. This is recommended by an endocrinologist, when I called that morning I was told take Tylenol, Tylenol didn’t touch it, stay away from this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More