Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

Took 10 days of 500mg tablets for severe sinus infection (horrible swelling of my face around brow bones, under eyes), my worst infection of my sinus area in a very long time. I get an average of 2 sinus infections a year, due to malformation of the sinus glands. I have taken Levaquin before and never had a problem, so when I began to get these wierd side effects I looked for causes all over ...

Most voted negative review

35 People found this comment helpful

7 day treatment. Side Effects, joint pain, chest pain, Achilles tendon pain. Patient felt like they had the flu and ended up with a hospital stay to evaluate for heart attack after chest pains with pain travelling down left shoulder to elbow. No heart attack found. Doctors were informed of the side effects beginning with the first pill taken and instructed patient to continue taking. Hospital ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Notolevaquin | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2024
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for a sinus infection. I never take antibiotics but I had no choice. First dose gave me nausea and constipation. The second night my skin felt like it was burning off and I couldn't stop sweating. I could barely eat the 4 days I took it. Now, I've had a yeast infection that will not go away no matter what the doctors prescribe. The person who approved this drug deserves a spot in hell.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helen | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2023
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Levaqin has caused me years of pain & bad health

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S.G. | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within an hour of taking this I broke out in a full body rash and began swelling, I was given medication to counter the allergic reaction but still had outbreaks from it up to two weeks later. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andres | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 5 pills of levofloxacin of 650 mgs each, one per day. After the third dose I developed Insomnia, hand tremors and Tendinitis. Side effects evolved and in two weeks I was no longer able to walk. I spent months on a wheelchair with an acute case of fluoroquinolone toxicity. This drug almost killed me. My life and health had completely deteriorated by this dangerous antibiotic that doctors prescribe indiscriminately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PeeBee | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Levofloxacin for 10 days. Developed severe tendonitis about 3 days in but that eventually (and luckily) waned. Also started to get digestive issues around the same time, off and on. This eventually led to full-on diagnosed Gastroparesis. Don't recommend taking this drug whatsoever, should be banned in the US! If your doctor prescribes it, get a different (non-fluoroquinolone) antibiotic!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad Sinus Infection, after first dose, I lost my hearing totally in Left ear. It's been 3years and I am still profoundly deaf in one ear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sewcat | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to immediate care with a low fever and was diagnosed with possibly urinary tract and bronchitis Took one pill and had diarrhea off and on now for over a week. Now am waiting results of a stool sample. This pill is overkill and side effects are too severe

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jacquelyn Boyd | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't ever take this medicine! The last day of my medicine I developed tendinitis 10 days later I ruptured my Achilles tendon no fall twist just a normal step and SNAP! 10 days after that I had surgery to reattach my tendon. I've been and physical therapy for A little over 2 months. Along the way I notice some knee discomfort which is something I've never had problems with. I still have leg discomfort. This is vert DANGEROUS DRUG you have to be dyeing with something no other antibiotics can fix. I was 3 weeks out of pneumonia and my doctor said well lets try one more antibiotics to make sure. I said I feel pretty good getting strong but if you say so OK. Now I don't know when I'll be back to my normal. VERY PHYSICALLY ACTIVE & WAS PHYSICALLY FIT. IM A MESS NOW!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Levaquin Rash | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ER doc prescribed this for my diverticulitis. Two doses left me with huge welts on my face, neck, & back. Read the warnings that came with it & was worried, then read reviews & was horrified. Ask your physician for something else!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nelliesvt | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2020
Condition: Bacterial Infection of Kidney due to E. Coli Organism
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed 5 doses of 250 mg. Only took 2 doses and i have had massive headaches all over my head, unbearable sinus pressure and tendon pain. I havent taken in 5 days and headaches are not going away. I never get headaches and feel like my head is going to explode. It also threw me into a seizure and severe shaking. Do not take this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

7 day treatment only took 5 .my knees hurt so bad can barely walk ..i do not recommend this drug to anyone..been 3 weeks off drug still same effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shell | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took my first Levaquin pill and 4 hours in, I had sever muscle pain in my left arm. I then read all the warnings about Levaquin. Two days after taking just one pill, the pain has spread throughout my whole body, the worst of it being in my low back and legs, similar to Sciatica. I have painful headache and constant ringing in my ears. I canâ??t sleep and I am afraid to take any pain killers or sleep aids as I am terrified it will make my condition worst. I pray that I do not have long term side effects like prior reviews I have read. I took one pill and stopped and two days later the pain is getting worst! Never never never take Levaquin. This stuff is poison!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Levaquin in the ER for pneumonia since I am allergic to penicillin. I filled the prescription, then read about all the possible side effects and read all the negative reviews. I was terrified to take it, but I knew I had to. Within one day I felt better. After three days I knew it was working as advertised. I took the full 10 day course as prescribed with no problems. I�m very grateful to have found an antibiotic that worked for me. I don�t discount the reports of side effects, but not everyone experiences them. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emarie521 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I promised myself I would write a detailed review once I finished the course of antibiotics. I tried Omnicef first which I was allergic to then I took a ZPack which wasn’t strong enough to knock it out of me so my dr prescribed me levoFLOXacin 750mg for 7 days. I’m am one of those ppl who read all the reviews and scare the crap outta myself so this was no different. All the reviews had given me a massive panic attack after the first dose. Here’s my experience. I did have crazy insomnia I couldn’t sleep without 50mg of Benedryl I also had loss of appetite and very mild anxiety attacks but this all resolved after the medicine was finished. My dr told me I could stop after 5 days bc I was clear! I will say none of this side effects outweighs the benefits. In my experience if a medicine works for you then you probably won’t be on the internet reviewing it so 80% of these ppl had a bad experience but no one tells you the good news is that it works and just listen to your dr and your body. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
choosey | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treated for a boil after culture of drainage indicated a species resistant to most antiobiotics. Before the culture I was given Augmentin but this was stopped after the culture due to resistance to this medication. Started on Levaquin and after first dose of 500mg., I was extremely shaky, anxious, and my legs felt like they were in a vice and numb.I could hardly walk. I am very sensitive and allergic to medications so my doctor started Ceftin. I am on my third day and so far not too many side effects. Levaquin is horrible, should be taken off the market, and I would not advise anyone to take it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary Coleman | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection of Kidney due to E. Coli Organism
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was admitted in the hospital after an ER visit. I had severe infection due to complications from a kidney stone. I was given Levaquin first intravenously then 5 days at home orally. I had horrible side effects, chest pain, anxiety, headache, all my muscles aching, and severely tendon pain! I again went to the ER with these symptoms after I read about the side effects. Itâ??s been about 6 weeks and I still have a lot of the symptoms still! I keep hoping the pain will gradually subside with no further damage, but after reading these reviews now Iâ??m very concerned. My chest pain did go away, but I still have horrible pain in my joints. My ankles feel like theyâ??ve been scraped raw and arenâ??t getting better. Same with my wrist, they always hurt. I had bi-lateral total knee replacement in 2016, and the pain in and around my knees are almost as bad as after the surgery. This medication doesnâ??t effect everyone this way, however, when it does cause side effects they are very serious and obviously in some cases do not go away. It needs to be taken off of the market ASAP. I keep praying for relief soon!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Any doctor that prescribes this drug should go to jail on their way to hell. I took one dose and was awake and alert for 72 hours. Itchy, tingly skin, constipated, and knee pain. I hope my message is heard clearly. I will use every social media platform to be heard. Hold on its coming.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this for a bacterial infection in my lung(possible). I now have pain and ache in my arms. over 2 months now, do not take this drug unless you have the plague

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carolc | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2018
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I contracted pleurisy two years ago and was given this drug. It took care of the infection, but I was left with intense pain in my knees and other joints. I could not walk easily or take the stairs. I have been tested for arthritis and other ailments. I tell my doctors that this was not a problem until I took this drug. I am getting better, but it's a long journey. Thank goodness, my husband can take care of me, otherwise I would be in a rest home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2018
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just 3 days into taking Levaquin, I tore a tendon in my right wrist. Within a week, I could barely walk from a pulled Achilles tendon in my right foot. Then both elbows and my right knee. Then my left Achilles tendon. I developed a cyst in my left hand, fast heartbeat, dizziness, bouts of temporary vision loss, nightmares and panic attacks.The burning pain that wracked my body made me feel like I was dying. I had no idea what was going on. Turns out Levaquin has a black box warning and all my symptoms were listed. It's been two Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More