Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

love it. Dose everything it's suppose to do. I take one, then go to sleep about 1/2 hour later, wake up about 7 hrs. later n feel great.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Horrible! Didn't even make me tired, and I was tired before I took it! Took one around midnight, still awake at 1am (and I was just lying in bed, eyes closed, dark room, trying my hardest to sleep and was still wide awake) .... Took another at 1:15am, another hour and a half goes by and still NOTHING! At this point I'm extremely frustrated considering I had to get up for work very early. I know I ...

Shared reviews and ratings

ASBagain | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/21/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on a number of drugs for sleep over the years including Restoril, Ambien, and Belsomra. Some worked some didn't. I've been on 40mg of Valium a day for years too but it doesn't really affect my sleep due to how I take it. I bought Unisom fully knowing what I was in for, it's a classic antihistamine. I find it preferable to Benadryl as it's less sedating and doesn't feel awful to be on. I take 2 Unisom (50mg) and am sleep after 45 mins or so. Sometimes it won't put me out and I'll have to take something stronger. Hydroxyzine is the best antihistamine for sleep but it's RX only and I'm on enough prescriptions. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DMic | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It had an opposite reaction. I felt like I had taken speed and it kicked my restless leg syndrome in to high gear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Horrible | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not help me sleep The next day I felt horrible all day dizzy rapid Heartbeat felt like I was going to pass out all day Dehydrated Dizzy and a fog first time in my life I ever felt like I was going to pass out Never gonna take it again I have 0 health issues and I don't want any

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/10/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First night I took it, it kept me awake all night long. I also felt like the pill was in my throat, though I drank a full bottle of water with it. I don't understand why it had the reverse effect on me. I'm going to try it one more time. I seriously doubt it will work. I think it's trash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marlene Alter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
6/30/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very dissatisfied with Unisom. I did not go to sleep. I felt very strange with a horrible taste from this medication in my mouth. I read this label on the RX box stating its #1 rating wit pharmacists. That is a lie

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/18/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for trouble sleeping while pregnant. (Commonly prescribed for pregnancy nausea) it helps you sleep BUT it honestly ruined my life for 6 months. I didn’t realize it until I stopped taking it every night, but I was depressed, In a fog, had zero motivation, was Irritable, and having non-stop anxiety. The week I decided I didn’t need it anymore to sleep, I suddenly felt alive again, and that’s when I associated how I’d had been feeling for months to side effects from this drug. 100% not worth it, I’d rather sleep less and feel more alive!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/19/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not impressed with it. I have had trouble sleeping my whole life and everyone recommends melatonin…which does not work for me at all. So I tried Unisom and it had about the same effectiveness. All it did was make me dizzy and gave me restless leg syndrome. My mind was tired but my body was wide awake. I maybe got 2 hours or so of sleep and it stayed in my system the whole rest of the day after I woke up. I felt groggy all day. Honestly if I had to work that day I would have called out. Not sure how this is supposed to work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unknown | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has truly changed my life forever in the worst way possible I have very hard trouble sleeping at night and my doctor recommended it I took 2 one night and started to hear and see things that were not there I ignored it the next time I did it again except it got so bad I had to be rushed to a hospital the side affects are not worth it advil pm is the best way to go please believe me and take my word for it this medicine is very dangerous

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeannie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a very weird 'rare'(?) scary experience. For me I, rarely, have trapped air that uncomfortably burps out or goes down. However with this medication, this trapped air intensifies and is 100x more frequent, in which it occurs continuously. So frequent that my mouth started salivating so much, and I was sweating, and crying. It was so painfully uncomfortable and going on for hours, I couldn't sleep a wink, and had to run outside because I felt trapped. I also used antacid tablets then, but even with them, it would still persist just as strongly. I do not recommend!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Unisom to help me sleep through the night. I Slept through the whole night. But boy did I pay for it the next AM. Extreme dizziness, light headed and grogginess. If I had to go to work the next day, I would not have been able to do so. Took it several months ago, had similar reaction. Will NEVER take it again. Was recommended by local pharmacy. Advil PM, works great and none of the above side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mama2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked first night only. Slept 8hrs. Very groggy next day. Did not work ever again. Still tried and it gave me restless achy feet. Strange side effect. I guess it might work once a week or two. Benadryl works better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Huh? | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/4/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find that I can take ½ tablet. Sometimes it helps and sometimes not but I don't want to take too much of anything. Now Unisom has capsules (same strength as the tablets) but you can't cut it in half. Walmart carries both but charges more for the tablets. Is this a sneaky way of making you use more Unisom (buy more in other words). My guess that the company that makes Unisom is trying to increase sales this way. No wonder that people use too much medicine. I think I will have to find a company that makes a similar product. No wonder everyone hates Pharma. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 25 and have had trouble sleeping for 5 years or so. Unisom is a good alternative to trazodone(rx) it isn't quite as strong but a very good option. I have had no bad side effects to this. I highly recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NB89 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/22/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Unisom in various forms on and off for 6 years. In Jan 2017 I started using them almost every night and started to experience sleep paralysis and night terrors. I haven't taken Unisom in about 5 days, I cant sleep now and have experienced paranoid thoughts while trying to do to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I struggle with sleep and tried this medication after my husband has success with it. I took one tablet to begin with but quickly learned that 1/2 tablet was better suited for me. As other reviewers have stated, I felt a little groggy the next day when taking a whole tablet but feel fine with just 1/2 tablet. I have been given prescription medication for insomnia which I do take occasionally but this medication works fine....although I try not to take medication every night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fell asleep within 30 minutes of taking 1 Unisom pill. Slept 10 hours straight. Had hard time waking up. Felt very groggy and paralytic and couldn't function. Stayed in a trance like state the next day with limited movement. WILL NEVER TAKE THIS MEDICINE AGAIN.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaitlyn | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took it 30 min before I went to sleep and I fell asleep really quickly, but I kept waking up every hour or so. I usually get 2 to 3 hours sleep normally without interuption, but this seemed to make it worse. I don't know if it's just me, or my body just will not accept anymore sleeping medicine( which I take very rarely)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was very effective but I experienced a lot of drowsiness the next morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took if for the first time and was asleep within 30 minutes and slept from 8p.m till 4 a.m

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat925 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2016
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As much as I would love to give this product a 10 I can not. I took a unisom 25mg for the first time two days ago before bed and I was sleep in 20 minutes. I suffer from insomnia and I stayed sleep for 7 straight hours which was great for me because I usually only sleep for 2 or 3 hours on and off a night. I woke up a bit groggy but it wore off after a hour or so. Last night I took a unisom and again was sleep in 20 minutes. I slept through the night again and woke up feeling great. Got out of bed and realized my whole left hand was covered in red dots. I had to call my doctor and was told it was a allergic reaction. So now I'm taking benadryl and was prescribed hydroxyzine for sleep. So just want to give a heads up about one of the side effects. If you see dots anywhere please don't ignore it. Cheers!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More